We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good modern hotel in brisbane suburb close to ferry”
Review of Jephson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jephson Hotel
Ranked #79 of 160 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“good modern hotel in brisbane suburb close to ferry”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Double room was spacious and comfortable with helpful chatty staff; breakfast up to $15 included in room price. Located in Toowong suburb of Brisbane so not as close to the main city attractions as some accommodation, but the City Cat ferry service is close by and so does not take long to get into central Brisbane.

Room Tip: hotel is at quite a busy traffic junction so ask for a room which faces out onto the side of the bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryW14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgina T, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi Gray

Thank you very much for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed the City Cat. Another tip if anyone is reading-, buy a Go Card for local transport as this saves on costs.

We hope you return to Brisbane and we see you again Gary.

All the best,
Georgina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    81
    30
    6
    5
See reviews for
25
53
14
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My second stay at the Jephson. My last was 3 years ago when staying in Brisbane. The location is handy to both the city and the western suburbs and Indooroopilly. The generous sized suites have been well maintained and were very clean. Convenient to Toowong village, with plenty of dining options at your doorstep. Thanks again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrentsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgina T, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hello Trent

Thank you so much for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to seeing you next time.

Kind regards
Georgina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

great central location, 10 minutes drive from cbd, close to botanical gardens, and a great strip of restaurants. Kitchen quite good and friendly staff.
Bed comfortable, rooms a decent size, and quiet. had everything I needed as a home base for a lot of running around. Free underground parking a bonus.
Second time I have used this hotel, and service cleanliness and food consistent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazirola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgina T, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback and we are so pleased you enjoyed our hotel and location.

We look forward to seeing you next time.

Best wishes
Georgina Terepai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed two night with my family. Room was clean and staff helpful and friendly. Free onsite parking great so close to the city. Close to shopping and transport to the city if needed. We stayed using a special deal on the accommodation which made the stay affordable for a family of 4.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgina T, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely feedback and we are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Georgina Terepai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights in the jephson, in a standard room for work committments at nearby university. Hotel was also across the road from toowong village which had a range of affordable but decent restaurants (japanese, asian bbq), fast food outlets, woolworths, dept store, etc

Was quite impressed at the size of the room particularly the balcony which was big enough for 4 place outdoor setting and also quite private.

Beds were comfortable and sleep was peaceful/restful for most part except second morning, a family staying on my floor with young children (yet to develop volume control) created almighty racket from 6.30 am. Sounded like the kids were playing (screaming!) right outside my room. Not exactly the hotel's fault however, and i guess i had to be up anyway.

Wifi internet was fast and free but capped at 200 Mb.

I had booked the B&B rate for the room, so this included order from the menu breakfast up to $15 value in Covet restaurant. The included value was more than enough for a couple of poached eggs, bacon on toast plus coffee/tea. A nice change from the buffet breakfast offerings in chain hotels and good value, also better for the waistline.

In summary, a pleasant stay in well located boutique hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QZfrequentflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgina T, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for your response and we are glad you enjoyed our hotel.

We look forward to seeing you next time.

Kind regards
Georgina Terepai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed here overnight for work and am very picky about hotels. Although the rooms are '' sparse'', that is because they are also quite large for hotel rooms and modern, giving an airy, clean feel to the place.
The bed lined was crisp and spotless and even ironed - which is few and far between these days.
Comfy bed (again I'm the worst sleeper!), with the option to get another pillow delivered if you don't like the ones they have - as long as it's before 9pm when reception closes.
The room has everything you need (tea, coffee, hot chocolate, pack of biscuits supplied, plus mini bar), and it was a pleasure to find a bathroom with room to move around and a large shower - not cramped into a tiny corner.
With free parking (underground out of the sun) and free wifi this makes a perfect stop if you want to be at this end of town and don't want to spend a fortune but want to be comfortable.
If you want to be in the middle of town and want antique furniture/fittings, this is not the place for you.
I didn't have breakfast here but walked down to Toowong Village which was a nice change.

Room Tip: This hotel is on a corner, there is a little street noise but not late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolW_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgina T, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Hello Carol

Thank you very much for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Toowong is a lovely area and it's great you had a wonderful sleep in our comfy beds.

We look forward to seeing you next time.

Kind regards
Georgina Terepai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ile-de-France, France
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

I spent one week in this hotel and was very disapointed.
It is a kind of mix between an hospital and a prison lost in the middle of nowhere. Maybe a bit tough but not too far from the reality.
Room are clean and staff is nice but there are no facilities and the prices are very hight for such an hotel. Nothing to do around. Breakfast is really basic.
If, like me, you have meetings in Toowong, it is really better to chose an hotel in the center of Brisbane and take taxi to come to Toowong. You will have access to better hotels and it will be the same price or cheaper taxi included.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Fredericduhamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgina T, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Hello

We are sorry you missed out on shopping, Suncorp Stadium, the historic brewery tours, golf, ferry rides around Brisbane and the list goes on.

Toowong is only 4.5 klms from the city and we are proud to be in the suburbs in a safe area where our guests enjoy the peace and quiet.

If you enjoy the city we hope you enjoy your stay there next time you visit.

As for our rooms they are modern, spacious, have a private balcony, free wi-fi and free movies.

Kind regards
Georgina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brisbane
0.1 mi away
Toowong Inn & Suites
Toowong Inn & Suites
#91 of 160 in Brisbane
100 reviews
1.4 mi away
Forest Lodge Apartments
Forest Lodge Apartments
#1 of 1 in Indooroopilly
30 reviews
1.3 mi away
Central Cosmo Apartments
Central Cosmo Apartments
#72 of 160 in Brisbane
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Milton Brisbane
The Milton Brisbane
#37 of 160 in Brisbane
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Toowong Villas
Toowong Villas
#77 of 160 in Brisbane
195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Toowong Central Motel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jephson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jephson Hotel

Property: Jephson Hotel
Address: 63 Jephson St | Toowong, Brisbane, Queensland 4066, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 160 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jephson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish boutique hotel situated in Brisbane’s inner west, the Jephson Hotel brings to Toowong a versatile accommodation option for business, travel and leisure. Located in convenient proximity to the city centre, Jephson Hotel offers a range of contemporary, sophisticated accommodation options, from fully furnished standard rooms with en suites to a luxury three bedroom penthouse. Complemented by modest and attentive service, Jephson Hotel also features facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible, including a rooftop terrace, function and conference rooms, and free in-house movies. If looking to wine and dine, Jephson Hotel also caters to your needs with J's Restaurant and Bar. Secure car parking is offered to Hotel and Restaurant guests complimentary. The Jephson Hotel offers many transport option. Train, Bus, Taxi and Citycat are all within meters of the hotel, opening up quick and easy access to the CBD, South Bank, Suncorp Stadium, University of Queensland and the Wesley Hospitalre With all this, why stay anywhere else? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jephson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing