We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected Marriott quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Ranked #22 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Expected Marriott quality”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The Marriott Brisbane was a comfortable stay for 4 nights in August. Although not in the heart of the city, I preferred the fact that it was a little quieter and away from the "hustle and bustle". Check-in was a little delayed for some reason, I didn't get into my room until a few hours after I should've - but the bar, it's friendly staff and it's great pizza's helped pass some time.

If you are looking to stay somewhere to really get the feel of central Brisbane, this may be a bit too far from the "action". But for me, after many trips to Brisbane it was nice to be slightly removed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    755
    523
    171
    54
    36
See reviews for
265
539
105
462
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This hotel is typically Brisbane - average in every way, whilst charging world class prices.

$25 for a tasteless, burnt burger, $19 for a movie. $50 FOR PARKING FOR ONE NIGHT!!!

The bed was comfy, the shower was nice. But the curtains do not block out enough light and there were no robes provided. The towels are also old and on the small side. Overall there is nothing wrong with the rooms, it was a uneventful stay.

If you're expecting something special or celebrating an occasion, you can probably do better. If you just need somewhere to sleep (and not park), this hotel will do just fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrySmiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Plow9 – It goes without saying that I am terribly sorry to learn that your stay was not in line with the type of experience we take such pride in delivering. In relation to our parking fee, I do wish to advise you and Trip Advisor readers that it is the least expensive of our competitors and a point of difference for our Hotel is that we also provide secure, valet parking. We also endeavour to be very transparent about the charge which is clearly outlined in booking confirmations. Your feedback regarding other aspects of our service will be shared with the team. Once again, my apologies for the disappointment you experienced. We value all feedback as it assists us to monitor our performance and ensure we take corrective measures where necessary. I do hope you will return in the future to allow us the opportunity to show that we are capable of exceeding your expectations in all areas.

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

As a previous reviewer put it "prepare to be underwhelmed". The Marriott is a very average 5 star hotel. The staff are pleasant, the service is reasonable, the views are nice and the ambience is fine, but there is absolutely nothing about the hotel to set it apart from any other 4-5 star hotel. When we asked for fresh milk for our tea, instead of the UHT provided, we were charged for it. The absolute minimum number of tea bags is provided. Toiletries are relaxed erratically. And so on.
The lobby is tiny, the rooms are on the small side and the room decor is unexceptional. The hotel just seems to be coasting along on its name and not making any special effort to differentiate itself or to develop any customer loyalty.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Possumpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This hotel is in a great location if you want to mix business with a quick escape. We both had work commitments on Friday in town, then strolled down to the river to meet some friends. The hotel is very close to a great selection of restaurants and bars. We then took the free ferry further along the river to Southbank where we went to the Stokehouse restaurant. So, no taxis needed! (Check out my thoughts on the Stokehouse, not so great!).
The Marriott is a "classic" style hotel, not trendy but nice. The rooms area spacious and comfortable. Everything is very clean and the staff are terrific. I loved the large jugs of iced water (lemon, orange and plain varieties) on arrival. Brisbane is always fairly hot and the water was very welcome.

In the morning if you want to get some exercise you can walk or jog around the river or try the hotel gym. I chose the gym and was pleasantly surprised as a lot of hotel gyms are pretty underwhelming. The Marriott's is well equipped, and has a nice view of the river. The pool area looked good too but I'm not s swimmer.
We then went back down to the river and found a gorgeous cafe for breakfast, the Riverbar and Kitchen, http://riverbarandkitchen.com.au/ right on the river. Absolutely perfect poached eggs, highly highly recommended for breakfast and I bet dinner is pretty good too.

Had a lovely time all around, possibly look out for pricey hotel meals - I had a quick salad for lunch and they charged me an extra $6 for a couple pieces of bread to go with it!

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a River view room - the view on the other side of the hotel is underwhelming. D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairpammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Fairpammy – Thankyou for sharing your experience. I’m delighted you found our location ideal for both business and leisure. Being a river city and having the boardwalk and ferry practically at our doorstep is certainly a plus. I also appreciate you highlighting our recently renovated gym which boasts a great Story Bridge view that is hard to beat. Of course, it is staff service that makes all the difference to a great stay and I am so pleased that you found our team to be terrific. Thankyou again and I hope you can visit us again soon.

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

I stay here regularly for work, it is well located for a walk along the river before or after work and lots of good restaurants nearby.

The hotel restaurant is ok, food good bit service is a little lacking and the furniture is a little worn.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sn0wySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Sn0wySydney – Thankyou for taking the time to share your experience. I’m delighted you found our location, with the riverwalk at our doorstep and restaurants nearby, so convenient. However, I was concerned to note we let you down on service in our restaurant. My sincere apologies and assurance to review your comments with the team. I hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you are in town on business, or leisure.

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshine coast qld
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My daughter and I stayed one night for a special occasion.September 2014 We are from out of town,did find a bit of trouble locating the hotel, not the Hotels fault. Very classy hotel. Staff dressed impeccably. Very courteous helpful and efficient. Our room had everything we required really,except maybe a DVD player as we had brought movies. We did rent one but a bit expensive. Good quality furnishings and linen,also a good size bathroom. We had breakfast included and there was so much to choose from and so nicely presented. They even had heaps of healthy and gluten options which was so good. This hotel is in a good location really we had to meet friends at central station the next day and we walked up and back only about 10 or 15 mins. Depending how many shops you look at on the way.

Room Tip: We had a city view room which was fine for one night. But a river view would be special at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suey27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear suey27 – I am thrilled to hear that you and your daughter thoroughly enjoyed your special occasion stay with us. It’s important to indulge ourselves once in a while and by all accounts you had a wonderful experience. I was also pleased to note we impressed with the variety of healthy and gluten free options on our breakfast buffet in Motion Bar & Grill. Thankyou for your review and do visit us again soon. We have some great weekend packages on our website that might tempt you.

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Prepare to be underwhelmed. It`s OK as in OK, but nothing special. There`s no parking at the hotel although they say they`ll look after your car for $50 a night which is a bit steep given there`s a car park not far away that will cost you $15. The staff are fine, but the whole place is dull and unexciting. The rooms are out of the 1970s, again comfortable enough but nothing towrit home about. Don`t let me put you off too much. I`m not saying it`s awful but these days you expect more from places like this and it just feels like it needs a big rethink and a make over. The grill attached to the hotel has an unadventurous and not particularly enticing menu mirrored by some very ordinary cooking. There are much better places on the near by waterfront. So yeah, it`s fine but would I stay here again? Only if there was nowhere else calling itself 4 star that had a room spare.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjnorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#21 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#29 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,026 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#24 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
0.9 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
0.8 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisbane Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane Marriott Hotel

Property: Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Address: 515 Queen St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#14 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#21 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#22 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#30 Family Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Brisbane Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brisbane Marriott Hotel is one of the premier Brisbane Qld hotels, offering guests the opportunity to relax in a heated outdoor pool and dine at an award-winning Dome Spa Retreat - which provides hours of blissful distraction. Motion Bar & Grill, our Brisbane hotel's chic restaurant, is perfect for casual dining with its open-kitchen and outside seating. Our luxurious and stylish guest rooms feature elegant appointments and 5-star amenities. Brisbane Marriott Hotel specializes in hosting weddings, social events, and business meetings. We're situated near a wide range of Brisbane attractions, including King George Square, Queen Street Mall, and St. Lucia. Whether you're visiting Brisbane for business or leisure, Brisbane Marriott Hotel looks forward to providing you with luxury and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brisbane Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Brisbane
Brisbane Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing