We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alright stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Base Brisbane Embassy
Ranked #105 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Alright stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Was nice enough room, had little balcony. Extended stay however reception and cleaners struggled to understand this and therefore disturbed us every day. But very apologetic and gave us a night foc to say sorry! Would stay again if stayed in Brisbane again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chelle323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    39
    29
    22
    20
See reviews for
1
33
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely little place in the heart of Brisbane lots of information at the desk to help you find something to do and price is reasonable beds were good rooms well sized probably the best hostel for me in Brisbane

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busto Arsizio, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Good things first: the location is great, near the train station, the pedestrian area with supermarkets, shops and restaurants close by. With a short walk you can reach almost every interesting place of Brisbane city such as the Arbour, Roma Street Parkland etc. And, finally, the staff was very friendly and helpful.
The room was small and not very well kept. As a matter of fact the entire building seemed poorly managed. The bathrooms were a bit dirty with spots of rust and mold here and there.
Probably, if you're looking for an easy and cheap accommodation it is the right place especially if you're a backpacker. We do not suggest it for couples or romantic escapes.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrisSte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed here in a couple of years ago for a few weeks in an 8 bed dorm. It's reasonably priced and in a good location for the temp work I was doing at the time.
The city centre and man made beach is walkable from here and there are many other conveniences nearby (as you expect in the city).
It was clean and the beds were comfortable.
I would stay here again if I was on the same sort of trip, i.e. backpacking

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJ_LJ2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

I stayed in an eight person room so that might influence part of why I did not enjoy this hostel too much. It was a decent enough hostel but I've stayed in better. You had to pay for wifi. They had a nice TV room but it was always crowded. However, they did have a luggage room for you to put your stuff in if you arrive before your check in time which was very nice. It is also in a very nice location, in walking distance of anything you'd like. Only about a 5 min. taxi ride from the Greyhound bus station.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieCrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

i think hostel in brisbane don't have a very good reputation.

We stayed one night there.

This one is centrally located but very noisy.
Also people are don't show a lot of respect as our food, even though labelled, was stolen in the fridge.

Showers were not very clean and close for cleaning in the morning!! (i think around 7 or 8: when you wake up...)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helene-BZH-OZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Me & the Mrs arrived in Australia after 8 weeks backpacking in Asia & booked the embassy because the reviews were ok & said it was a nice, chilled out hostel.... It's not, it's just plain crap!
There's a couple of nice & friendly guys on reception but that's where the good bits stop.
The rooms are grubby with dull grey brickwork, kind of how you'd imagine a prison cell to be.
I'm almost certain you don't get fresh sheets.
The showers & toilet get cleaned daily but the floor is grim!
The Ac wasn't working & the first night I told reception, the guy basically said tough. Although the second night a different guy was really helpful & gave me the remote (that was stored under the reception desk)
There's no bar or chillout area except the kitchen or sweaty, horrible tv room.
If your new to Brisbane or Australia there's no helpful info like you'd expect.
Just not a very good hostel.
We moved to one over in the valley that was a bit more expensive bit much better value!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominic_B_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brisbane hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#19 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#15 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brisbane City YHA
Brisbane City YHA
#7 of 127 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Base Brisbane Uptown
Base Brisbane Uptown
#66 of 127 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.8 mi away
BUNK Brisbane
BUNK Brisbane
#27 of 127 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brisbane Backpackers Resort
Brisbane Backpackers Resort
#103 of 127 in Brisbane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Brisbane Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Brisbane Embassy

Property: Base Brisbane Embassy
Address: 214 Elizabeth St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Brisbane Embassy 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Base Brisbane Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing