We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Spicers Balfour Hotel
Ranked #12 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Great location walk to ferry and to town, rooms clean and weill appointed, maybe on the smalll side. All staff attentive special mention for Alex. Breakfast great.Roof top bar - a must do! I would recommend rooms on first level as courtyard rooms can be noisy on driveway to parking.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mary And Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Spicershotels, Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Mary and Neil,

Thank-you for staying at Spicers Balfour Hotel. The location is great here at you mentioned close enough to public transport but hidden up a back street to ensure we can offer the most privacy. So glad to hear that yu enjoyed your stay and Alex is always very professional but personal which is always great.

Both Alex and the rest of the team look forward to wlecoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (639)
There are newer reviews for Spicers Balfour Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed at the Balfour hotel with the mrs....very chic hotel within walking distance to all the Valley sights. Definately a couples hotel...rooms small but quirky and different. He best part was the attitude of the staff...they were fantastic - friendly, responsive, professional....would definately stay agan...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Spicershotels, Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Greg,

Thank-you for staying at Spicers Balfour, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The staff love to hear postive feedback and always strive to met the guest expections and give them an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcome you back to the Balfour soon.

Kind Regards

Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our experience at Spicers Balfour was beautiful. The decor is amazing, the service is luxurious and nurturing and the breakfast delightful. So glad to have stayed here, all the little touches make it very special indeed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chelwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Spicershotels, Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Chelwho,

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank-you for your kind words, the team love to hear your feedback and we would love to have you back.
Kind regards

The Balfour Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had just 2 nights in Brisbane, and are really glad that we chose the Spicers Balfour. It is located in the NewFarm area of Brisbane, which is just outside the city but a short "water bus" (CityCat) ride from all the action.

We reserved the only room with a balcony, which was great...I assume the other rooms are equally nice.

The service was outstanding (special thanks to Alex and Maria who responded to our every request and were great guides for our first visit to Brisbane).

Additionally, the food (both breakfast and dinner) were outstanding.

Room Tip: Get the balcony room if available.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanDiegoW_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Spicershotels, Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear San DiegoW_traveller,

Thank-you for your feedback, I have passed your thanks on to Alex and Maria. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in Brisbane and hope that next time you decided to visit Australia you will come back to stay with us.
Kind regards

The Balfour Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I organised the stay here as a Birthday experience for my partner and we both thoroughly enjoyed our experience here. The quality of spa treatments was unbelievable which was followed by an antipasto platter on the roof top bar overlooking the story bridge. The room had all the fine little touches and the staff really made the staff very enjoyable. Whether staying here or just dining the restaurant is excellent breakfast or dinner so it is a must to dine at

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Spicershotels, Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Ken A,

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your Birthday Getaway at Spicers Balfour, sounds like you experienced a lot of what the Balfour has to offer. The roof top bar is a great place to relax and enjoy a drink especially after a relaxing massage and before enjoy a beautiful meal in the restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next birthday

Kind regards

The Balfour Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

So, I did a lot of research for our recent trip to Australia and for our stay in Brisbane, I could not find anywhere that sounded as nice as the Spicers Balfour so expectations were very high when we arrived early morning from a flight from Singapore.

We were greeted very nicely by the morning team and Maria sorted us out with coffee and when breakfast was ready, we got a table on the balcony in the glorious morning sun.

Our room was not ready but we were promised the first available so we headed to town on the ferry for a walk around which was great.

When we got back the room was ready and lovely. I know that other reviewers have said that the rooms are small and dark but we felt they were very nice, well appointed and had everything we needed. The bar on the roof top sorted out any needs and I love the honesty book where you just wrote what you had taken.The view from the bar are across the Story Bridge and the Brisbane Skyline - perfect.

We had dinner in the restaurant twice and it was great on both times, good food, service and the wine list is good.

Another thing to love is that you can have any breakfast from the menu - not just the standard version - and the hashbrowns are to die for. Also, the carrot and pineapple juice is great.

Overall a perfect and lovely stay - we would be back in heart beat should we be living near by.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sus2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

2 night stay at Spicers Balfour St. Very good location with staff who looked after us really well. Asked for a coffee when we arrived, well made and no charge. Breakfast included so we expected the breakfast bar cereal, yes you can have that but also a hot breakfast, another coffee sir! Great bed, great room, great roof top bar with view over Brisbane

Room Tip: on the higher level than the lower one. Ask for a bath
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Notgrandtourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.8 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 168 in Brisbane
1,181 reviews
0.8 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane
1.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#25 of 168 in Brisbane
2,780 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#22 of 168 in Brisbane
2,404 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 168 in Brisbane
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Balfour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Balfour Hotel

Address: 37 Balfour St, Brisbane, Queensland 4005, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: £121 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Balfour Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the outside, Spicers Balfour Hotel resembles many of the large and beautiful classic Queenslander homes found in its neighbourhood, the fashionable inner-city Brisbane suburb of New Farm. The hotel offers nine rooms each with individual elegance and charm providing an indulgent haven with all the comforts and attention to detail expected from a leading five star hotel. Small boardroom for meetings of up to 18 delegates, onsite restaurant serving sumptuous breakfast's and high tea's daily, lunch (Monday-Friday),and dinner (Monday-Saturday), library, large and open QLD Verandah, complimentary parking facilities and rooftop bar with views of the stunning city skyline and Story Bridge. Whether it's a corporate trip to Brisbane, a romantic city escape from the kids, or just a cosy, convenient place to come back to after a show, Spicers Balfour Hotel is the ultimate city escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spicers Balfour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing