We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with friendly service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quest South Brisbane
Ranked #115 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Good location, modern apartments, friendly staff and next to everything

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelaround12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2011

This is a new hotel, hence brand new. The staff were fantastic i.e. Tatiano (Brazilian chap) and Mary.
I had a great room with a wrap around balcony. Everything in the room was fantastic.
The only downfall is if you dont have a car, there is not many nice places to eat around there. If you have a car, then West End is pretty close.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mx x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

The hotel / appartment hotel is very new (2011) and therefore with a modern, clean and functional impression. The rooms are quite spacious and have a lot of light. My bathroom did not have windows and very artificial light. There is space to work and all basic equipment is quite good (TV, iPod dock radio, small kitchen).
The rooftop area is very nice, so is the opportunity to use the (small) pool (only 1m deep) and the gym (~10-15sqm).
The hotel is located right next to the Mater hospital and has good footwalk access to Brisbane's South Bank for bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATW06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Girls on the front desk were really helpful with suggestions on what to see and do, complete with maps. Rooftop view is spectacular especially at night. Too bad you couldn't take a glass of wine up there to watch the sunset. Rooms well appointed, only complaint, if you don't hold the door it slams shut, very noisy when other guest come home late. All in all, a great deal with their opening special prices.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lee1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The hotel is brand new and the rooms well equipped and clean. I don't understand why they have to skimp on the quality of the towels in the room which are small and thin. Not up to the standard of the rest of the fittings. We were also surprised to find a charge for parking on our bill at checking out as we had not been informed of this previously and could see no signs stating that there was a charge for parking. We also spotted a small sign at the front desk a couple of days after we checked in stating that they charged extra for the use of 'any' credit card. A hefty charge of 2% for Mastercard and Visa and 3% for Amex and Diners. (It could be more I can't quite remember). When we queried this charge we were told that 'all hotels do this'. We travel both for business and pleasure quite a bit and have never been charged extra for Visa or Mastercard. I cannot see business travellers especially agreeing to this. We went and got cash to pay for the bill but still found we had been charged on our credit card (Amex) and the extra charges added. They finally credited our card and we paid cash, and they removed the charges for the car park. It would have been nice if the pool had been heated as it was too cold to use. It was also worrying that the entry/exit arrows to the hotel entrance from the street are on opposite sides to the normal driving side in Australia. The arrows are invisible as one turns into the hotel so cars are turning in on the right, the same side as the cars from inside the car park are coming out. It is an accident waiting to happen even though the manage said it was council approved and they are insured. What about the poor people who may get hurt? No worries about them. Perhaps making the arrows larger so they can be seen from the street and visible at night?

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at Sudima Suites. In particular, the lap pool was a perfect way to end a long day on the road. The views from the rooftop are pretty spectacular, it'd be great fun up there with a few friends. Being very new, the equipment and fit out are of a high standard. I'd like more utensils / cooking gear in the kitchen. While the gym isn't large it has good quality equipment and given the size of the property is unlikely to be occupied too much. I think this was very good value for money in the Brisbane city area.

Room Tip: the higher the floor the better the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

The apartments were furnished beautifully and set out really well. The views were spectacular and we had all we needed and more.

I think perhaps you were a bit premature in opening. When we arrived (2 hours after check in) they were taking pictures of our room and wouldn't let us in yet. That was a little bit rude.

While we were out one day they had a tradie in to fix something and they didn't supervise this tradie, even with all our belongings in the room. How do we know? They left the doorS wedged open when they left. That's right, all our stuff inside and the doors wide open. When we called reception, they weren't even apologetic.

There were a few other things, breaking and not working, but that is to be expected. Most staff were pretty good. It is a great location and nicely furnished. Just a few things that were really bad. Thank goodness it was work paying for it otherwise, I may have been a bit more upset.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Diana
0 mi away
Central Hillcrest Apartments
Central Hillcrest Apartments
#105 of 169 in Brisbane
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#17 of 169 in Brisbane
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wellington Apartment Hotel
Wellington Apartment Hotel
#74 of 169 in Brisbane
206 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mantra on Mary
Mantra on Mary
#70 of 169 in Brisbane
1,324 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
#35 of 169 in Brisbane
2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest South Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest South Brisbane

Address: 46 - 50 Water Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia (Formerly The Sebel South Brisbane)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: £68 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quest South Brisbane 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest South Brisbane serviced apartments style hotel rooms offer a relaxed and comfortable South Brisbane accommodation experience perfect for short or long stays. Located just minutes from the Brisbane city centre, Quest South Brisbane is within close proximity to South Bank, The Gabba, Kangaroo Point, Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre, Mater Hospital, QPAC and GOMA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quest South Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing