We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Spicers Balfour Hotel
Ranked #15 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
American River, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Honestly, one of my favorite spots to bring my wife. intimate, romantic and whatever either could desire. The views are spectacular with an amazing location. When the staff can't seem to want to do enough to make your time more memorable; who would ever want to leave??

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Spicershotels, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Eli

Thank you for the kind words, we are blessed to host beautiful people at our property and look forward to your next stay.

Warmest Regards
Willie & Team Balfour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    91
    25
    16
    5
See reviews for
46
406
27
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

In a residential part of town, beautifully restored old villa. Everything one could look for found in the room. Very good staff, loved the roof top bar and the great view - very relaxing. Very comfy beds. Loved the breakfast on the verandah, the sparkling wine may have helped :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Spicershotels, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Simone

Thank you for providing us with your feedback.

It is always nice to look after our locals. I`m am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and got to experience the property.

Have a lovely week

Warmest Regards
Willie & Team Balfour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I can't recommend the Balfour Hotel in terms of quality of location, accomodation, service and food. A special thanks to Alex and Tara for exceptional personalised service. The breakfast and dinner were both outstanding. Linda

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackallrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Spicershotels, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Linda

Thank you. Alex and Tara really enjoyed your feedback, they loved looking after you. Peter and Maria are very passionate about their food and I always say that the plate is a true reflection of their personality and respect they have for the produce they use.

Best Wishes
Willie & Team Balfour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Not our first time here and definitely not our last! The cheerful, well trained staff are clever enough to sense if you want to chat, and when you don't. Very important in a small boutique hotel environment. Guests feel welcome, special, relaxed, but not overwhelmed with attention.

Superb breakfast and intimate cocktail bar. Dinner on the veranda or in the courtyard. A perfect stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EDITH F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Spicershotels, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Edith

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. Our return guests truly become part of our family and we look forward to have them visiting. It was lovely to meet you and your husband and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Wishes
Willie & Team Balfour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The Balfour is an old Queenslander reinvented as a small, beautiful hotel. There is an amazing roof top deck that looks across to the Story Bridge and the city beyond. It must be amazing at night with all the lights on. We had breakfast at the restaurant seated on the deck of the homestead surrounded by frangipanis and other beautiful vegetation, a little oasis in the midst of inner city suburbia. The sparkling wine with breakfast was delightful and the attention by the staff was excellent. The food was OK but not great.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bilka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Spicershotels, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Bilka

Thank you for the feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed our beautiful Queenslander. So many of our locals enjoy the property not just because it’s a Queenslander and part of Queensland`s history but also that the property have so many Quirky spaces. Our vision with the restaurant is great produce cooked well, a neighbourhood restaurant where family, loved ones and friends come together to have a dining experience. My apologies if the food did not meet your expectations. Our winter menu is getting launched tonight and I would love you to come and try the menu and tell me what you think. Please let me know if you would like to come and visit that I can look after you. My personal email address is gm.balfour@spicersretreats.com.au.

Best Wishes
Willie & Team Balfour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Cosy Boutique hotel with a total of 9 rooms.
Rooms are comfortable with quality linen and a good nights sleep is guaranteed.
Staff are friendly.
All room tariffs include evening canapés in the bar.
We went to the bar just before 6pm and the Bar Attendant asked what he could do for us.
We said that we were there to have a drink and canapés. After selecting our drinks, we enjoyed them and the atmosphere of the rooftop bar for about half an hour and left. The canapés didn't come.
We chose a package that included a 2 course dinner for two at an additional charge of $110.
Anyway we shared an entree of Duck Vietnamese Spring Rolls. The duck was dry and the overall Spring Roll was bland. The Cherry sauce helped a little.
Our mains were Salmon and Chicken.
The Chicken wasn't bad but not special. The Salmon was oily with little flavour.
We shared a Dessert of Frozen Citrus Mouse with Fruit. It was very average and akin to fruit and ice cream.
Had we paid separately for our meal it would have come to $90 but we had paid $110.
Breakfast on the other hand was truly amazing and would be up there as one of the best Breakfast experiences of my life.
Everything was just exceptional. Coffee, Bircher Muesli, Crab omelettes, Mushrooms, Hash Browns etc
I can only assume that the chef who did Breakfast didn't do Dinner.
We would happily stay there again but go elsewhere for Dinner.

Room Tip: I imagine all the rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliannekillara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Spicershotels, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Julianne

Thank you for your feedback, my team and I take feedback very seriously and live and breathe to provide the very best to all our guests.

Maria puts a lot of love and passion into her breakfast and I am glad you enjoyed it. We use Peaberry coffee and please ask for me on your next visit, there are always a few beans to take home for our regulars! Peter and I would love to host you for dinner to come and taste our new winter menu. Please email me on gm.balfour@spicersretreats.com.au and let me know if your are interested.

Best Wishes
Willie & Team Balfour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My wife and I had an ealry morning appointment and did not have breakfast before we left home...So we went to Spicers which was very impressive the Hotel part seems to be quite nice but the resauraunt was excelent..bot of us enjoyed the envioroment and the food and service all good !

Room Tip: we were local visitors visited only for Breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Spicershotels, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Rob

Thank you for the kind feedback. Maria puts all her love and passion into her breakfast and I am pleased you enjoyed her breakfast and your experience with us.
We look forward to your next visit, maybe for high tea or dinner? Our new winter menu is now available.

Our menu`s is available online for you to use.
http://spicersretreats.com/spicers-balfour-hotel/dining/

Best Wishes
Willie & Team Balfour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.8 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 157 in Brisbane
1,140 reviews
0.8 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
1.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#24 of 157 in Brisbane
2,533 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#27 of 157 in Brisbane
4,057 reviews
0.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Balfour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Balfour Hotel

Property: Spicers Balfour Hotel
Address: 37 Balfour St, Brisbane, Queensland 4005, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Balfour Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the outside, Spicers Balfour Hotel resembles many of the large and beautiful classic Queenslander homes found in its neighbourhood, the fashionable inner-city Brisbane suburb of New Farm. The hotel offers nine rooms each with individual elegance and charm providing an indulgent haven with all the comforts and attention to detail expected from a leading five star hotel. Small boardroom for meetings of up to 18 delegates, onsite restaurant serving sumptuous breakfast's and high tea's daily, lunch (Monday-Friday),and dinner (Monday-Saturday), library, large and open QLD Verandah, complimentary parking facilities and rooftop bar with views of the stunning city skyline and Story Bridge. Whether it's a corporate trip to Brisbane, a romantic city escape from the kids, or just a cosy, convenient place to come back to after a show, Spicers Balfour Hotel is the ultimate city escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Spicers Balfour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing