We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Via - CLOSED

La Via
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Great pizza and good value for lunch. Would return. Even my fussy 4 year old, loved it! They will pack it up for you if you have pizza left over. An enjoyable taste of Italg!

Helpful?
Thank Nasturtian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    35
    9
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Outstanding Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Had the margarita pizza which was right up there with the best I have ever had. Usually when I'm in Bangkok I go to a little out of the way Italian restaurant run by an Italian ex-pat which is the best Italian food I have ever had and always struggle to find comparables.

The pizza was cooked the old way, great pizza base with mozzarella and all up great flavour. Partner had the seafood risotto which wasn't too bad, parts of the octopus were over cooked by all up a good meal.

Dinner for two with drinks was $75 which given the food and location was fine.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SimonR745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Hedland, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“UNBEATABLE! SCRUMPTIOUS!! BELLISSIMO!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

My 2 Sisters and I stumbled upon this little beauty whilst strolling through SouthBank (September, 2013) looking for a place to eat. We weren't sure what we felt like so we passed by many an eatery. What a pleasant surprise when we were shown a table, had our orders taken and we (promptly) received our meals!! This place is amazing and I highly recommend ANY of their pizzas as well as the Pork Belly. Their Risotto is TO DIE FOR! I have just made a booking at this restaurant for June, 2014. I am taking my partner there for his birthday. The 2 hour drive from our property in northern NSW will be well worth it. Sandra McLean, NSW, 2474.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
366 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Fantastic food but why so pretentious?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Recently stayed at Southbank and was recommended by hotel staff to try La Via on little stanley st for good italian. Very true, the italian was quite good. Quality, simple italian restaurant food the way it's supposed to be matched with consistent service, menu selection and atmosphere.

My rating of 3/5 is because I cannot understand why La Via tries to offer a fine dining experience, wanting patrons to go for a whole 3 course (see their menus and portion sizes), charge more upmarket prices than most traditional italian restaurants but then only devlier simplicity?

I could justify paying $20 for assortment of breads entree and $30 for a suckling pig lasagne mains at a restaurant that provides a matching experience, cloth tables, intimate settings, more complex dishes. La Via unfortunately dissapoints when it comes to this but fittingly so. True italian is supposed to be simple, traditional yet bold.

Everything was so suitably casual in line with the overall feel and theme of La Via - Coloured non glossy paper menus stained from previous diners, lack of menu selection, limited drinks menu, traditional simple but quality dishes, waitstaff in t-shirts and overalls. The name "La Via' and its small servings are about as elegant or fine as the restaurant actually gets.

Would be back if they had some weekly promotions, lunch specials or desperate for italian in southbank. Otherwise there are better italian restaurants around!

I really enjoy the food but I hated it's cliched pretentiousness. Fakes can fool you visually but after the experience you often feel a little cheated. La Via was like that for me. Sold boldly, performed admirably and delievered poorly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TIersHasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

The food is exquisite and never let's us down. We have been going regularly for over 2 years and not once have we had a bad experience. On weekends the restaurant does get rather busy so there is a tight fit with close seating. The prices are fantastic for the delicious meals you receive. Would highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Via also viewed

 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing