We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, not so great acoustics”
Review of Green Papaya - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Green Papaya
Cuisines: Indonesian, Thai, Australian, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Contemporary Thai and Balinese food in classic surrounds.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great food, not so great acoustics”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

If you want some brilliant food you can't beat the Green Papaya. The banquets are value for money and more food than you can probably eat. Delicious. Even the dessert was excellent and not the typical overly sweet variety which assails some western palettes.

The one down side is the acoustics which require you to either raise your voice or get in close. But, if like us you enjoy the friendly staff and the great food, then you';; probably linger until everyone else has left anyway. Then, the noise is only you.

It's not expensive although the wines can be a little pricey. We took the BYO option which is well worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    20
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fernvale
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“More amber to red than green papaya”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Finally got to experience Green Papaya which has been on my wish list for ages. Went to celebrate some significant birthdays and with great anticipation to this much awarded restaurant. And came away sorely disappointed with the food which I would describe as very Australianised and disappointingly non-Balinese or Thai. The one positive from our experience is the service. Our table staff were exemplary. There are numerous other specialist Asian restaurants in Brisbane which do a much better job of especially Thai and I will give them the green light rather than repeat this very Amber experience!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Flavourful food and excellent service”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We were visiting from interstate, with a group attending a workshop. After the initial booking, the numbers changed three times - with the staff responding in a cheerful, helpful manner.
The menu is interesting, and our seven main dishes were all delicious and different - The island duck curry was a winner for most of us! The wine list is modest but quite adequate, with reasonable prices. The Tim Adams riesling was a perfect accompaniment for the Thai food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We popped in mid week prior to going to a show at SouthBank. The service was quick and efficient and the food was absolutely beautiful. Fresh clean flavours and nothing over complicated. Not doubt this is the best Thai restaurant in Brisbane. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brissygal61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas City, Texas
1 review
“Delicious food and wonderful service”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We really enjoyed our dinner here. The balinese dishes is surprisingly good. I was going to bali few month ago, i know that cook balinese dishes is little bit complicated. The service was very helpful and warm, the staff are friendly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Green Papaya also viewed

 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing