We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel BUT.”
Review of Hilton Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Brisbane
Ranked #21 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
NSW
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel BUT.”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We have stayed here a few times and always in an Executive club room and have enjoyed the stay, the last time was no different. Lounge staff are great, breakfast downstairs wonderful. The rooms are modern and spacious.
HOWEVER after returning home we recieved a letter front the front office manager saying that after we had checked out they had noticed that a bottle of white wine had been comsumed from the mini bar and that they have charged my credit card $25.38. Remember we were in a club room with access to the lounge with complimentary drinks, which in our case is beer and red wine. As you can imagine I was very annoyed as the manager was accusing us of drinking the wine and NOT declaring it, this is unacceptable. I rang the hotel asking for the front office manager who wrote the letter but got a young lady who simply said oh if you didn't drink it we will credit your account, that is not the point, how did this happen, why blame us, this is what I wanted an explanation for but all I got was, sorry we will credit your card. Is this a regular thing?? Some weeks after this I realise that I have not been credited so I guess I will have to go through the same thing again, is this acceptable behaviour from a 5 star hotel, I don't think so, so beware the mini bar!!

Room Tip: Club rooms are great, but can be expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coghlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHA3004, General Manager at Hilton Brisbane, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Coghlan

Thank you for taking the time to place a review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor.

It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay however I appreciate that it was marred by the clumsy handling of the mini bar charge. We do have a procedure for these instances but apologise for the fact it was not followed in your case.

Your feedback is appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Brisbane.

Kind regards

Martin Kendall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,135
    818
    256
    95
    33
See reviews for
277
760
167
847
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Heavy on your wallet but you'll definitely enjoy the stay. Reception and the room were very well put together and the bed is quite comfortable. Can hear a LITTLE bit of noise mid-morning/afternoon with checkins and the restaurant, but nothing that'd spoil your stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better if you prefer dead quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewB204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHA3004, General Manager at Hilton Brisbane, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Dear Andrew B

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on Trip Advisor.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit to the Hilton and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next stay in Brisbane.

Kind regards
Martin Kendall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeppoon, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

excellent location, even better value for money with a special offer package.
staff so nice and helpful.
breakfast delicious.

Room Tip: the executive rooms are well worth the extra as 'Happy Hour' more than caters for your eveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrunchieDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHA3004, General Manager at Hilton Brisbane, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Dear crunchydog

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on Trip Advisor.

It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of one of our newly refurbished Executive Rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back again when you next visit Brisbane.

Kind regards
Martin Kendall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Stayed here for a business trip - having stayed many times before, it's good to see the modernisation works have improved the place, especially the restaurant which was very good both for lunch and breakfast. Rooms are a really good size and have all the amenities you require and bathroom also well laid out (but with only a shower). Staff were friendly but not the most efficient at handling check in but that's only a minor point. Having stayed in the Hilton in Sydney the day before, I was surprised that my room rate in Sydney was so much cheaper than Brisbane so hunt around for a good deal on the rate as otherwise this is a good hotel to stay in when visiting Brisbane.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickworld08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHA3004, General Manager at Hilton Brisbane, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Dear nickworld08

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the changes after our refurbishment over the last couple of years.

We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels next bring you to Brisbane.

Kind regards
Martin Kendall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel many years ago, but it has been completely modernised and it is very pleasant. We took a special offer 50% off weekends so booked an executive club room. The room was very nicely furnished and the en-suite was well equiped and furnished (no bath). The twin beds were very comfortable and the air conditioning worked to our liking. The view we had was overlooking buildings of the city from 23rd floor. The club lounge was on the 25th floor and we enjoyed the drinks and snacks offered from very nice staff who ensured we enjoyed our stay. For breakfast we ate in the main restaurant because it offered a full buffet rather than the continental breakfast in the Club Lounge. This hotel is so convenient openning on to the cities mall. It is a short walk to the railway station for travel locally, to the Gold Coast and to the airport. We found the Translink GO Card made travel on buses, ferries and trains so easy in Brisbane and the Gold Coast. Seniors concession is available.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KandiManPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I believe this is a good choice of hotel in Brisbane for a few factors.

It is centrally located. I don't think you can find a hotel with better location in Brisbane. You walk down and it is the Queen street mall.

The rooms are very nicely furnished. They are very clean with modern design!

The hotel staff are friendly and helpful.

Prices are bit too steep I find (AUS 350 + a night for a basic room !).

The worst part is the internet service. The management team has got to look into this. The service is provided by Docomo/inter-touch and let me tell you that the server does not allow access to many sites and I am talking about common sites like hotmail, gmail etc. Many of us rely on internet access during our business trips and having great internet access in a hotel is not a luxury, IT IS A NECESSITY!! I spent almost an hour with technical support and it went no where. I was bascially told that hotmail and gmail sites are not secure enough for internet access at the hotel. What the ??????????????
This is a major flaw of the hotel.

the other flaw is the toilet. Basically, the toilet does NOT flush. They seriously need to investigate the plumbing system at the hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BforBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHA3004, General Manager at Hilton Brisbane, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear BforBoy

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your feedback in particular about our Internet Service. We have very few issues with our internet provider considering how much use it gets however we will address your comments with them to find out what happened in your case and ensure there is no repeat.

Kind regards
Martin Kendall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at the Hilton a few times for business and recently pleasure and we will never stay again, the customer service from the executive level and restaurant is fantastic but the service at check in and out and also room service is not anything I would talk about. We were lied too and deceived.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHA3004, General Manager at Hilton Brisbane, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Natalie H

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on Trip Advisor.

I was pleased to read your kind words about the team in our Restaurant and Executive Lounge. However I note your comments about our Front Desk. We would appreciate an opportunity to discuss this further if you would like to contact the hotel directly.

Kind regards

Martin Kendall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#27 of 159 in Brisbane
4,081 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#24 of 159 in Brisbane
2,611 reviews
0.2 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#9 of 159 in Brisbane
2,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
0.5 mi away
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
#23 of 159 in Brisbane
1,586 reviews
1.4 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 159 in Brisbane
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brisbane

Property: Hilton Brisbane
Address: Hilton Hotel 190 Elizabeth St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#15 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#15 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#21 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Brisbane icon, Hilton Brisbane is located in the heart of the city, on the ‘Paris-end’ of vibrant Queen Street Mall. The hotel features modern accommodation, award-winning dining, newly refurbished leisure facilities and 2500 sqm of purpose built space designed specifically for meetings and events. Choose from a selection of well-appointed guest, deluxe or executive rooms, or luxury suites which have been designed with each and every guest’s comfort in mind. Book an executive room or suite and enjoy access to the exclusive Executive Lounge which features continental breakfast, refreshments throughout the day and evening drinks and canapes for you to enjoy. Meet and do business in one of the 19 flexible meeting and conference rooms which have been coupled with leading-edge technology, ideal service and attention to detail. The hotel is also equipped with a Business Centre where all of your business needs can be met. Swim some laps in the newly refurbished outdoor heated swimming pool, play a game of tennis on the city’s only tennis court, overlooking the city or squeeze in a workout in the Fitness Centre. Go on a culinary journey in the hotel’s award-winning restaurant - Vintaged Bar + Grill - which showcases the best of Queensland’s world-class produce and features unique and modern dining spaces as well as a boutique wine list. Whether it’s for business or pleasure, Hilton Brisbane offers contemporary design that fulfills comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service. It is a must for both domestic and international guests and Brisbaneites alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Hilton International Brisbane
Brisbane Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing