We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusting and rude service, appalling food.”
Review of Shangrila

Shangrila
Ranked #3,261 of 4,314 Restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Description: (07) 3344 7166
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disgusting and rude service, appalling food.”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Attended a birthday here last night for 50++ Service was terrible. Food was a disgrace they were cold and bland. Pepper beef was so sweet and yucky. Both waiters and Manager were rude.
Asked for 10 forks for kids table and was told we only have a few, Can't believe it.. Bowls and plates were greasy, can't believe they are even allowed to pass food and safety.
Never coming back and don't recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TammyHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    7
    3
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Shangrila restaurant market square Sunnybank”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

We always choose this restaurant for Yum Cha as food is always good if you know what you are ordering, not overcrowded, no long queues as long as you book in advance then there us no problem.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Shangrila surprise”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We had a family Birthday celebration here so we had the banquet menu consisting of 8 courses. The food was good, however there was a mix up with the dishes brought out, the fifth dish being not on our menu. There was a long wait between the last two dishes.

The staff were busy and were trying to be helpful, but at times it was difficult to get the attention of the staff.

The food was good, I especially liked the spicy coral trout dish. However it was traumatic leaving the restaurant and seeing the sad-looking fish in the tanks. I think they knew their fate.....

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blinkybillWhistler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“the food is as horrible as the service”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

we decided to venture into sunnybank today for my husbands yum cha craving, we must have tried yum cha around the world at more than 50 restaurants, we must say this would be one of the most disappointing one! not only the service is not up to standard (the serving staff had no idea what "mustard" is in both chinese and english languages), the food is not well flavoured and more greasy than normal....and we walked out with a pretty expensive bill with the amount of food we ordered!
definitely not a restaurant worth visiting, although the food court next door looks more interesting and we might give that a try next time instead!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mmmm1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unpleasant seafood dinner”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Yum Cha at Shangrila has always been good, but we had a very unpleasant dinner experience today. Even though they showed us a " fresh" crab initially, the crab which was served to us smelt of ammonia and was slimy indicative of a dead crab. The fish served was definitely not fresh. The fish in the tank had parasites commonly seen in overcrowding/dirty tanks. We don't recommend eating seafood at this restaurant.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shangrila also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Shangrila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing