We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jephson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jephson Hotel
Ranked #71 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice hotel stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed for 5 days. Had 1 bedroom apartment. Staff excellent. Ate in restaurant one night. Excellent food.
This hotel is fairly new, and was surprised to see shower area had very stained dirty tiles. Needs a good scrub in my opinion but guessing their staff only have limited time to clean each apartment.
However would definitely stay again. Its close to shops, free parking a bonus. Would be nice to have free wifi in rooms, surely a plus for hotels these days.

Room Tip: Had corner apartment, didn't notice street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucystellaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgina T, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Hello Lucy

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

I will definitely talk to housekeeping and investigate the tiles.

We look forward to seeing you next time.

Kind regards
Georgina Terepai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    79
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
25
51
14
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed at the Jephson Hotel on Valentines Day and enjoyed the 3 course Valentines Day set meal at Covet Bar & restaurant. We enjoyed our short stay, the room was spacious and clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgina T, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Hello Joanne

Thank you so much for your review. We have had a great response with Valentine's Day and we are glad you enjoyed your special stay.

We pride ourself in delivering great quality meals and fantastic service.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Georgina Terepai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We have been regular visitors to the Jephson since it opened. The location, accessibility & free parking are big positives. The rooms are always clean & well appointed, the restaurant menu is extensive with excellent food. We have always found all staff - reception, restaurant/bar & housekeeping, to be friendly & very helpful. Easier access to the in room WiFi on offer would be a significant improvement.
We certainly recommend the Jephson Hotel.

Room Tip: The Jephson is on a corner in Toowong which is a bustling suburb with road traffic, so noise may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgina T, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Robert

Thank you very much for your kind words.

We always enjoy both your and your wife's company and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Have a wonderful Christmas and New Year.

Kind regards
Georgina Terepai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

The Jephson is located in a rather nice inner suburb of Brisbane. It is convenient to both the CBD and the freeways to the west. Although there was a minor glitch when I arrived after hours on Sunday and did not know what to do until I phoned the proprietor, all was sorted quick time. The service and the room were top rate. Excellent overall impression plus free abundant car patting on site - thanks

Room Tip: If arriving on Sunday be aware they close at 7pm and you need to obtain code for key safe for late a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reichers59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgina T, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hello

Thank you so much for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

All feedback is very valuable and we appreciate the time you have taken.

We look forward to seeing you next time.

Kind regards
Georgina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We went to the jephson for a nice couple weekend away from the kids. We arrived and the room they had for us was not yet cleaned or made. Obviously we asked for a new room. It took about a half hour to get one. Once we got to the new room, it was quite nice. Standard but nice. It was a real hot day in brissy and the rooms are air conditioned, but nothing else is. The entry and halls etc were really hot and sticky. We went to the restaurant for our 'free' breakfast as advertised. It is free, but only if you want fruit, cereal, or a basic one egg and small price of bacon. One more thing. Don't return after 11pm (as most people do that go out for a romantic dinner) as there is no way to park your car underneath. It's locked so on the street it is.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jm1392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgina T, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Hello

Thank you so much for your feedback, and we sincerely apologise that your room was not cleaned when you arrived. Feedback like this is very useful and we are checking our housekeeping systems to ensure this doesn't happen again.

I am also checking with our air conditioning contractors to ensure we have the correct temperature for the hallways.

In regard to breakfast, we only charge $10 for tea, coffee or juice plus bacon and eggs. We are looking at raising this price next year so you will receive more bacon. Thank you for letting us know.

We hope to see you again and we wish you a very merry Christmas.

Kind regards
Georgina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We decided to stay two nights to check out this (relatively) new boutique Brisbane hotel. Check in was no problem with a pleasant surprise of a room upgrade to a studio :) I chilled out and checked the studio whilst my wife slaved away shopping down the road at Toowong Village. Clean throughout, large balcony with table/chairs, large bedroom with queen bed. Good size work desk, clothing storage, safe, microwave and very basic cooking/serving materials. Large sofa, LCD TV, colour scheme low key, smallish bathroom (no bath) but adequate. No apparent damage/wear to fittings. Good free parking and free movies ;) Local eating spots nearby. Quiet, in our room (207), despite very busy Jephson street and full house with cricket fans (First Test-WHICH WE WON !!). Bread & breakfast deal slightly disappointing with only two choices of meal (cereals OR eggs) without paying more from another menu. Hated the large sheet of paper over the linen tablecloth as I'm not that much of a 'grub' at the table ;( If you have business in Toowong or nearby and/or were looking forward to a Suncorp stadium event I would recommend the Jephson ;)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgina T, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Hello Terry

Thank you for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Toowong Village is very handy and can be dangerous on the pocket when shopping. I am sure you wife enjoyed herself.

In regard to our Bed and Breakfast, we only charge $10 for toast, cereal, tea or coffee (you also have the option for bacon and eggs for this price as well). Next year we are looking at raising the cost and providing more options, so it's great to get your feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again and we hope you have a fabulous Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We travel for business all the time and try to choose boutique hotels as the personal service and atmosphere is generally better than hotel chains. However, in this instance we were mislead. It was, at best an up market Formula 1 hotel.
It was the noisiest hotel I have stayed at in a while, the bed was uncomfortable, the staff were not welcoming, friendly or helpful, towels were exfoliating. Overall, let me say we would not return

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgina T, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Eileen

We are very sorry we didn't meet your expectations. I will definitely investigate your comment about our service as this is unusual. I appreciate your feedback.

We have so many corporate clients who enjoy our hotel and many repeat customers. We have been rated by AAA as a 4.5 star and have been accredited recently.

If you have time I would love to chat in person and I am happy to contact you. If you are interested please email me on georgina@jephsonhotel.com.au and I will call you, as I know you are from Perth.

I hope to hear from you.

Kind regards
Georgina Terepai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brisbane
0.1 mi away
Toowong Inn & Suites
Toowong Inn & Suites
#83 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.4 mi away
Forest Lodge Apartments
Forest Lodge Apartments
#1 of 1 in Indooroopilly
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
1.3 mi away
Central Cosmo Apartments
Central Cosmo Apartments
#75 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Chasely Apartments Brisbane
Chasely Apartments Brisbane
#140 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Milton Brisbane
The Milton Brisbane
#42 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Toowong Villas
Toowong Villas
#73 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jephson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jephson Hotel

Property: Jephson Hotel
Address: 63 Jephson St | Toowong, Brisbane, Queensland 4066, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jephson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish boutique hotel situated in Brisbane’s inner west, the Jephson Hotel brings to Toowong a versatile accommodation option for business, travel and leisure. Located in convenient proximity to the city centre, Jephson Hotel offers a range of contemporary, sophisticated accommodation options, from fully furnished standard rooms with en suites to a luxury three bedroom penthouse. Complemented by modest and attentive service, Jephson Hotel also features facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible, including a rooftop terrace, function and conference rooms, and free in-house movies. If looking to wine and dine, Jephson Hotel also caters to your needs with J's Restaurant and Bar. Secure car parking is offered to Hotel and Restaurant guests complimentary. The Jephson Hotel offers many transport option. Train, Bus, Taxi and Citycat are all within meters of the hotel, opening up quick and easy access to the CBD, South Bank, Suncorp Stadium, University of Queensland and the Wesley Hospitalre With all this, why stay anywhere else? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jephson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing