We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3.5 stars: rough around the edges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
Ranked #4 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Canada, Kentucky
Level Contributor
310 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“3.5 stars: rough around the edges”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I stayed here for three weeks on a work assignment so had a chance to see this establishment over an extended period.

The building is new, but the room design often puts style ahead of functionality. Not enough counter space in the loo, and a fancy sink basin - broad and shallow that splashed most times it was used. Towel rack is on the far side of the room from the tub. What were they thinking?

The king sized bed was not particularly comfortable, as it zipped together two single beds and we could feel a hard boundary right down the middle of the bed.

But the room was quiet, and the temperature controls worked well. We cooked most meals for ourselves, and the kitchen was not bad for a serviced apartment.

Housekeeping was uneven. Most days were fine, but some times we got very little attention (ran out of toilet tissue one day because there was no replenishment the day before).

Worst problem was two days when there was no hot water between 7:30 am and 8:45 am. When the building fills up, there just isn't enough capacity to handle the morning rush.

Front desk only opens at 7 am, and we had to catch a taxi before then for an early flight. I was assured that an emectronic copy of my invoice would be emailed to me the day after departure, but I had to chase it down with follow-up emails after it never arrived a few days later.

There's work needed to get this place up to four stars. I'd rate it 3.5 as of today.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Human44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSABrisOnAdelai... B, Manager at Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Good afternoon Human44,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comprehensive review of the property, its disappointing that a few issues let down your overall evaluation of the property. I have forwarded on your comments to my housekeeping manager regarding the apartment servicing and the king split bed. We certainly aim for consistency with our servicing, so we will look to re-training of our housekeeping staff to ensure standards are met each day.
Unfortunately we did have a faulty part with our boilers last week that caused a hot water issue briefly each day. This part has now been replaced and I do apologise on behalf of the hotel for any inconvenience this caused.
I would like to advise that as from the start of July our reception desk will be a Meriton staffed 24hr operation. This will mean that guests will be able to check-in/out anytime of day and also get a tax invoice if required. Meriton has listened to feedback like yours and made this necessary change in our operation going forward.
Human44 thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to you staying with us again in the future.

Kind regards,

Mathew L
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,375
    795
    155
    62
    17
See reviews for
731
1,191
245
643
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (958)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This is a relatively new building so it's going to pretty hard to fault. The accommodation was comfortable and the views were very impressive (we were on the 74th floor!). Facilities were great. Carparking was expensive (charged me $30 a night to park my motorcycle in a corner - didn't take up a car space??). A bit more discretion and common sense wouldn't go astray.
We stayed for three nights. The location was okay, a short walk to the centre of the city but it was fine. It would be difficult for the elderly or those less able bodied to walk around. Late at night there were lots of people 'hanging around' the front doors. Not intimidating for us but could have been for a couple of women or those with kids. I'm sure the hotel could take steps to deal with this.
I do have to give the place a big wrap. I left some (many!) items in my room (note to self....check both ends of wardrobe next time!). Meriton staff located the items, packaged them up and posted the items back to me for the cost of postage. That impressed me no end. They were fantastic. Thank you very much. It is that type of service that will see me return again and again.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Very quiet on high floors with great views. Not for those who worry about heights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSABrisOnAdelai... B, Manager at Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Good afternoon David_Susie,

Thank you for the review of our property, its wonderful you enjoyed the stay and those views from the top floor!! I will be happy to pass on your feedback to the front desk regarding their follow up on the lost property. It's pleasing they were able to package it up and sent it on quickly, you wouldn't believe how much lost property is left behind on a weekly basis here. Thank you also for the comments regarding people hanging around out the front of the building. We do have security on every night and in a couple of weeks we will be going 24/7 with our reception desk. I will make sure my staff keep an eye on this area for the future.
Kind regards,

Mathew L
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
163 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

For the price of a hotel room, you get an apartment, with a kitchen, a dining room table, and in-unit laundry; all of it tastefully decorated. It is a little bit out of the way from the heart of the CBD though and dining options within walking distance are limited. And there aren't any supermarkets around, which limits the advantage of having a kitchen.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSABrisOnAdelai... B, Manager at Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Good morning Laurent L,
Thank you for your positive review of the apartment and mentioning the items we have as opposed to a hotel style room. I wanted to advise that there are many restaurants close within walking distance- some of Brisbane's best are located down on the pier within 5 minutes walk. We also have a Food works Supermarket opening this month under our building to go with the Woolworth supermarket located one block from the apartments. On your return visit please see the helpful front desk staff who will be happy to show you their locations on a map.
Thank you for the review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
kind regards,

Mathew L
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in a 2 bedroom apartment for a week. And WOW how fantastic. We were on level 69 (amazing views!) and the apartment was modern, really clean and really comfortable. The kitchen was pretty good, I used it to cook a few times. Great location, big supermarket a small walk away, heaps of buses, near the free ferry and free bus. This is at the Valley end of the city, so a short walk to the Mall but also close to Fortitude Valley and New Farm (in my opinion, the best for cool shopping and great bars and restaurants)
Would totally stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgermain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSABrisOnAdelai... B, Manager at Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Good morning kgermain,

Thank you for such a great review, we are pleased you found us to have "wonderful apartments. The views are fantastic from our apartments particularly those up as high as level 69 looking over Brisbane CBD. It sounds like our location really suited your needs with so many great restaurants and shopping close by. I would also like to advise that later this month the new Foodworks supermarket will open under the building for guest convenience.
Thank you again for the wonderful review.
kind regards,

Mathew L
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My husband and I stayed in a studio apartment for 2 nights over the long weekend. The room was fantastic, we couldn't fault it, very well appointed and spotless clean. Location was great only a 10 minute walk from the main riverside area, the CBD and Chinatown. The only criticism was some of the reception staff who were far from helpful especially when our key card to access the lifts failed to work upon check in and it took an excessive amount of time to get it working (we went out for dinner and came back a few hours later and it still wasn't working) only to be told in a rather grumpy manner "our system takes a long time to recode these cards so please just wait" - not really the service or more to the point lack of service I expected from the Meriton and I feel more training for reception staff is needed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Tigers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSABrisOnAdelai... B, Manager at Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Good morning Travelling_Tiger66,

Thank you for your review!! Its really pleasing to hear that you loved the Studio apartment, they are definitely well appointed with good size. I will be also happy to pass on your feedback to the housekeeping team regarding the high cleanliness.
Travelling_Tiger66 what is disappointing is that reception service dampened what could of been a faultless stay. A simple task like re-cutting a key should not have taken this long and I do apologise on their behalf. I will be passing on your feedback to them and expect immediate improvement from the front desk team.
Thank you for your comments, we will certainly use them to improve our performance for the future.
Kind regards,

Mathew L
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Clean, very comfortable and generous sized 1 bedroom apartments. Good amenities (gym, pool, sauna). Staff were lovely and had no issues upon check in or check out. Parking is an issue, so be prepared to pay $35/night or find alternative transport.

Room Tip: Ask for the highest possible floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ed d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSABrisOnAdelai... B, Manager at Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Good morning ed d,

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor post regarding your recent stay with us. It is wonderful that you enjoyed the one bedroom apartment and found it clean and comfortable. In regards to parking the rate of $35 per night, it is a competitive rate for Brisbane city however we do have limited spots available for our Serviced Apartment guests. The front desk are able to supply information on all the local parking and rates if required.
We look forward to your return visit in the future.

Kind regards,

Mathew L
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
671 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights in May 2013 after being seduced by their website. The apartments themselves were quite nice and spacious. No complaints there at all. For me it was the overall experience that was All a little disappointing and sterile. After reading their website I had imagined beautiful vistas, however my 3rd floor allocation put paid to that. Checking was not at all personalised and was almost clinical. And while the rooms were nice, they lacked any great character. I think I'd look elsewhere next time I am in Brisbane.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ozvpm_andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSABrisOnAdelai... B, Manager at Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear ozvpm_andy,

Thank you for taking your time to write us your review. We are glad to hear that you found the apartment nice and spacious but it is certainly very disappointing to hear that we did not meet your expectations in regards to your resent stay with us. We certainly try our best to meet all our guest's requests where we can and unfortunately, a high floor requests/river view requests are the most popular. We are sorry to hear that you will look else where next time you are in Brisbane but if you do change your mind, please let us know your requests and we hope to met all your expectations next time visit us. Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards,

David M.
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.9 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
0.8 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 157 in Brisbane
1,045 reviews
0.8 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 157 in Brisbane
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#21 of 157 in Brisbane
2,304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#7 of 157 in Brisbane
610 reviews
0.4 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane

Property: Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
Address: 485 Adelaide Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fly into Brisbane and make your way to meet our team of highly trained, friendly guest services staff, who work around the clock for your ultimate convenience. Be invited into our beautiful establishment and marvel at the modern and chic interior design of our lobby. Have our wonderful porters give you a hand as you ascend 234 metres up our impressive building. Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane offers stylish design, the best in modern appliances and the finest furnishings to ensure your stay is in ultimate comfort. Feel the warmth known to the Sunshine State as natural light fills the suite from the floor to ceiling windows. Guests can guarantee themselves a stunning high floor suite, parading the captivating views over Brisbane River and the iconic Storey Bridge by choosing our luxury 2 and 3 bedroom Altitude Suites. Our guests will love freshening up with a range of stylish designer bathroom amenities and you can enjoy the convenience of cooking up a storm in your beautiful gourmet kitchen, featured in all 228 suites we have. Experience luxury as our housekeeping perform their meticulous servicing routine daily, in efforts to maximise your comfort. If keeping up your fitness whilst away is a must, then enjoy our state of the art 24 hour gymnasium, plunge into our heated indoor lap pool or relax and unwind in our large spa and sauna. Browse the web, stay on top of your emails or stay connected to your friends and family using our complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi network, accessible throughout the entire building. Regarded as the third largest city in Australia and the perfect base for trips to explore the southeast of Queensland, Brisbane flaunts a positive, youthful and vibrant atmosphere. This new world-city constitutes of year-round warm climate, spectacular scenery and friendly locals while also consisting of a global and commercial flair. Ideally located in the city's east and bordering Fortitude Valley, Mertion Suites Adelaide Street is situated only moments away from the Brisbane River boardwalk, where guests can grab the camera and make a relaxing way down to discover the city. Winding its way through Eagle Street, Queen Street, Elizabeth Street and onto the botanic Gardens, you won't be able to help snapping away at the gorgeous city surrounds. A short 15 minute leisurely walk will lead you to the city's major shopping district known as Queen Street Mall, located in the heart of the city and hosting six large shopping centres, all of which offer an exciting mix of specialty retail stores, department stores, supermarkets and cinemas. Entertainment lovers will find comfort with our convenient geographical positioning only moments away from the Treasury Casino, Suncorp Stadium, RNA Showgrounds as well. Take a scenic river cruise down to South Bank, where travellers will find a hive of cultural diversity. Featuring lush parklands and Australia's only inner-city, man-made beach, visitors of Brisbane city will find South Bank as the perfect place for a dip, a relaxing lounge in the sun or for the buzz of a vibrant nightlife dining scene. When you are considering better quality and better value, Meriton Suites Adelaide Street will be the perfect accommodation choice for a better luxury living experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing