We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Service”

Port Office Dining Room
Ranked #28 of 7,203 Restaurants in Brisbane
Price range: £8 - £26
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Gastropub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: The recently refurbished Port Office Dining Room is open for lunch and dinner, Monday to Saturday from 11.30am till late. The menu showcases a refreshing modern take on Australian gastro-pub food featuring fresh seasonal produce supporting Australian farmers with subtle European and Scottish influences.
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

This restaurant provides great food and service. I had a sirloin and fries and my partner salmon. Both meals were excellent and the banana sponge was very very good. This is the best meal that we have had in Australia so far and I feel it was reasonable priced.
I should also mention our waiter, from Columbia as it happens, who was attentive, considerate but not intrusive.
My recommendation it to forget the overpriced riverside restaurants and get along to Fix.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Parky1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul J, General Manager at Port Office Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2016

Hello Parky1948

Thank you for your fantastic review of our Fix Restaurant. We most certainly strive to provide an attentive, professional and enjoyable experience without being intrusive. So I'm very glad to hear this was your exact experience!

Thank you for highlighting your great experience with our award winning cuisine.

We do hope you have time to return whilst you are still in Australia to sample our ever-changing menu.

Regards

Paul Janssen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 217 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

Recently used the private dining room for a important team dinner. Staff were great with our drinks always full. Set menu food was fantastic and the entire group left happy. Wine list was also good.

Downside was that the private room was split in two and wasn't entirely private but we managed fine. Staff were continually worried about achieving the minimum spend which was never going to be a problem with 20 people.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank jgreen424
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul J, General Manager at Port Office Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Hi jgreen424

Thank you so much to you and your team for recently dining with us!

I'll have to check in what happened with the questioning of the minimum spend. There may have just been a miscommunication relaying that to you as we pre-advise on the minimum spend so our staff aren't advised to enforce this.

Extremely happy to hear you were able to entertain your team in the setting of our gorgeous private dining room and that your food and beverage lived up to our standards.

Hopefully we'll have the chance to welcome you back on a personal visit as well.

Regards

Paul Janssen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

Have had many dinners here. Mostly in the private wine dining room. Food has always been good. If you have a group function for up to 20, make sure you book the private room. Service is great, food, wine, all good.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank JJ1Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul J, General Manager at Port Office Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Hello JJ1Brisbane

Welcome back once again!

Very much appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback on one of your many visits.

Our private dining room is certainly popular with corporate and private events as well as special occasions.

Look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Regards

Paul Janssen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

Great. Chance visit as recommended by trip advisor.. Wow. Sensational. Would definitely recommend. Oysters and the lamb absolute with winners.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank yamba_poppy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Initially, the attraction to the Fix Restaurant was a $1 freshly shucked oyster special for the whole month of July. What a pleasant surprise to find an amazing menu of fresh Hervey Bay scallops, Angus beef like nothing I've tasted and desserts only found in hatted restaurants. To top this off, a sensational list of unique Australian and overseas wines, not available at your local bottle shop. The staff on duty that Saturday night were all outstanding. Overall, a pleasant experience of fresh ingredients cooked to perfection and service with ease. An amazing night of flavours.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SerenityFound57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul J, General Manager at Port Office Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Hello SerenityFound57

Well, thank you!

What a pleasant surprise to the end of the day reading what is such a glowing review of Fix Restaurant.

Our $1 freshly shucked oyster special has surely been a hit with Brisbane diners! Unfortunately it is over but that's not to say that it won't potentially come back. So do follow us via our social media pages @portofficehotel to keep an eye out :)

Over the years we have consistently received awards in particular, acknowledgement for our steak and seafood - so thank you for highlighting this in your post.

So happy to hear that we were able to contribute to what was a great Saturday night out and look forward to welcoming back to you again!

Regards

Paul Janssen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Port Office Dining Room also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Port Office Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.