We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we got on sale as we wouldn't of wanted to pay any more than $120 a night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great Southern Hotel
Ranked #72 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Glad we got on sale as we wouldn't of wanted to pay any more than $120 a night”
Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

Room and bed was bigger than expected, which was good. Seemed clean and tidy, until I has a shower and wet to use a towel which appeared dirty. I I wen down to reception asked for another one. But when we got back there was still no towel. Average hotel, but I guess it's good for 3.5 star rating.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chookybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousBris, Manager at Great Southern Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for staying with us recently, and for taking the time to provide some constructive feedback. We are pleased to see that overall you enjoyed your stay and would like to extend our apologies that your linen was not replaced when requested. This has been addressed with both our Front Office and Housekeeping departments and we have reviewed and adjusted our current communication procedures to avoid a repeat of this issue. We look forward to seeing you back again on your next visit to Brisbane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    589
    316
    127
    93
See reviews for
207
489
145
384
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Basic but very clean and tidy and handy to everything in the city. Would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: We stayed at this hotel room for 3 nights with breakfast included. The rooms where nice and clean a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousBris, Manager at Great Southern Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Fantastic to hear we will be seeing you back soon! Here’s a tip from us – Book your stay 14 days in advance and receive 10% off the available rate with our Advance Purchase discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
86 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Made my first trip to Brisbane for a two night stay. Wanted a hotel that was in easy walking distance to many major city sites. This is a good selection for that. I could go to major shopping, the boats across the river, the parks, the casino easily from this location. The hotel is very standard. Nothing really makes it special. The staff was fine, but when checking in I asked about wifi and was told that the convinence store next door had computers I could pay to use. The next day, I discovered a big FREE WIFI sign outside of the hotel only to discover that I could get three consecutive free hours of wifi in my room per day. Strange to be told to go next door to the deli to pay for it.
The room was plain. Nothing special. It was clean, but small. I had a room on a high floor that had a good city view through very dirty windows. I never ate in the restaurant, but it seemed always to be crowded. The elevators were small and slow. The bed was comfortable. The cramped bathroom had a good shower in it.
If you can get a good deal, want to be in city center and won't be spending much time in the hotel, I would recommend this property. If you want luxury, space, better service, I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed here for one night for a business trip. Room was very dated and rather depressing. Sink blocked up immediately. Views really bad. Breakfast was part of our deal and was awful. I would have preferred to go elsewhere and pay. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina T, Manager at Great Southern Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Jo D,

Thank you for leaving feedback about your stay with us. While we regret to hear that you were disappointed with your experience at The Marque, we appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention so we can aim to resolve them as soon as possible.

We have been unable to find out what room you stayed in from your TripAdvisor username, if you are able to contact the hotel directly it would be much appreciated. We can then assess what work needs to be done to fix the sink blockage you mentioned, and it will also help us to know what dates you had breakfast at the hotel so we can review with our staff who were on duty that day.
Please contact the General Manager by phone or email gm.brisbaneOG@rendezvoushotels.com at your convenience.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brisbane hotels

Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My husband and I stayed 1 night on Friday 6 April for our 10 yr anniversary on a Special deal. Unbeknownst to us at the time of booking, this was also where we spent the first few nights of our Honeymoon 10 years ago when it was The Chiffley, so our stay had special significance. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. When it got busy Michelle from the restaurant came over to reception to help, and she was also very friendly. The room was tastefully refurbished. The bed and pillows were soft and comfortable. One fault was that the duvet cover had a small dirty mark on it (?stain, I hope) which was a bit of-putting. Otherwise we couldn't fault our stay. The room was cleaner than other hotels we have stayed in. Our deal was fantastic value for money and included breakfast and parking. Parking space was small but that is what you would expect in the heart of the city. We were even allowed to keep our car there for an extra couple of hours from check-out. Breakfast was good value and there was plenty to choose from. When I was using the "pancake machine" one of the staff kindly came over to check it was working ok. We did request a room with a river view and didn't get it but as we got a special deal that is fair enough. Admittedly or stay was over the "Easter" weekend and it didn't seem very busy, but we were very happy overall and would recommend this hotel for its convenient location and tasteful, large room with all that is needed for a weekend or short stay.

Room Tip: We stayed on a Friday night on floor 7. We didn't have river views but the room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TEBLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina T, Manager at Great Southern Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Hi Eileen,
It is great to hear reviews like yours and thank you for sharing your lovely story with us. We are glad you were able spend such a special event at the hotel – twice. We hope you will stay again soon, and we will try our best to book you in to a room with river views!

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Pretty average hotel, tried to charge me incorrectly and wouldn't apply 10% discount that I had been told I'd get as staying as part of a wedding. $20 extra per night for a park. Clean room good location . Comfortable beds. tv very difficult to work.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dania B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopsteignton
Level Contributor
222 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed two nights and enjoyed being in the city centre and close to shops. restaurants etc. Our room was a reasonable size, clean and bathroom had an excellent shower. Reception staff were good but service in the restaurant was poor despite the fact that it was really quiet. Parking was expensive but at we were staying at the weekend we were able to park on the street about 200 metres away, which was fine.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjory1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
0.4 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#60 of 157 in Brisbane
1,534 reviews
0.4 mi away
George Williams Hotel
George Williams Hotel
#62 of 157 in Brisbane
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#51 of 157 in Brisbane
667 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#48 of 157 in Brisbane
746 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#28 of 157 in Brisbane
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Southern Hotel

Property: Great Southern Hotel
Address: 103 George Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4001, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane on George)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#64 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Southern Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Southern Hotel Brisbane (formerly Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane on George) offers a variety of fully refurbished standard and executive rooms in the heart of Brisbane's CBD (Central Business District). Each of our 99 rooms are equipped with air conditioning, a refrigerator, tea/coffee making facilities, flat-screen TV's, an iPod dock and a work desk. Whether for business or leisure, you will appreciate having the best of Brisbane at your doorstep as we are a short walk from the exciting Treasury Casino, Brisbane City Hall, the Botanic Gardens, Queen Street Mall and Roma Street Parkland. Also, The Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Center, Suncorp Stadium and the Gabba are within easy reach of the hotel. Highlights at this hotel include 24-hour reception, an outdoor swimming pool, a rooftop terrace, small exercise room and secure parking is available at an additional cost. **Refurbishment will be taking place in the restaurant and lobby from Mid December 2016 to April 2017** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Great Southern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisbane Marque Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing