We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for work or short stay, fantastic location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
Ranked #33 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great for work or short stay, fantastic location.”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I chose to stay here on a 4-day business trip as I am a Shangri-La Golden Circle member and I would earn points for the stay plus use previously accrued points towards food etc

The hotel really is in a great location, right above the Roma St transit centre - trains, buses etc
It is not the most luxurious of hotels and there is no pool, but if you are on business or a short weekender to head out to the nightlife, then it is a really good value option.

The rooms are pleasant and modern with all the usual amenities. Ask for a room on the upper floor river side - you get partial river views. The other side looks over the transit zone so unless you are a 'trainspotter' I wouldn't recommend it.

Room Tip: Upper floor, partial river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Centaur1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    430
    124
    31
    29
See reviews for
163
357
90
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We booked 2 days before hand and got a great deal. Convenient location in the CBD, great service from all the staff, fluked upon their "Christmas in July" drinks in the lobby. rooms nicely presented. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Exceeded my expectations, arrived late left early, comfortable beds, great shower head, super easy to access roma street trains, good food in the restaurant, close to the city with easy walking to shops, cant fault anything about the place, great job and will definitely stay again when requirimg over night easy access accommodation

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onesmallfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Got a a spacious corner room with a great bathroom, very reasonably priced and conveniently located right next to the station and easy walk into town. Note the entertainment book voucher is not able to be used for breakfast as it is not a la carte. Other than that we had a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank SarahLeah83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at the Traders hotel because we had a flight the next morning and it is 2 min to the station.
I recommend the hotel as the rooms are well equipped, the staff very helpful and you are 5 minutes from the City centre

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Clean and tidy. Plenty of room. Book in and out was fast and simple. Location was quite good for Roma Street Station and 10 minutes to Casino and Mall. Minor glitch with keycard rectified in a couple of minutes.
Very minor train noise from station; with no effect on a light sleeper. 1st stay and would use again. Booked as a wotif.com mystery booking.
Very Happy.

Room Tip: Late checkout was $20- Per extra Hour. Slightly steep, but OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Took me a while to get around to writing this short review… apologies…

Stayed here for annual client xmas function so very limited time in the hotel itself.

Location was convenient for Roma St Station but be aware you will get some train noise and if a light sleeper this may be an issue. No problem for me. It would also be a good choice if attending a sporting event at Suncorp too.

On arrival we had to walk past a number of people standing directly outside the hotel doors smoking. This was somewhat unpleasant and I am not sure if the hotel could do much about this but some did appear to be taxi drivers waiting for a fare from the hotel.

Check in itself though was faultless. We had arrived a little earlier than expected and the check in desk was able to organize some rooms so that we could drop our bags on a room and head out to our client function. This was done without us making a request but with the check in staff being proactive. Well done.

The room was clean and bed comfortable. No issues here.

Overall would I stay here again… yes I would. If visiting for business then check that your client location is in this part of town else it may be a little bit of a walk.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essexboy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#59 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.3 mi away
Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Grand Chancellor Brisbane
#28 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
0.2 mi away
Hotel Urban Brisbane
Hotel Urban Brisbane
#40 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La

Property: Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
Address: 159 Roma St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Traders Hotel, Brisbane)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#19 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#23 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La 4.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jen Brisbane, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts' first Hotel Jen in Australia, is located on Roma Street, ideally located close to the Central Business District, Queen Street Mall, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane Convention Centre and South Bank precinct, the cultural and entertainment hub of Brisbane. Easy connectivity to greater Brisbane and beyond is right on my doorstep, with Hotel Jen Brisbane adjacent to the Brisbane Transit Centre, the hub for local and regional bus and train travel. My Deluxe rooms boast a spacious 34sqm with a bright and modern décor, configured with either a Queen, King or 2 Double beds. For those who are looking for a little more room, my Executive King rooms offer a very spacious 46sqm, configured with a King size bed. All of my rooms in Brisbane are furnished with comfy pillow top ensemble beds, a sitting area with either chairs or a day bed, high coffee table, and ample desk space for you to either plan your next day's adventure, or to put the finishing touches on that important work presentation. I know how important it is to stay connected, so I have included unlimited Wi-Fi internet access for all my guests while staying at any of my hotels. I have also embraced the coffee culture here and have provided Espresso pod machines in all of my rooms in Brisbane. Inspired by Asian street food and mixed with a modern Australian twist... Nest restaurant and bar, is the perfect place for lively conversations or laid back relaxation. I am also very proud to tell you that my very own 'Sky Garden' and hardworking Honey Bees, both located on-site, contribute some of the wonderful fresh ingredients you will find throughout Nest's tasty food and beverage offerings. At Nest Restaurant and Bar you'll find an à la carte menu to suit any craving. Open for breakfast with a sumptuous buffet, and à la carte lunch and dinner from 6:30am to 10pm daily with the exception of Sunday when Nest is open until 2pm. Nest is also the perfect spot for a refreshing drink at the bar or relaxing with friends over one of my famous coffees, cakes or light snacks. Mixologists have crafted signature cocktails and bevvies to be savoured and discovered. Nest Bar opens from 11am until late every day except Sunday, when we are open until 2pm. It's easy to explore Brisbane from Hotel Jen, with so much sitting within a short stroll from my doors, and everything else easily accessible by bus or train from the adjacent Brisbane Transit Centre. If you are a lover of gardens and nature then Roma Street Parklands and South Bank parklands are spectacular oasis' within the city, with each boasting 16 hectares of lush parklands, world-class eateries, with the later offering stunning river views and great events year round. If you prefer a little culture, then there is the Queensland Museum, GOMA (Gallery of Modern Art) and QPAC (Queensland Performing Arts Centre), along with the Brisbane Convention Centre (BCEC), which hosts numerous trade shows/expos, sporting and music events year round. Then there is Suncorp Stadium, only an easy 10 minute stroll away, which hosts some of the greatest sporting team's and music acts from just around the corner to around the world. Why not have a staycation with Jen when coming to support your team when they play our local Broncos, Reds, Roar, Firebirds, Lions, Heat or Bulls, or when our national Australia teams have a fixture. If shopping is what you love, then a 5 minute stroll to Queen Street Mall will provide you with global brand names and specialty shops from around the world, while those on the hunt for less main stream items, a two station trip on the train will bring you to Fortitude Valley, the hub of the Brisbane independent shopping scene. So whether it is business, a special event, family and friends, a holiday or staycation that brings you to Brisbane, I have got your comfort, cuisine and connectivity covered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing