We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Last Resort” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Airport Hacienda Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Airport Hacienda Motel
Ranked #149 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Last Resort”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

An older motel, we realised that before we got there but it is handy to the cruise terminal and a Best Western of whom I am a member.
The staff were helpful, room was clean, the bed comfortable but after that it went downhill with the speed of an avalanche.
The bathroom smelled musty, the shower curtain and floor were stained and mouldy. We left showering until we had embarked next morning.
The restaurant was well below average, my meal was presented partially cooked. (to be fair, a refund on the meal is on the way), but this shouldn't have been necessary in the first instance if the meal had been properly cooked.
Breakfast service was slow to the extent that we made our own toast and had cereal.

I appreciate that is not a 5 star facility but one I suggest 2 star at best.
If a bit of effort was made in getting the basics right (e g., replace shower screens with clean), then it would be a worthwhile option. At the moment, it's not.
There are plenty of other motels in the vicinity, I will be choosing one of those next time. Not recommended.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else until they get their act together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philh49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthaciendamotel, General Manager at Airport Hacienda Motel, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Hello Phil and thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It is great our location is convenient for our guests to embark on their cruises and leave their car here whilst they are enjoying a holiday on the seas. A great shame your meal was not up to standard for you and I confirm your refund as promised and sorry for the inconvenience. We have a recent addition to our food and beverage team and are working hard to ensure our restaurant maintains a wonderful review. Most of our rooms have shower cubicles with marble design flooring and are scrubbed daily to ensure our cleanliness is kept at the highest level. It would be our pleasure to accommodate you again soon. Safe and happy travels. Kind regards, Michael Frost
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    45
    50
    37
    61
See reviews for
43
61
25
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel is dingy, front desk useless didn't know there was a wharf across the road or even what they served in their own restaurant. Manager is argumentative - didn't provide a receipt for the stay when asked for tax. Do not bother wasting your time they are not helpful or remotely interested in you as a customer!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank red_jellybean01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthaciendamotel, General Manager at Airport Hacienda Motel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Hello and thank you for staying with us recently & thank you for sharing your concerns as it is helpful to find solutions to issues raised for yourself and other travellers. When you book and pay accommodation via a third party website (such as Qantas in your case, or Expedia) you will receive a tax receipt directly from their website. As your booking agreement is with the third party, we are not by law able to provide you a receipt that does not exist with us directly. We are more than happy to contact your third party website if you did not receive their tax receipt and ask them to send you another - just let us know! One of our newest wonderful members of our front office Management team is still becoming familiar with all the local attractions as she is not from Brisbane. However, all our front office team eat from our Restaurant daily and we have our breakfast and dinner menus in each room within the compendium on your desk. Our dinner menu ranges from entrees, steaks, pasta, seafood, soups, roasts, plus a range of salads and vegetables to compliment, and desserts selection. We wish you well on your travels. Kind regards, Michael Frost
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We booked in because we had a little one going to hospital and I knew how to get there from the motel. This is an old motel, but well looked after, clean and good beds. We stayed in room 5 , so back away from the street and noise, which was great for the little one. The only thing I could say was a small negative was the little bar fridge froze all the fruit we had bought for little one and she was fasting from 6am, we woke her to give her breakfast only to find everything including the milk frozen solid.
Night 1 we went to the restaurant for dinner.......we had calamari, nachos, lasagna, and salad, all of which was disgusting. And barely touched. The lasagna was dry on the outside cold in the middle and really just a lump of soggy tasteless yuk. The nachos had some kind if blended up celery based stuff on it, no sour cream and lashings of hot chilli sauce. I couldn't stop laughing, I expected Basil or Sybil to enter the room any second, I ended up calling the waiter Manuel....I actually considered asking them if I could spend Friday in their kitchen and teach then to cook decent lasagne.
Still I would stay in the motel again anytime, and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back to lessen street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Archiebella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthaciendamotel, General Manager at Airport Hacienda Motel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Hello and Thank you for coming to stay with us recently with your family. And, thank you for sharing your thoughts and comments about your time here at the Hacienda. Great to hear your family room was enjoyed (sorry about your fruit) and I hope you were able to enjoy the pool in front of Room 5 during these hot February summer days. It is sad to hear our restaurant service did not exceed your tastes. I will be personally checking on the menu items to ensure all garnishes and recipes are kept to delicious standards! We understand all aspects of services at the Hacienda must comforting to all guests at all times. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to accommodating you all again soon. Happy travels! Kind regards, Michael Frost
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germiston, South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Our hosts for a business trip booked this hotel for us. On entering, it was clear that the only thing changed since it was built in the sixties was a flat screen TV and the sheets. Everything else is as originally built. The toilet and shower area was small and the plastic shower curtain, something I haven't seen in a hotel for decades. On checking in, the receptionist was locked behind bars which was not a comfortable feeling. I struggle to understand how a hotel like this survives and how the Best Western brand can be associated with this hotel. This MOTEL was very expensive for the offering and will make sure I never stay there again. In fact I will so serious research before staying in a Best Western hotel. Avoid if you can.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuperSpeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthaciendamotel, General Manager at Airport Hacienda Motel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Hello and thank you and your travel agent for choosing your time in Brisbane with us in September last year. Yes, we are a 3.5AAA retro styled Motel and pride ourselves on super service and care for all our guests when ever they are checking in to the Hacienda 24 hours every day. After 9:30pm we have a security grill in Reception until 6am - Night Reception Manager greets and checks all guests in during the night and early mornings personally. Quality assurance is of upmost importance to us as a Best Western independently owned and operated property in Australia to ensure all guests, Best Western members and return guests included, are well cared for in full comfort. If you are a Best Western member there are rewards points gained for every stay for lots of incentives and bonuses! All the Best, kind regards, Michael Frost
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed here as group working temporarily in the area. It was functional and the staff were friendly and accommodating to our many changes/additions. The decor is rather dated, the bin in my room could have been emptied a little more frequently but the bathroom was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Not what you would want for an extended stay normally but when you are just sleeping there, it doesn't make a whole lot of difference.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LankyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthaciendamotel, General Manager at Airport Hacienda Motel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you and your group for staying with us over your extended time in Brisbane. Great to hear your feedback as it immediately assists our attention to detail of our guests needs and room comforts. Thank you again for choosing us and we wish you all the very best on your travels. Kindest regards, Michael Frost
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

I think this motel was built in the sixties and then forgotten. We chose it for the last night of our holiday due to its close proximity to the airport as we had an early morning international flight. Big mistake! All rooms are upstairs and there is no lift; our room was small and poorly lit; mould was growing in the corner; the furnishings were very dated and tired; and the television was so small you almost needed a magnifying glass to view the screen. Due to a severe electrical storm we didn't venture out for dinner and instead ate in the motel restaurant. The waiter was friendly but the menu was very poor - everything deep fried.
Not an enjoyable experience and not a motel to be recommended. Stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Give this one a miss
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lola122014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthaciendamotel, General Manager at Airport Hacienda Motel, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Good Morning! Thank you for staying with us here at the Airport Hacienda recently and thank you for sharing your comments. It is sad to hear your time here was not enjoyable. All our retro styled rooms have flat screen TVs and a variety of bedding configurations in large rooms for families, couples and corporate single stays. Our licensed restaurant menu is a 3 course a la carte menu including pasta dishes, steaks & salads, roast of the day, seafood baskets, soups and other entrees, plus a selection of desserts - a variety designed to suit all tastes whilst travelling. Please drop in to see us again and I would be very happy to show you a room to suit your needs. Happy travelling. Kind regards, Michael Frost
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed here for one night as we were due to depart Brisbane early next morning. This place is old and tired, the beds were comfortable but the toilet and showers are in need of renovation. Other than that, my daughter enjoyed the pool and the staff were helpful when I asked reception about the roads to Mt Cootha, hence why I gave this a rating of 3. I would probably come back here but I'll be definitely checking tripadvisor for future reviews to see if this place has been done up again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthaciendamotel, General Manager at Airport Hacienda Motel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Good Morning and thank you for staying with us recently! Great to hear our pool was enjoyed in our warm summer season. This year we have many plans to improve our room comforts for the pleasure of our guests. We hope to have another opportunity of accommodating you again soon. Kind regards, Michael Frost
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.5 mi away
Airway Motel Brisbane
Airway Motel Brisbane
#93 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kingsford Brisbane Airport
1.3 mi away
Kingsford Riverside Inn
Kingsford Riverside Inn
#95 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Airport Admiralty Motel
Airport Admiralty Motel
#101 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Airport Ascot Motel
Airport Ascot Motel
#65 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airport International Motel Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Hacienda Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Hacienda Motel

Property: Airport Hacienda Motel
Address: 560 Kingsford Smith Dr | Hamilton, Brisbane, Queensland 4007, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Airport Hacienda Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Brisbane retro-styled motel room awaits your arrival! The Hacienda's friendly team is here to take care of you and your family - comfortable rooms, licensed restaurant, outdoor pool, full sized tennis court and lots of parking available. Free Wifi, Free overnight parking, plus weekly car storage available $30 per week. Close to the airports, across the road from Portside Cruise Terminal and Brisbane River and Eat Street Markets, close to the city and the racecourses. Free Car Storage Package available - stay and store your car while you are away for up to 4 weeks! Families and Corporate Travellers all welcome - day use rooms, overnight rooms, single/double, twin, triple, quad rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Airport Hacienda Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Airport Hacienda Hotel Brisbane
Best Western Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing