We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standout experience...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spicers Balfour Hotel
Ranked #14 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Mackay, Qld
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Standout experience...”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed for one night recently and definitely intend to return. Even though Spicers are growing their business, their is nothing production 'chain' about their properties, apart from quiet, consistent, excellence.

The rooms are lovely, quality throughout including the bath/shower mats, best yet! Nice thick and fluffy. Bed was dreamy, no expense spared. LOVED the on tap cold water and boiling water. There is no fridge, however, I didn't miss it at all, and there is one immediately outside the room.

Dinner was spot on, the Sous Chef did a wonderful job of the scallops they were perfectly cooked, salad delightfully fresh, and dressed. Maria and Kirsten did a great job of entertaining me as I was dining on my own, both passionate about customer service. Alex was quick witted, engaging, and totally dedicated to making sure my stay was nothing less than perfect, nothing seemed too much trouble.

This boutique hotel has a feel for me of my home away from home. I felt thoroughly comfortable and relaxed, there was no snobbish haughtiness, yet had flair, style, and class.

Most definitely recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msqMackay_Qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Spicershotels, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear msqMackay

Your review made our day. Alex, Maria, Yassa and Kirsten really enjoyed your kind feedback.
I am happy you enjoyed your stay and what we have on offer. I always say that the personable touch of our team that is unpretentious is what separates us from the rest. We really enjoy the property and love to share her with our guest, our guest always becomes part of the family that creates the homely feeling instilled in our properties foundation.

We look forward to your return visit.

Warmest Regards
Willie & Team Balfour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    93
    25
    17
    5
See reviews for
47
410
27
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I chose this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews, and am glad I did. It's worth noting that the rooms are tiny, even the terrace suite; however, they are very cleverly designed and perfectly comfortable for two adults. The food is excellent, and the rooftop bar provides a beautiful view of downtown. I loved the Nespresso coffee maker in the room (yes, I am addicted), and the one night we booked the terrace suite, we ate our breakfast there amidst parrots and greenery. The hotel also booked car service for us to and from the airport, which worked perfectly and was reasonably priced. The staff is warm and personable, and truly helpful. And walking around the charming neighborhood is delightful

Room Tip: Remember the rooms are small but smartly designed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Spicershotels, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Mary M

Thank you for your lovely feedback. Our designers worked hard on the layout of our rooms and I am glad you notice all the “little” touches.
Simla, the newest edition to Spicers Balfour Hotel should be open in the next 12 months with an additional eight suites. This will give our guests the opportunity to stay in the best of both worlds, intimate or spacious. We will keep you posted on the opening date.

Best Wishes
Willie & Team Balfour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I was invited to Spicers for a 90th - a high tea in the courtyard. Everything was absolutely "spot on". I had a quick look around and it looked all of 5 star and then some. I sent some pics of the roof deck to some Melbourne "roof deck bar" junkies - and I am sure I will get a glowing report...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FCarroll18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Spicershotels, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear F Carroll

Thank you for your feedback, I am happy you enjoyed your high tea. We pride ourselves on only choosing the very best for our high tea`s and make a difference when every component is freshly made. We hope to see you soon for Breakfast or Dinner on our Queenslanders Veranda.
Have a lovely week

Warmest Regards
Willie & Team Balfour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This little boutique gem is located in an inner city suburb within walking distance of some lovely shops and restaurants. From the initial greeting until you leave you will find the staff charming and efficient. Breakfast is amazing, and so is dinner. The rooms are wonderful as is the roof top bar. It is one of those places you don't want to leave but when you do you stay delighted with it. If you prefer intimacy to multi story blandness this is the first choice in Brisbane,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrouchoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Spicershotels, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Groucho

My team and I are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your feedback. We always say that our guests become part of the family as this is a home away from home and your feedback is really what drives my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Spicers Balfour Hotel in the near future.

Warmest Regards

Willie & Team Balfour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We enjoyed all aspects of this visit. Alice is such a great ambassador for the hotel as she is extremely knowledgeable, friendly and professional. All the other staff were fantastic too. The rooms are beautiful and chic but practical. The surrounding area is great and the restaurant recommendations were spot on. We were only here for two nights and wished we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p0rtia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Spicershotels, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear P0rtia

Thank you for your lovely review, you made Alice`s day.

Please let us know when you are planning your next trip that we can look after you again. It was a real pleasure to host you and I am happy you enjoyed our property.

Best Wishes
Willie & Team Balfour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
American River, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Honestly, one of my favorite spots to bring my wife. intimate, romantic and whatever either could desire. The views are spectacular with an amazing location. When the staff can't seem to want to do enough to make your time more memorable; who would ever want to leave??

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Spicershotels, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Eli

Thank you for the kind words, we are blessed to host beautiful people at our property and look forward to your next stay.

Warmest Regards
Willie & Team Balfour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

In a residential part of town, beautifully restored old villa. Everything one could look for found in the room. Very good staff, loved the roof top bar and the great view - very relaxing. Very comfy beds. Loved the breakfast on the verandah, the sparkling wine may have helped :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Spicershotels, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Simone

Thank you for providing us with your feedback.

It is always nice to look after our locals. I`m am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and got to experience the property.

Have a lovely week

Warmest Regards
Willie & Team Balfour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.8 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 159 in Brisbane
1,158 reviews
0.8 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
1.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#24 of 159 in Brisbane
2,692 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#22 of 159 in Brisbane
2,365 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 159 in Brisbane
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Balfour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Balfour Hotel

Property: Spicers Balfour Hotel
Address: 37 Balfour St, Brisbane, Queensland 4005, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Balfour Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the outside, Spicers Balfour Hotel resembles many of the large and beautiful classic Queenslander homes found in its neighbourhood, the fashionable inner-city Brisbane suburb of New Farm. The hotel offers nine rooms each with individual elegance and charm providing an indulgent haven with all the comforts and attention to detail expected from a leading five star hotel. Small boardroom for meetings of up to 18 delegates, onsite restaurant serving sumptuous breakfast's and high tea's daily, lunch (Monday-Friday),and dinner (Monday-Saturday), library, large and open QLD Verandah, complimentary parking facilities and rooftop bar with views of the stunning city skyline and Story Bridge. Whether it's a corporate trip to Brisbane, a romantic city escape from the kids, or just a cosy, convenient place to come back to after a show, Spicers Balfour Hotel is the ultimate city escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spicers Balfour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing