We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cocktails in Southbank”

South Bank Surf Club
Ranked #2,244 of 4,407 Restaurants in Brisbane
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Cocktails in Southbank”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

This is about the 4th time we've been to Southbank Surf Club for drinks and or food. The cocktails here are fantastic & there is a fairly respectable cocktail menu and bar staff are willing to mix something up if the menu doesn't take your fancy. Cocktail prices are similar to other places at Southbank.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DavinC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    76
    56
    47
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Meal Without Colour!!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us, so we were looking forward to a lovely meal. Unfortunately we were disappointed, but shouldn't have been. Location was perfect at Southbank, tick, staff attentive, tick, meal, NO tick. Both my husband and I ordered steak at a cost of about $36 each and the only word to describe our meal is 'brown'! Where is the colour, no beautiful fresh veggies, just brown meat, brown sauce and brown potatoes. If you wish to have repeat customers, you need to change your menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terese14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food and kids looked after!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Walking past we decided that this looked like a great family spot. Waitress was excellent and very attentive. Got colouring for the kids and made sure their meals came first. We had an awesome dinner - steak and the BBQ pork ribs that my husband is still talking about!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Astonished...and not in a good way!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We live on the Gold Coast and often stay the night in Brisbane and South Bank. For some reason we didn't spot the Surf club on previous occasions, however walking along deciding where to eat there it was... appearing out of nowhere: )

We were shown a table upstairs overlooking the market and were quite delighted. The club was packed which was to be expected on a Sunday afternoon, with a buzzing atmosphere.

We were eventually served, approximately eight minutes after sitting down and ordered the sourdough bread with balsamic and oil dressing $8. 50 and fish and chips, we requested the bread first, and waited another 15 minutes for this to arrive. We were served four slices of sour dough bread and a minuscule amount of balsamic oil dip ( tiny) we had dipped probably one piece of bread and decided to request some more dip, we were told yes we could have some more but we would need to pay another $3.00. On principle we explained to the waiter we thought it was unreasonable to serve up four dry pieces of sour dough bread with such a small dip as no matter how careful we were using the dip it was only enough for one piece of bread, he replied well this is the rule of the restaurant as most people request more dip!
Why not take on board the feed back!?

We cancelled the fish and chips and left, so I can't comment on the main meal, just despise getting ripped off!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“lunch at Southbank”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Took an overseas friend for lunch after collecting her from the airport, and had the best steak sandwich ever! Very friendly service and lovely surroundings. Not cheap, but you get what you pay for; quality.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katerina59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Bank Surf Club also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to South Bank Surf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing