We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pillows and bed stood between us and a good night's sleep”
Review of Jephson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jephson Hotel
Ranked #79 of 160 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“The pillows and bed stood between us and a good night's sleep”
Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

The pillows and bed let this place down. Everything was basic modern and functional, but the bed and pillows were not comfortable and did not allow a good night's sleep.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank M20A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomB007, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time out to review our hotel. We have implemented a pillow menu which is located beside the bed in each guest room, as we do understand guests have differing opinions in relation to pillow preference. We’re sorry you missed this during your stay .

We also appreciate that guests do have different preferences in regards to the firmness of the bed. We are looking to implement a mattress topper to all hotel beds in the near future. We do appreciate your feedback and rest assured we are always trying to improve our property to ensure a great guest experience.

Regards

TBW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    81
    30
    6
    5
See reviews for
25
53
14
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Recently stayed at the Jephson Hotel at Toowong in Brisbane. It is only a few mins from the CBD and is on the door step to great restaurants and night spots. The room I stayed in would be great for the corporate traveller with kitchen facilities, lounge room with TV, generous bedroom with TV on the wall and a great bathroom with washing machine and everything you need. With all modern fittings throughout, I was very impressed with this hotel. The brekkie was good too. I would recomend this hotel for a corporate traveller or for couples having a night away.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomB007, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you for the feedback. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards
TBW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Being locals we didn't stay at the hotel but took our friends to the restaurant for dinner to celebrate their wedding anniversary. The menu selection hit the mark with an excellent choice of meals. We were amazed at the menu choices, this was truly one of the best meals I have ever had, five star all the way. From entre to desert truly fantastic. I had the twice cooked duck, it was positively delicious. The creme brulee with citris salad is the best i have ever had! Prices were very reasonable staff were very polite and helpful, Mitch even greeted our friends with a congratulations for their anniversary. Try the Jephson for dinner and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GulliverBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomB007, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you so much for your review. It is really nice that being local Toowong residents that you have chosen to dine with us. Our Executive Chef is extremely passionate about her profession and is always reviewing our menus and providing the best fresh produce available for our menue items. The twice cooked duck is very popular and by your review obviously a winner.
Our restaurant Manager Mitch, will always ensure any details of a guests dining experience are met, and again we thank you for acknowledging his contributions to the overall experience you and your friends have had. Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Regards

TBW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The position of the hotel is great. Close to shops and public transport. The breakfast was great. They even had a cappucino machine and cappucinos were included in our free breakfast offer. When I had to leave too early for breakfast the next morning, they brought some fresh fruit and yoghurt up to the room at night time, so that I could have some breakfast before I had to leave. The service was perfect.

Room Tip: We booked a twin room, but were given a Queen size bed. Since we arrived at midnight we had to wake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnfoR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomB007, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We’ve only recently offered the early bird breakfast, from past guest feedback. It’s pleasing to see it’s been well received. We’re happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that our team looked after you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Jephson Hotel.

Regards

TBW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This hotel is in a great location if you need to spend time at UQ St Lucia campus. In easy reach of good selection of restaurants of all meals, the shopping centre, and public transport. The are variously sized rooms which are clean and while a little soulless in their modern style, they are very comfortable. Beds are good, AC is good, TV works. Love being able to get a little fresh air through the balcony door and some rooms have windows that open in the bathroom. I've stayed three times in a year and last time the girl on reception smiled and said "welcome back". I like that. Getting the free wi-fi sorted out in the restaurant will be great (code didn't work last time) and as others have suggested, free wi-fi in the rooms would be fabulous.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eagertogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomB007, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Taking time out to rate us is always appreciated ,so we thank you for that.
We are fine tuning the wi fi in the restaurant and we apologise for this inconvenience. You are right about our location we are the perfect place to stay when conduting business at UQ or the Wesley Hospital. Guest recognition is very important to us so we do make that extra effort. So thanks once again for choosing to stay at the Jephson.
TBW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pomona, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Lovely modern hotel. In a busy area but very quiet. Bed very comfy.
Wi-Fi in the rooms would make it perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I chose the Jephson because of it's easy access to the Suncorp Stadium for an NRL game. Thanks to very helpful hotel staff who provided directions to the stadium, the train trip was quick and enjoyable.

The hotel is very new and the facilities reflect that. Everything is in great condition and the decor is modern and comfortable. The room was clean, spacious, and comfortable, with a large desk/work space. The key uses tap-and-go technology so I didn't have to take it out of my wallet to unlock the door.

I wondered how the restaurant could offer a $5 bacon and egg meal and was pleasantly surprised when it arrived. It was one egg on toast and a slice of bacon very well presented. I wish more restaurants would offer such nice, appropriately small portion meals at proportionate prices. Everyone serves such large portions and I appreciate being able to choose a breakfast with similar portion sizes to what I could make at home.

Everything works for me at Jephson, friendly helpful staff, great location, excellent undercover parking, and a very nice room that allowed a restful night and a comfortable sleep.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomB007, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Jephson your next visit to Brisbane. Customer service is a primary focus of the hotel and we will always do whatever it takes to exceed our guests expectations. Thanks for taking the time out to review our property.
TBW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brisbane
0.1 mi away
Toowong Inn & Suites
Toowong Inn & Suites
#91 of 160 in Brisbane
100 reviews
1.4 mi away
Forest Lodge Apartments
Forest Lodge Apartments
#1 of 1 in Indooroopilly
30 reviews
1.3 mi away
Central Cosmo Apartments
Central Cosmo Apartments
#72 of 160 in Brisbane
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Milton Brisbane
The Milton Brisbane
#37 of 160 in Brisbane
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Toowong Villas
Toowong Villas
#77 of 160 in Brisbane
195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Toowong Central Motel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jephson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jephson Hotel

Property: Jephson Hotel
Address: 63 Jephson St | Toowong, Brisbane, Queensland 4066, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 160 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jephson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish boutique hotel situated in Brisbane’s inner west, the Jephson Hotel brings to Toowong a versatile accommodation option for business, travel and leisure. Located in convenient proximity to the city centre, Jephson Hotel offers a range of contemporary, sophisticated accommodation options, from fully furnished standard rooms with en suites to a luxury three bedroom penthouse. Complemented by modest and attentive service, Jephson Hotel also features facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible, including a rooftop terrace, function and conference rooms, and free in-house movies. If looking to wine and dine, Jephson Hotel also caters to your needs with J's Restaurant and Bar. Secure car parking is offered to Hotel and Restaurant guests complimentary. The Jephson Hotel offers many transport option. Train, Bus, Taxi and Citycat are all within meters of the hotel, opening up quick and easy access to the CBD, South Bank, Suncorp Stadium, University of Queensland and the Wesley Hospitalre With all this, why stay anywhere else? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jephson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing