We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lunch at Southbank”

South Bank Surf Club
Ranked #2,191 of 4,377 Restaurants in Brisbane
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Ipswich, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“lunch at Southbank”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Took an overseas friend for lunch after collecting her from the airport, and had the best steak sandwich ever! Very friendly service and lovely surroundings. Not cheap, but you get what you pay for; quality.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katerina59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    76
    56
    47
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saffron Walden
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This has a great location and will pick up lots of new, passing trade. This is a good thing because I'm not sure how many would return!
Just over half the tables were occupied, but there were too few staff and there were long waits to get the menus, then the drinks and later the food. The fish was seriously over-cooked, it was like fishy cardboard in a mass of crispy batter.
Enjoy the location, have a beer and watch the world go by, but don't bother with the food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Voyageur775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“great spot for lunch”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

me and my wife were in the surf club for lunch on friday, and the food was beautiful, i had the crab sandwich which was awesome, the only disapointment was the crisps that came with it, it should be chips!!! my wife had the fish and chips and the fish was lovely. Our waitress was outstanding, every time my water was low it was topped up, and the manager gave us a great table and he recommended a great wine for us both to share. well done south bank surf club!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Meh”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

It was a last minute decision to eat here. It wasn't too busy. Everything was OK. Service was good but not great. Waitstaff need to be flagged down, not very proactive. Food was tasty but servings were small. All in all it was average.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Promise of location but fails dismally in delivery”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We went to Surf Club with family last night. The main meals were the worst we have experienced for a long time. My wife and I both had the battered fish and chips, it was inedible. Other diners had the mussels in a pot and had difficulty in finding the meat. The plates went back largely untouched with no question from the French speaking waitress. We will not be back. Steve

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Bank Surf Club also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to South Bank Surf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing