We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traders Brizzy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
Ranked #37 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Everything was great! The rooms were very nice, clean, and everything worked. The Iron and hair dryer were supplied. I was a little worried about being so close to the train station but I couldn't even hear them!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Clara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

941 - 947 of 1,120 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

The location next to the Roma Street station is very good if you use the airport train. The staff were welcoming and efficient. The room was a good size with good facilities and pleasant decor. A quick walk down George St gets you to Queen st mall.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank jwatkins0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Great hotel in a great location - staff very friendly and ready to help - made our stay very happy and memorable - it is only 5 minutes walk into the CBD of Brisbane, immediately next to a major train station and just made moving around so easy



  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We did a mystery hotel and Traders was selected, right next to Roma St Railway Station, the train noise wasn't the problem,there was a flapping/banging noise which we don't really know where it was coming from, outside on the building maybe or above on the next floor level?? It didn't stop all night, next morning when checking out the staff ask if it was a clicking noise, we thought so you do know there is a noise there and not bothered to fix it!! Room 1413, the room was clean and nice, great location if traveling on train and walking distance to city but maybe wear ear plugs!! Not!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I stayed at Traders Hotel for a week in early Sept. I shall mention the pros and cons of this hotel.

Pros: Although the exterior look old and the lift buttons look like they came from the 80s, the room was all right, reasonably clean and spacious. As my room was facing the supreme court side, I did not experience the train noises which other travelers complained about. Check-in and check-out was fuss free. Breakfast was acceptable, though the buffet choices were quite limited.

Cons: I was quite disappointed that the hotel was unable to provide me with bathroom slippers. On the first night, I called housekeeping for a pair and was told that they ran out of bathroom slippers and I had to wait till tomorrow for them to replenish. I got the same answer on the second and third nights. I gave up asking for the remaining period of stay. The hotel also do not give complimentary bottles of water like most hotels do. In fact, I have not come across a hotel which doe not provide complimentary bottles of water. On my last negative point, I was given a box of used crumpled box of tissue when I asked for one.

If management could brush up on those negative points, it would certainly be a good hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank Geisha_Blossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Could not fault any part of our stay. Room (we had a deluxe king room) was exceptional. Bed was the best I have ever had. We had everything expected in a Hotel Room. View from the 16th Floor was great. Food at MJ's was excellent. The service could not be faulted and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: We asked for a King Bed and was given this room. Great view to King George Square and the Roma Stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Shirley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

fantastic room with a great big comfortable bed. The only downside is that the room we stayed in overlooked Roma Street train lines and was quite noisy.
Ask for a room facing the Brisbane river and the stay will be awesome :)

Room Tip: We asked for a room up high and were put on the 17th floor which was great although the outlook was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Leesl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#60 of 169 in Brisbane
1,599 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 169 in Brisbane
1,149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.7 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#30 of 169 in Brisbane
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La

Address: 159 Roma St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Traders Hotel, Brisbane)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#19 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#24 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: £76 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jen Brisbane, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts' first Hotel Jen in Australia, is located on Roma Street, ideally located close to the Central Business District, Queen Street Mall, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane Convention Centre and South Bank precinct, the cultural and entertainment hub of Brisbane. Easy connectivity to greater Brisbane and beyond is right on my doorstep, with Hotel Jen Brisbane adjacent to the Brisbane Transit Centre, the hub for local and regional bus and train travel. My Deluxe rooms boast a spacious 34sqm with a bright and modern décor, configured with either a Queen, King or 2 Double beds. For those who are looking for a little more room, my Executive King rooms offer a very spacious 46sqm, configured with a King size bed. All of my rooms in Brisbane are furnished with comfy pillow top ensemble beds, a sitting area with either chairs or a day bed, high coffee table, and ample desk space for you to either plan your next day's adventure, or to put the finishing touches on that important work presentation. I know how important it is to stay connected, so I have included unlimited Wi-Fi internet access for all my guests while staying at any of my hotels. I have also embraced the coffee culture here and have provided Espresso pod machines in all of my rooms in Brisbane. Inspired by Asian street food and mixed with a modern Australian twist... Nest restaurant and bar, is the perfect place for lively conversations or laid back relaxation. I am also very proud to tell you that my very own 'Sky Garden' and hardworking Honey Bees, both located on-site, contribute some of the wonderful fresh ingredients you will find throughout Nest's tasty food and beverage offerings. At Nest Restaurant and Bar you'll find an à la carte menu to suit any craving. Open for breakfast with a sumptuous buffet, and à la carte lunch and dinner from 6:30am to 10pm daily with the exception of Sunday when Nest is open until 2pm. Nest is also the perfect spot for a refreshing drink at the bar or relaxing with friends over one of my famous coffees, cakes or light snacks. Mixologists have crafted signature cocktails and bevvies to be savoured and discovered. Nest Bar opens from 11am until late every day except Sunday, when we are open until 2pm. It's easy to explore Brisbane from Hotel Jen, with so much sitting within a short stroll from my doors, and everything else easily accessible by bus or train from the adjacent Brisbane Transit Centre. If you are a lover of gardens and nature then Roma Street Parklands and South Bank parklands are spectacular oasis' within the city, with each boasting 16 hectares of lush parklands, world-class eateries, with the later offering stunning river views and great events year round. If you prefer a little culture, then there is the Queensland Museum, GOMA (Gallery of Modern Art) and QPAC (Queensland Performing Arts Centre), along with the Brisbane Convention Centre (BCEC), which hosts numerous trade shows/expos, sporting and music events year round. Then there is Suncorp Stadium, only an easy 10 minute stroll away, which hosts some of the greatest sporting team's and music acts from just around the corner to around the world. Why not have a staycation with Jen when coming to support your team when they play our local Broncos, Reds, Roar, Firebirds, Lions, Heat or Bulls, or when our national Australia teams have a fixture. If shopping is what you love, then a 5 minute stroll to Queen Street Mall will provide you with global brand names and specialty shops from around the world, while those on the hunt for less main stream items, a two station trip on the train will bring you to Fortitude Valley, the hub of the Brisbane independent shopping scene. So whether it is business, a special event, family and friends, a holiday or staycation that brings you to Brisbane, I have got your comfort, cuisine and connectivity covered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing