We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean,Quiet,courteous,roomy,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sebel South Brisbane
Ranked #103 of 160 Hotels in Brisbane
bunbury
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clean,Quiet,courteous,roomy,”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed in deluxe 1 bedroom apartment.No minus points at all.Staff very courteous and attentive. Nice 10 min walk to Southbank air con good, comfortable, roomy,large balcony with ok view,microwave, dishwasher very quiet. would recommend this to anyone and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyBunbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    114
    60
    28
    13
See reviews for
37
93
30
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Emerald, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This is the second time I stayed there with my seven year old son and both times were excellent. Rooms are clean and very stylish. Will definitely stay there again in April when we have to be in Brisbane again. Close to South Bank and Mater Children's Hospital. Not to far from South Bank station, about a 10min walk. Can definitely recommend them. Excellent and friendly service at reception.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anrie1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I stayed here with my boyfriend for 4 nights. We used this hotel as a base to explore Brisbane and the Gold Coast. It's just off the Pacific Highway and is very easy to get to. It's just a short walk away from the Southbank shops and restaurants. We had a deluxe one bedroom suite on the corner and the balcony was huge! The room was very clean and comfortable. There is a Sky Deck on the 12th floor and it was beautiful to look out into the city at night. There are views across the river to the city and of the bridges. There is a 'lap pool' on the 3rd floor which we used to cool down in. It's almost like a residential block and it's a very quiet area. We are going to stay here again pretty soon when we travel up the coast again to Cairns.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stacelm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This is one of those places that make your stay easy. Close walking distance to Southbank and a small drive to the Gabba (not sure about walking that one). Kitchen area is very well equipped. Gym has basic cardio equipment and since its rather small you'd probably want to be the only one in there. The lap pool is about 10 metres so not practical to do laps and yet it's lack of width meant I wasn't tempted to use it to cool down either. Separate air con in bedroom and main room. View on the top of the building is good but our room's view was just a carpark. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall an enjoyable stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jodien777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed again end of Nov & early Dec, again we had a pleasant stay, being so close to mater private hospital is a bonus, as I was a patient and husband stayed at Sudima, we need to extend our stay (as I was in hospital longer than expected) and this was not a problem. Being able to park in secure parking is another bonus, it does cost $10 per day, but hospital car park is a lot more.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klagenfurt, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Very spacious room. Very clean. washingmashine in room. Good location. Only thing noisy was helipad on hospital roof next door. 2 or 3 landings/starts during the night. Only stayed for one night. parking costs extra. ($ 10)

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank GSt_Austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 455 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The Sudima Suites is more like renting an apartment for a short stay than being in a true hotel. That said, it is still a very good choice for exploring Brisbane. To start with, it has a really nice, quiet location near the trendy South Bank area, which is full of shops and restaurants. You are also next to the Mater Hill bus stop for easy transportation into the city center. The Brisbane Botanic Gardens are also an easy walk across the river. Finally, you can easily get to/from the hotel using the Con-x-ion airport shuttle, which stops here. The room was huge, with plenty of space to spread out. There was a dining table and work desk, as well as a full kitchen with stove, microwave, refrigerator and small dishwasher. The best thing was the in-room clothes washer/dryer which even had the laundry soap provided! There is free wi-fi as well as a coin operated internet kiosk with printing capability. There is also a small lap pool on the 3rd floor, which you can use free of charge. The bed, bedding and pillows were all super comfortable. I stayed here for over a full week and I had no complaints during the whole time. A couple of things to note, though: (1) They do require a $150 deposit, either cash or on a credit card, which is to protect the other people that actually live here, (2) they do not make up the room, unless you pay an extra maid service fee, and (3) the front desk is not staffed 24 hours like a true hotel. I fully understand the first one, based on the type of lodging that this is. The second one is not too bad, unless you are really messy or really need your bed made up every single day. The third is also not a real problem. Overall, I would easily stay here again without hesitation.

Pros: everything (location, room, bed, amenities)

Cons: deposit is bit hefty

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EisBaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.0 mi away
Central Hillcrest Apartments
Central Hillcrest Apartments
#101 of 160 in Brisbane
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#19 of 160 in Brisbane
517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Diana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#108 of 160 in Brisbane
44 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
1.6 mi away
Oakwood Hotel & Apartments Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel South Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel South Brisbane

Property: The Sebel South Brisbane
Address: 46-50 Water St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia (Formerly Sudima Suites)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 160 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel South Brisbane 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel South Brisbane , Sudima Suites provides 4.5 star (SR), fully self-contained luxury suites in South Brisbane - a disarming suburb characterized by its quaint old buildings, chic wine bars, and cosmopolitan cafes. Its convenient location makes it ideal for business travelers and holiday makers, enabling you to revel in the best of what Brisbane has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Sebel South Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing