We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spicers Balfour Hotel
Ranked #8 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had a great stay in Courtyard Room. We were only booked in for one night and would have happily stayed longer if we could!.

Read my blog post here: http://smmwonder.blogspot.com.au/2014/07/mid-winter-getaway-spicers-balfour.html

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Spicershotels, Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Janet,

Thanks-you for your kind words we will watch your blog and look forward to hearing all you other adventures. We would be happy to have you back here at any stage.
Kind Regards

Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 687 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Small rooms with no fridges, limited housekeeping abilities, really overpriced minibar, broken coffee machine and faulty WiFi. Not a great stay.

More than that though, the attitude of the staff is nowhere near a 5-star standard. This is not an amenities-driven hotel, which is fine, but to be looked at like a crazy person when asking about things like shuttle services, business centres and the suchlike is unacceptable.

Would not recommend for anyone who has experienced a real 5-star - as opposed to this self-assessed subpar version.

Stayed: July 2014
9  Thank NorwichExpats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Spicershotels, Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

To stowaway_LZN,

Thank-you for your feedback I am disappointed to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us, we try and meet the needs of all our guest and sorry that you felt that you where left to feel unwelcomed. We hope one day that you would consider staying at one of our other Spicers properties.

Kind Regards

Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

A stay in this hotel is more like staying in a sanctuary of luxe bliss. You are made to feel welcome and every need is catered for. It is relaxing, the rooftop bar excellent, and service personalised.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Amiria_mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Spicershotels, Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

To Amiria_mc,

Thank-you for your feedback we also love our little sanctuary in the heart of Brisbane. The staff always love to hear positive feedback and are here to make you feel comfortable and relaxed.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in town

Kind Regards
Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband & I stayed here for a treat night away from our 18 month old & LOVED it. Rooms are not huge, however well decorated and the bed is very comfortable. As the restaurant is close to the upstairs rooms, it is a little noisy during the day & early evening. However, after 10pm they close the fire doors & you don't hear anything until around 8/8:30am when they reopen them. The location is great, walking distance to the hub of New Farm & the Valley, without the street noise of the Main Street. Recommend this hotel for a couples looking for nice Bris getaway,

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank LikesQuality101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Spicershotels, Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

LikesQuality101,

It's always a treat to get away for the night, we are lucky enough to have such a great location close to the City and Fortitude Valley. I do apolgize if you found the room noisy in the early evening we are always happy to shut the doors if needed.

We look forward to wlecoming you andyour partner back soon.

Kind Regards

Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Once you check in to this small corner of luxury you do not need to leave for anything. Everything is there amazing and friendly staff, to look after your every need. this is our second stay at Spicers Balfour and it won't be our last.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Spicershotels, Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Scott,

So glad to hear that you enojoyed your stay with us. The perfect place to rejuvent and relax whilst still been close to the city.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Many locals don't even know this is here, but I have been visiting Brisbane for business and pleasure for 15 years and I think this is the best place to stay by far. We had a work function there on a Tuesday night for 30 people, and they handled it really well (brining it inside to the charming library at short notice from the pretty courtyard - rain). The bedrooms are quiet and dark, allowing for a great sleep, and the restaurant food is delicious and average price for this quality, which is among the best in Bris. Staff all helpful, and wine list is superior. (I don't even think there was a Penfolds in sight; what a revelation - no offence to Penfolds)! There are also the little touches such as a brownie on the pillow with evening turn down, reminiscent of say the Mandarin in HK. Certainly a cut above the other bland Brisbane offerings. Also, the fully stocked honesty bar upstairs is a great breath of fresh air. Fantastic idea. Imagine a hotel actually trusting their guests!

Room Tip: get an upgrade to the front room #1 if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank canetoad60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Spicershotels, Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Canetoad60,

Thank-you for recently staying at Spicers Balfour, its always great to hear postive feedback from our guest. I'm so happy that you where happy with moving your function at last minute. It did look amazing. We do trust all our guest and like to make sure you laways feel at home especially when you are travelling for business and spend a lot of time away from your family and home.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Balfour on your next visit.

KInd Regards

Sam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

What a beautiful experience, could not find fault, food, service, decor, loved the honesty system in place. We didn't need to leave, really close to everything. A surprise for my husband nice romantic little stay just for 1 night & can't wait to go back,. A big thank you

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deneane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Spicershotels, Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank-you Deneane H,

I am so glad to hear that you and your husband enjoyed our beautiful hotel, there is nothing better then checking into a hotel and knowing that you don’t have to go anywhere if you don’t want to. With an amazing honesty bar and restaurant on site you are right there is no reason to ever leave.
We home to have you and your husband back soon.

Kind Regards

Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.8 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#3 of 169 in Brisbane
1,235 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#21 of 169 in Brisbane
2,545 reviews
1.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane
0.8 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 169 in Brisbane
1,240 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#34 of 169 in Brisbane
4,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Balfour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Balfour Hotel

Address: 37 Balfour St, Brisbane, Queensland 4005, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: £116 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Balfour Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable suburb of New Farm, Spicers Balfour Hotel is just minutes from Brisbane city centre and 30 minutes from the airport. Step inside this iconic Queenslander and you’ll discover a chic and stylish interior that’s welcoming and warm and perfectly complements the high standard of personal service expected from a Spicers Retreat. The Balfour Kitchen serves Brisbane’s best all-day breakfast & lunch menu until 2pm daily. We also offer our famous Balfour High Tea seven days a week (must be prebooked). For dinner, we offer antipasto and cheese boards to be enjoyed in our beautiful frangipani courtyard or overlooking the city in our Rooftop Bar. Whether it's a corporate trip to Brisbane, a romantic city escape from the kids, or just a cosy, convenient place to come back to after a show, Spicers Balfour Hotel is the ultimate city escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Spicers Balfour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing