We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really good place to stay, but maybe not now”
Review of South Central

South Central
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
South Central
Ranked #73 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A really good place to stay, but maybe not now”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

The rooms were great - spacious and clean. The location was perfect - just down the road from the convention centre where my conference was being held. The balcony was a great place to have an evening drink, and the staff were helpful and polite. The construction workers digging the massive hole in the ground on one side of the building, however, were not as polite, and didn't think anything of starting their jackhammers very early each morning.

Room Tip: Definitely consider staying at this apartment building, especially if you want to find somewhere clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodJohnButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    18
    7
    1
    6
See reviews for
18
4
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I recently stayed at South Central Apartments and was very impressed with the facilities, location and staff. The pictures look exactly like the real thing which is amazing for 4 years old. The reception girl was lovely and helpful. Always smiling. And the apartment had everything you could want which made it very comfortable and liveable. The price was quite reasonable for what you got and I can't wait to stay again!

Room Tip: All rooms are self-contained so it wouldn't matter which apartment you were in - just depending...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamLee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We booked our apartment as part of a package for a conference - well in advance of the date. All of our dealings with the management were professional and courteous. The arrangements for arrival on a weekend were clearly communicated and worked exactly as described. The apartment was spotless and well equipped - the two double bedrooms were comfortably furnished. We got a bonus view of the Brisbane Riverfire fireworks over the city skyline. Recommend this one!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauchope, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

This was a great choice for attending the Convention Centre in South Brisbane. It is also close to the amenities of Brisbane's South Bank - entertainment, restaurants. We didn't have to get a rental car as everything we needed was within walking distance, including the CBD of Brisbane. Try the restaurants at West End too! The unit was very well appointed, clean, full kitchen and laundry facilities and had views of the City. There's a swimming pool and BBQ area on the top floor too.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The staff were so rude and unhelpful. The rooms were dirty and the location was very noisy. The photos on their were website were very deceptive. Disappointing stay. It was overpriced and when I questioned these issues with the staff they were dismissive as if it was my fault. The railway line was also very close.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capitol2013, Manager at South Central, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Apologies for your disappointing stay! We still hope that you choose to stay again some time down the track. Of course it depends which room you stay in when it comes to what the photos look like. Photos will be updated as regularly as possible to ensure the actuality of our apartments photos. I'm sure our new staff will be more polite and see to any needs or issues you have during your next stay.

Thank you,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brisbane hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Very happy with our recent stay at South Central Apartments. Due to circumstances beyond our control we stayed in both a 2 bedroom and a 1 bedroom apartment during our 5 day stay. The apartments were very clean, modern and well appointed. Both had balconies. Nearby railway line was only an issue if balcony door was open. Nice view of Brisbane otherwise. Secure off street parking. Reception staff friendly and obliging. Rooftop BBQ facilities, pool and surrounds were also clean and a pleasure to use.Very close to the West End restaurants and bars. Would definitely stay there again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.0 mi away
The Capitol Apartments
The Capitol Apartments
#22 of 128 in Brisbane
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Morgan Suites
Morgan Suites
#12 of 128 in Brisbane
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fleet Lane Apartments
Fleet Lane Apartments
#39 of 128 in Brisbane
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parkview Apartments
Parkview Apartments
#35 of 128 in Brisbane
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
West End Central Apartments
West End Central Apartments
#27 of 128 in Brisbane
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel South Bank
Riverside Hotel South Bank
#14 of 128 in Brisbane
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Central

Property: South Central
Address: 43 Peel St | Cnr Merivale and Peel St, South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — South Central 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 and 2 bedroom serviced apartments are available for short term stays.Located within one kilometre south of the CBD, the inner south’s proximity has made the area ideal for young professionals attracted to the vibrance of inner city living. South Brisbane is fast becoming a cultural pulse in this thriving city and South Central Apartments & Accommodation is a modern environment appropriately designed to live, work and play in this unique part of South East Queensland.Southbank provides a diverse range of activities including Brisbane’s best cycling tracks and walkways, IMAX movie theatre and a diverse range of dining venues which all provide an enviable lifestyle. Reception Hours 9am-5pm Monday to Friday. Altered Reception Hours on Public Holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your South Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing