We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Welcome to our humble abode'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spicers Balfour Hotel
Ranked #17 of 160 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“'Welcome to our humble abode'”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

These were the words written on the greeting card when we checked in which reflect the vibe of this outstanding boutique hotel. It had the warm, comforting, and welcoming feeling of a home that has been transformed into a luxury guesthouse. Everything that matters is there, and more - they have thought of everything. Everything is very schmick without being too pretentious and the happy staff are just amazing. They all go out of their way to make you feel like royalty. They have created lots if special areas to enjoy like verandah and courtyard dining, a comfy lounge area and an amazing rooftop bar with stunning views of the story bridge. The breakfast was perfect. We can't say enough about this 'humble abode'. It is unique and our stay was unforgettable.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    93
    25
    17
    5
See reviews for
47
411
27
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This small boutique is located in New Farm. This area is a good location and close to lots of restaurants, good bus routes and also 15min walk to city cat on river. A taxi into the city is approx $15. The staff are exceptional helpful. The room was very small and well planned out and made use of available space. The best thing about this place was the breakfast. We are both vegetarian and the breakfast was delicious and exquisite. I only wish we had time to sample the dinner. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you like amazing food, fantastic staff, great location, and if you don't mind a small room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rolo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Mills, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Area around New Farm was a bit different for us and weren't crazy about old apt complex next door that seemed a bit seedy. Not their fault now is it? Our room was so small that I jokingly told my husband that my horses stall in the barn was bigger. But before long I was captured by the funky, new age Austin like vibe of the area. Great restaurants, shopping, parks. Now the hotel, although the room was tiny it was well appointed, urban feel and the staff was absolutely the best! Breakfast was a wonderful treat and can't wait for dinner tonight. Yes, I would come back and stay here in a heartbeat. Not only that we mainly ran into locals that choose to come here for a stay. Alex was most helpful and a great source of information.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank yellowrosetexas3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This little 9 bedroom hotel was a real surprise package for us. Really great location in New Farm and within easy walking distance to may facilities. Good access to Brisbane river shore for a morning walk as well. The staff were very welcoming, helpful and friendly. The Balfour's restaurant provided yummy food for breakfast and dinner. Rooms were well appointed and their size was okay. Car parking was at the rear of the hotel - very convenient. They are planning to expand with another nearby hotel and if they keep this formula going it will also be a winner - well done Spicers Balfour!!!

Room Tip: Would expect all 9 rooms to be similarly well set up and conveniently located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chambo243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Have stayed here a few times now and are welcomed back like friends, the staff can not do enough to make you feel at home, if you are looking for big rooms that are impersonal then don't book spicers, it is a boutique hotel that makes every guest feel like the only guest, the breakfasts are amazing and dinner is right up there with the very best restaurants in the city, the staff are an absolute credit to the management.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dooseyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Great service started from check in and our room was luxuriously appointed and spotlessly clean. The rooftop bar made a great way to enjoy the oncoming evening and the canapés were tasty and plentiful. The chef excelled with the tastiest pork belly that melted in your mouth. The salmon main course was magnificent and the desserts were unique and delicious. We were celebrating our work Christmas party and everyone had good feedback on the service and facilities. The breakfast after a good sleep in was very well received. Checkout is an unhurried 11am. The stairs from the reception to the rooftop may be an issue for some. There is an elevator platform to manage the stairs from the entrance to reception, if you want to use it. Nothing was a problem for their guests and they made ever one feel extra special. Staff took the time to explain facilities and the honour bar meant that you never had to wait for a drink if the staff just happened to be absent for a minute. Highly recommended and added to our "stay again" list.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Just like a luxury home away from home. We had a very nice and cosy stay. You're made to feel at home and very welcome by the staff. Free parking is offered. The food is fantastic and the roof top bar with Canapés is fantastic watching the sunset.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Heath W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Spicershotels, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dearest Heath W

Thank you so much for your kind words, it was lovely hosting you on your stay. Always nice to have such a lovely couple stay with us.

I am glad that you enjoyed the complimentary parking and Canapés as part of your stay. Peter (Head Chef) enjoyed reading your comment about the fantastic food and we hope to see you back with us soon.

Warmest Regards
Willie Smuts & Team Balfour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.8 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 160 in Brisbane
1,163 reviews
0.8 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
1.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#25 of 160 in Brisbane
2,708 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#22 of 160 in Brisbane
2,372 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 160 in Brisbane
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Balfour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Balfour Hotel

Property: Spicers Balfour Hotel
Address: 37 Balfour St, Brisbane, Queensland 4005, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 160 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Balfour Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the outside, Spicers Balfour Hotel resembles many of the large and beautiful classic Queenslander homes found in its neighbourhood, the fashionable inner-city Brisbane suburb of New Farm. The hotel offers nine rooms each with individual elegance and charm providing an indulgent haven with all the comforts and attention to detail expected from a leading five star hotel. Small boardroom for meetings of up to 18 delegates, onsite restaurant serving sumptuous breakfast's and high tea's daily, lunch (Monday-Friday),and dinner (Monday-Saturday), library, large and open QLD Verandah, complimentary parking facilities and rooftop bar with views of the stunning city skyline and Story Bridge. Whether it's a corporate trip to Brisbane, a romantic city escape from the kids, or just a cosy, convenient place to come back to after a show, Spicers Balfour Hotel is the ultimate city escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spicers Balfour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing