We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it's alright” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Base Brisbane Embassy

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Base Brisbane Embassy
Ranked #107 of 133 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“it's alright”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were arriving late to the hostel and was told by staff there would be no one at Base Embassy to check us in, so we would have to go to Base Central to check in, then return to Base Embassy. So we dragged all our luggage to Base Central only to be told that there was someone at Base Embassy to check us in. The room was an ok size. Nothing special. Rooms were very stuffy. The cleaners used to congregate outside my room every morning for a natter and would wake us all up. Nice big kitchen and plenty of space to sit and eat. Big tv room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirstylou37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    39
    29
    19
    20
See reviews for
1
33
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

I've only been travelling for 6 weeks and this is by far the worst hostel I've stayed in. I should have known that this wasn't going to be a nice place because the guy we spoke to when booking was rude and unhelpful. As soon as you walk in the smell of sweat and stale ale hits you, the guy on reception could not have cared less when checking in...no service with a smile here. The rooms was cramped and dirty, with no curtains so whether you like it or not you're waking up at sunrise. Thankfully I only stayed a few nights but if I ever come back to Brisbane this will be avoided at all costs.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ste314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

As soon as you left reception this place stank. There was a foul smell of stale smoke, sweat and booze throughout the hostel. We've been travelling 7 months and have been through India and south east Asia. This was the worst place we've been to.

The kitchen was dirty and smelly, as were the bathrooms. Both had rubbish on the floor on most occasions we went in them.

I don't blame this on the staff, who seemed to be cleaning regularly, but something about this place makes the people that stay there want to live like inconsiderate animals. We woke up to fag butts in the corridor every day and bathrooms had wet toilet paper, toothpaste everywhere and cotton buds on the floor minutes after they were cleaned.

We were also disappointed that after being told the hostel had 'loads of room' and that we could check to our room early, we left our bags for an hour only to be told we had to wait until 3.

The good thing about this hotel was it's location - easy walking to the south bank and botanic gardens...but then so are most places so I'd still avoid base even if it means paying a bit extra.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dandcruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

So, if you're considering a stay in a hostel and you think Base Central a few blocks away is your best option, think again.

Base Embassy is better...a little better in most regards.

Value for money, location, bathroom facilities, atmosphere.

You're not required to have as thick of a skin here either, as the security and the noise after hours isn't really an issue here.

Just remember, you do get what you pay for, and around $30 a night for a shared dorm room gets you exactly a bed, a roof over your head, and a door.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We spend two nights in this hostel. Quite and clean, good position and nice staff.
We arrived before check in time and they gave us a key to use luggage room, kitchen and bathrooms.
Also they organize some activities like movie night and city tour..and have elevator!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Diletta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at base in sydney which I loved, and I was expecting a similar hostel here.

Nope.

For starters there is no smoking area, you have to venture downstairs and go onto the street, which isnt pleasant. Also the whole place smells very damp and sweaty, especially the movie room and the rooms connecting to the movie room.

The TV in the movie room was good, but didn't really work. I tried to play a DVD and it refused to, and batteries were missing from a couple of remotes.

The location is good, quiet but near busy bars. Also the reception were a really lovely bunch.

I was also happy with the air con in the rooms and they were a decent size.

Bathrooms weren't great though. Not very clean, and a few of the flushes were broken.

Overall it was decent, but I won't go back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank MeganInAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

I thought this would be a upgrade after staying in base central. Wrong! Paid extra and wasn't happy.
First night slept in a sauna as aircon wasn't working - no windows either. Got moved into 6 share ( not refunded difference) with drunken long termer thirty something guy. Then got moved into 4 bed with windows but no curtains! Flimsy aircon. Different floors smelt bad and cleaners come in every morning wake you up cleaning even when it was just me ! Fridge in kitchen smelt bad and not cold. People smoked where they shouldnt Not going back

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WaAussietraveller85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.9 mi away
Brisbane City YHA
Brisbane City YHA
#10 of 133 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brisbane Backpackers Resort
Brisbane Backpackers Resort
#103 of 133 in Brisbane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.8 mi away
BUNK Brisbane
BUNK Brisbane
#27 of 133 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Base Brisbane Uptown
Base Brisbane Uptown
#71 of 133 in Brisbane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel
0.9 mi away
Banana Bender Backpackers
Banana Bender Backpackers
#60 of 133 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Brisbane Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Brisbane Embassy

Property: Base Brisbane Embassy
Address: 214 Elizabeth St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 133 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Brisbane Embassy 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Base Brisbane Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing