We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In transit, use this hotel, the location is brilliant.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Jen Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Jen Brisbane
Ranked #33 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“In transit, use this hotel, the location is brilliant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed here on our way into Australia through Brisbane and again on our way out, two OAPs travelling with heavy luggage and it was a breeze, we landed at Brisbane Intl Airport, walked across to the Air Train Station, got on the train and 15 minutes later got off at the Transit Centre in Roma Street walked along the concourse and we were in the Hotel! Great central location for sightseeing, shopping etc, we didn't eat as we had been filling up on the flight over so have no idea about the food but looked into the restaurant and it looked nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank GeorgieSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    414
    116
    30
    29
See reviews for
155
341
88
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the hotel last weekend. The staff was very friendly and helpfull all the time, the hotel is right next to the station and walking distance from Queen St mall and South bank. We loved it. Thanks guys :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angiemr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradersBrisbane, General Manager at Hotel Jen Brisbane, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Hi Angiemr,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and I'm so happy you loved it. It would be great to have you and your husband stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Claire Huang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kawasaki, Japan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Only stayed here one night while I was in town for the Brisbane International. The main selling point was the location - I could head straight downstairs and easily catch a train to the airport, Yeerongpilly for the tennis, or even the Gold Coast.

Got a great deal for my room, and was very pleased with the city view, the size of the room, and the most comfortable hotel bed I've encountered in all of Australia! My only quibble would be the wi-fi, which was iffy in my room except in one particular patch by the door.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, particularly the young man at the front desk. Will definitely look into staying here during my next trip to Brisbane.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Fast check-in; clean room, plenty of hot water, comfortable bed - happy customer. Did not use room service. We were on the 12th floor. Right next to Roma Street transit centre and a short walk to the Queen St mall.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank LewSue280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Great Hotel looking excellent with the new refurb just completed. Very nice rooms , clean and very very comfy beds. Highly recommended central location easy access to rail and other transport. Will definetly stay again.

Room Tip: When we check we were concerned with the rail track and its close proximity to the hotel because of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Just a quick one night stay prior to the flight home. The hotel was spotless and the rooms provided all that was expected. We booked a weekend package direct with the hotel which included breakfast. This breakfast was fantastic the choices were endless.
The hotel is well placed for a walk along the river. I would defiantly stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Notdoneroming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

excellent comfortable stay in the middle of CBD, access to train connecting CBD with airport very helpful,rooms very clean and beds extremely comfortable. The breakfasts could be more versatile and offering more European choice rather than typical English style



Room Tip: great views prefer to stay on a other side of the railway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.2 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#56 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Urban Brisbane
Hotel Urban Brisbane
#40 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.3 mi away
Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Grand Chancellor Brisbane
#28 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Brisbane

Property: Hotel Jen Brisbane
Address: 159 Roma St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Traders Hotel, Brisbane)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#19 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#23 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Jen Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jen Brisbane, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts' first Hotel Jen in Australia, is located on Roma Street, ideally located close to the Central Business District, Queen Street Mall, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane Convention Centre and South Bank precinct, the cultural and entertainment hub of Brisbane. Easy connectivity to greater Brisbane and beyond is right on my doorstep, with Hotel Jen Brisbane adjacent to the Brisbane Transit Centre, the hub for local and regional bus and train travel. My Deluxe rooms boast a spacious 34sqm with a bright and modern décor, configured with either a Queen, King or 2 Double beds. For those who are looking for a little more room, my Executive King rooms offer a very spacious 46sqm, configured with a King size bed. All of my rooms in Brisbane are furnished with comfy pillow top ensemble beds, a sitting area with either chairs or a day bed, high coffee table, and ample desk space for you to either plan your next day's adventure, or to put the finishing touches on that important work presentation. I know how important it is to stay connected, so I have included unlimited Wi-Fi internet access for all my guests while staying at any of my hotels. I have also embraced the coffee culture here and have provided Espresso pod machines in all of my rooms in Brisbane. Inspired by Asian street food and mixed with a modern Australian twist... Nest restaurant and bar, is the perfect place for lively conversations or laid back relaxation. I am also very proud to tell you that my very own 'Sky Garden' and hardworking Honey Bees, both located on-site, contribute some of the wonderful fresh ingredients you will find throughout Nest's tasty food and beverage offerings. At Nest Restaurant and Bar you'll find an à la carte menu to suit any craving. Open for breakfast with a sumptuous buffet, and à la carte lunch and dinner from 6:30am to 10pm daily with the exception of Sunday when Nest is open until 2pm. Nest is also the perfect spot for a refreshing drink at the bar or relaxing with friends over one of my famous coffees, cakes or light snacks. Mixologists have crafted signature cocktails and bevvies to be savoured and discovered. Nest Bar opens from 11am until late every day except Sunday, when we are open until 2pm. It's easy to explore Brisbane from Hotel Jen, with so much sitting within a short stroll from my doors, and everything else easily accessible by bus or train from the adjacent Brisbane Transit Centre. If you are a lover of gardens and nature then Roma Street Parklands and South Bank parklands are spectacular oasis' within the city, with each boasting 16 hectares of lush parklands, world-class eateries, with the later offering stunning river views and great events year round. If you prefer a little culture, then there is the Queensland Museum, GOMA (Gallery of Modern Art) and QPAC (Queensland Performing Arts Centre), along with the Brisbane Convention Centre (BCEC), which hosts numerous trade shows/expos, sporting and music events year round. Then there is Suncorp Stadium, only an easy 10 minute stroll away, which hosts some of the greatest sporting team's and music acts from just around the corner to around the world. Why not have a staycation with Jen when coming to support your team when they play our local Broncos, Reds, Roar, Firebirds, Lions, Heat or Bulls, or when our national Australia teams have a fixture. If shopping is what you love, then a 5 minute stroll to Queen Street Mall will provide you with global brand names and specialty shops from around the world, while those on the hunt for less main stream items, a two station trip on the train will bring you to Fortitude Valley, the hub of the Brisbane independent shopping scene. So whether it is business, a special event, family and friends, a holiday or staycation that brings you to Brisbane, I have got your comfort, cuisine and connectivity covered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelbag so you can book your Hotel Jen Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing