We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're ok with a 3-star stay, this place is fine.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Great Southern Hotel
Ranked #75 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This hotel was booked for me through work and considering I work for one of the biggest consumer electronics companies in the world, I am REALLY surprised they're ok with their staff staying here on business trips. Ugh. I barely even settle for 4.5 stars and this was well and truly a 3 star experience.

The car park is the WORST! Firstly, you need to physically get out of your car every time you want to enter the car park and ask reception to open the garage door for you. Same for when you want to leave. It's ridiculous and very out-dated. It's in keeping with the theme of the place though I suppose. You know you're in for an old skool experience when they hand you a physical key to your room, as opposed to a security card.

The furniture is very old and tired. The walls are a mess, the carpets are old and dusty in areas. The window in the bathroom can't be closed. You just feel like you're in a motel to be honest.

After this experience, I won't let work book my accommodation ever again. I've well and truly learnt my lesson.

Room Tip: If you need to stay somewhere with parking, I'd steer clear of this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judes1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousBris, Manager at Great Southern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Judes1974,

Thank you for staying at Rendezvous Studio Hotel on George on your most recent trip to Brisbane. Thank-you also for taking the time in providing your feedback as it helps us to improve our services and amenities. Per your insightful comments about our car park and room amenities, please know that we are working to improve these services, and trust that you will find a marked improvement on your next stay. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Brisbane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,180 - 1,186 of 1,451 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

The room was poorly fitted. The power outlets were not sercurely fixed to the walls, the latch was hanging from the door and making it impossible to securely lock the door and the air conditioning was leaking water from the roof. The staff were arrogant and unhelpful and an excessive security of $700 was held against our credit card despite offering to pay for the room in full on arrival. This hotel would benefit from new management.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelCross80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousBris, Manager at Great Southern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for the time that you have taken to write your review and for your constructive feedback.
I am disappointed that we did not reach,or exceed your expectations during your recent visit with us. The service levels that you experienced during your stay are unacceptable, and for this I apologise.
Your comments are noted and corrective action pertaining to front desk procedures and operation will be actioned immediately

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This hotel was booked for me through work however I was pleasantly surprised . Great, convenient location and more importantly for me, a good breakfast! Really great service by all staff, especially at front reception.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chloe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousBris, Manager at Great Southern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Chloe L,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments; we really appreciate you advising how friendly our team were, and for endorsing our breakfast and location. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Overall the Hotel was showing signs of age, We do know that its under renovations.
Our bathroom had been renovated, but an old mirror spoiled the overall effect.
The location was perfect. The staff really friendly. The Beds just fantastic.
Yes we would recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Our Room was great, but next time I would prefer a corner suite taht was large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousBris, Manager at Great Southern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Maureen W,

Thank you for taking the time to provide positive feedback regarding our location, service and rooms following your recent stay. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and reference your comment about that mirror; we will definitely look into it. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Brisbane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The first and foremost experience of staying at this hotel is the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.
The hotel however, was pretty poor and unknown to us but was obviously aimed at the lower end of the market! We paid extra for the breakfast but only the once as it was very poor! The hotel promoted having a swimming pool but really could do with a good cleaning and was a gathering place for residents to drink.
There is wifi at the hotel for an extra charge...but very hit and miss to connect to.

Room Tip: Ask to look at your room before accepting the room key and do not stay opposite the lift as the nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousBris, Manager at Great Southern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Tim R,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay, as it help us to improve our services and amenities. We appreciate you taking the time to endorse our customer service standards. In reference to your other comments, we will look into these on all accounts. We trust you will see a marked improvement on your next stay. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Wonderful location and really friendly staff. Lovely welcome and all the housekeeping staff were very helpful. Excellent cafe and comfortable beds. We loved it all, especially location, and will stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Dragonfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousBris, Manager at Great Southern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Dragonfield,
Thank you very much for endorsing the hotel by your positive comments following your recent stay. Great to know you will return and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next need accommodation in the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Booked a voucher via getaway lounge and upgraded to a spa suite. Well worth the great view and amazing spa. The tv wasn't working but was quickly fixed once advised. Room service a bit slow, but no issues. Don't get mixed up with the other Brisbane rendezvous!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kasey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousBris, Manager at Great Southern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Kasey W,
We really appreciate your positive comments following your recent stay at the Rendezvous Studio Hotel Brisbane on George. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
0.4 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#62 of 168 in Brisbane
1,585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#31 of 168 in Brisbane
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#57 of 168 in Brisbane
715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#54 of 168 in Brisbane
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Southern Hotel

Address: 103 George Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4001, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane on George)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#67 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: £33 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Southern Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Southern Hotel Brisbane (formerly Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane on George) offers a variety of fully refurbished standard and executive rooms in the heart of Brisbane's CBD (Central Business District). Each of our 99 rooms are equipped with air conditioning, a refrigerator, tea/coffee making facilities, flat-screen TV's, an iPod dock and a work desk. Whether for business or leisure, you will appreciate having the best of Brisbane at your doorstep as we are a short walk from the exciting Treasury Casino, Brisbane City Hall, the Botanic Gardens, Queen Street Mall and Roma Street Parkland. Also, The Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Center, Suncorp Stadium and the Gabba are within easy reach of the hotel. Highlights at this hotel include 24-hour reception, an outdoor swimming pool, a rooftop terrace, small exercise room and secure parking is available at an additional cost. **Refurbishment will be taking place in the restaurant and lobby from Mid December 2016 to April 2017** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Southern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisbane Marque Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing