We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great clean overnighter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Raceways Motel in Brisbane
Ranked #19 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A great clean overnighter”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stay at this motel sometimes twice a year. We found it originally because we wanted a motel near to the airport and we were never going to stay at the Formula 1 which is the closest to the airport. I found the Raceways on the net and it wasn't too far from the airport. Clean and tidy and run by Greg Caplick and his wife. Very nice friendly people. We always ask for the end room, only because it the furtherest from the check in area and laundry. The place is always clean and fresh smelling. Just a short drive (or walk) up the road is the Hamilton Bowls Club where we always go for a good reasonably priced meal. We even joined up for $1 and now get discounted drinks. Yes the motel is old, but situated in Hamilton which is only a very short walk up to the coffee strip where we go early in the mornings before we fly out. Will stay again as usual.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyElle000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
33
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I was looking for a place near the airport for our last night as we had an early flight out the next day. This place was recommended to me by a friend saying that friends of his always stayed here when they came to Brisbane.
Jan and Greg were both very welcoming. The room (we were in room 2) was nicely furnished and decorated. Huge TV. The curtains are sunblock and keep the room nice and dark. The bed was comfortable and it was incredibly quiet!! Can't believe that Kingsford Smith Drive is a street away yet we heard nothing of the traffic noise. The motel is located in a back street.
There is a swimming pool and even a half tennis court.
Brett's Wharf is about 14 minutes walk away and we took the cat down to Southbank, got off and had a walk around for a little while then hopped back on again and returned, all for $5.60 each.
Racecourse Road is 5 mins walk away and there are quite a few restaurants to choose from.

It was about 6-7km to the domestic airport. If you are returning a hire car, there is a petrol station just down the road (ask Jan or Greg to explain exactly where), you can top up and then drive to the airport and the fuel gauge won't move a bit.
I am so glad our friend recommended this place, I can't imagine that any of the flasher joints could have been any better.
This motel is a member of the Golden Chain group and if you join their loyalty program (sign up online for free) you get a 10% discount.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank plspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmain, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,313 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 614 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

An older-style motel on Brisbane's northside that is very convenient to Brisbane airport, though did not notice any aircraft noise at all. It is located on a quiet backstreet so traffic noise is not an issue, either.
Rooms are large, well equipped and individually decorated. They might look a bit old-fashioned but this also makes them more interesting that your typical motel room. Bed comfy. And all at a very competitive price
Racecourse Road and its array of restaurants and take-away joints is only a short stroll away, with the large Hamilton Hotel not much further down the road.
Operators were very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JElliot32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Upon checking in, Greg, the host, greeted us by the hand, welcomed my mum and I and introduced himself - I don't think that has ever happened to me! Great hospitality! We used to always stay in a new motel in Kingsford Smith Drive, but now this is our new favourite. Well priced, well located within 700m from Brett's Wharf Ferry and 350m from restaurants. Clean, nice decor, parking right outside your door. Set back from the busy road, it was shielded from road noise. I appreciated the note in the room stating that guests leaving early need to be mindful of other guests and keep the noise down - which we did as we left at 4am for an international flight. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed in no 7 - pics attached. There are only 12 I think, so it's a small complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarinJapie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston SE, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

If anything, the Raceways is getting better. I stayed here constantly during 2012 and 2013 and the rooms are progressively getting modernised, particularly in the bathrooms which were the most dated part of each room. Rates haven't changed and importantly there's no price gouging during big events or peak times. The tariff is the tariff.

Greg and Jan are wonderful people who can't do enough to help you, even if Greg does support Manly in the NRL. The motel is in a really in a very convenient location, a block or two from super markets and numerous restaurants, as well as Eagle Farm and Doomben racetracks. I've stayed in nearly all of the Brisbane "airport" motels and most are overpriced and underwhelming, the Raceways is by far the best of them out there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiFoGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proserpine, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

A friendly greeting, a comfortable bed, clean and well fitted bathroom, quieter than most, good value. The rooms are not huge but for one or two people it's ideal, especially for anyone with own transport going in and out of BNE. The range of restaurants nearby is great and there are also banks and small Coles and Woolworths supermarkets. The Kent Street-scape is a mix of suburban Queenslanders and some less attractive apartments, but most should feel safe enough walking to and fro. Excellent Bacon and Eggs breakfast. I've stayed at many ritzier hotels that didn't fulfil my expactations as well as this.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doistayorgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

For a quiet and comfortable stay in a most convenient location you just can't go past this one. Greg and Jan will always go out of their way to provide for your needs. The rooms are well equipped clean tidy and most comfortable and away from noisy traffic. Also close enough to the ferry terminal and numerous local shops and restaurants are only a short walk away. It's no wonder that we keep on coming back here. Hal & Pam, NZ

Room Tip: For a couple......ask for Room one !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
1.7 mi away
Novotel Brisbane Airport
Novotel Brisbane Airport
#37 of 159 in Brisbane
2,133 reviews
1.5 mi away
Airport Clayfield Motel
Airport Clayfield Motel
#73 of 159 in Brisbane
141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kingsford Smith Motel
Kingsford Smith Motel
#6 of 159 in Brisbane
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Airport 85 Motel
0.1 mi away
Airport Ascot Motel
Airport Ascot Motel
#57 of 159 in Brisbane
199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverview Motel
Riverview Motel
#5 of 60 in Brisbane
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raceways Motel in Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raceways Motel in Brisbane

Property: Raceways Motel in Brisbane
Address: 66 Kent St, Brisbane, Queensland 4007, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raceways Motel in Brisbane 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Raceways Motel in Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing