We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Southern Hotel
Ranked #79 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The location of the hotel, in George St., makes it easily accessible, and close to many restaurants etc. A short walk to the casino (for those who like to gamble), and, in our case, a short stroll to the bridge to Southbank. The lobby cafe/bar was very welcome too. WiFi didn'work too well in the bar, but hotel staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank csp1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,101 - 1,107 of 1,460 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Nice room, very clean, great value for money, but a little far out, the wrong end of George street,
No business centre facilities available, had to use an internet cafe to confirm online check in for flight next day

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My partner checked in on the 30th June 2014, for my 40th birthday. I got a package called 'Girls weekend package'...It was THE best package. for $249, you get an early check in, which we arrived at about 11am and we got a very warm welcome from the receptionist, free car parking cause some hotels don't include that. A river view with was just a treat at night cause there was nothing blocking our view of the Brisbane wheel. We had 2 free cocktails and a chef selection of tapas, which was serviced by a very friendly attentive waitress. A bottle of this tasty sparking wine, along with strawberries dipped in chocolate, delivered to our room when requested, even my partner liked the wine and chocolates. Also included was a buffet breakfast and once again, the waitress (a different one from the night before) she was so attentive and very happy, and bubbly, just made you smile in the morning. And then there was the late check out which is always handy when you've had a few too many to drink the night before.

The room was like any other standard hotel room, it was clean, we were just there to relax and sleep, so it suited us. It could do with a renovation but it was still very nice.

My only complaint would be that bed was too soft and was abit low.

Would I stay there again and recommend it...Absolutely!!!

Thanks for a great 40th birthday sleepover.

Room Tip: the river view rooms have a great view, we stayed in 1303
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The arrival with our car was a mess. No place to park the car during check-in.
The check-in itself was not pleasant. Totally overcrowded and the staff mad many mistakes so that we had to turn up to the reception desk three times to sort out anything.
When this was settled, the rest of the stay was pleasant. Nice and spacious rooms, which were clean; firm mattresses and everything was good.
Unfortunately, the heating of the air conditions were not working although the HVAC was pretending to achieve to reach the set-up temperature. In consequence, the night were in both rooms pretty cold. Seemed to be a lack of maintenance.

The only disadvantage was the car park; it is quite tight, has very small booths for the cars and in consequence there is a good chance to have the car damaged by other guests.

Room Tip: Top levels of hotel and facing towards Brisbane Southbank. Nice look towards Brisbane River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_abcxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

It was a business stay for two nights and I was made feel welcome. I had stayed two times before and this stay was the best in terms of staff professionalism and service. I felt entirely comfortable and one night enjoyed a meal down in the restaurant. (Only down side was that it was not the best pasta dish I had ever had, still that may be what I get for ordering the special.)
At any rate, everything else was very good and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Deb V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane_GM, General Manager at Great Southern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Deb V,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about Rendezvous Studio Hotel Brisbane On George - we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, once again!

I am pleased that you found our service to be so welcoming and professional. I was sorry to hear that the pasta did not quite meet your expectations, however we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and hope to exceed your expectations.

Thanks again for sharing the experience of your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Rod Argyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights with my dad and I must say that this hotel definitely exceeded my expectations. The location of this hotel is perfect and the service provided by the hotel was great. The staff were friendly. The rooms were of an average size. Worth the price :)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sseakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We would definately return to this Hotel. Clean, spacious and well decorated, serviced each day with a smile. We were on the 8th floor and views of the river and wheel of Brisbane. Had fabulous breakfast and sometime dinner down stairs. Walking distance to Southbank, the Mall, Casino, museums, restaurants. Free bus service directly opposite. Couldn't ask for anything better. Pricing per night extremely reasonable.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing river a must to appreciate the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Hubbyandme2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.4 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#61 of 169 in Brisbane
1,599 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#54 of 169 in Brisbane
889 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oakwood Hotel & Apartments Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
0.9 mi away
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
#33 of 169 in Brisbane
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Southern Hotel

Address: 103 George Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4001, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane on George)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#69 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: £48 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Southern Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Southern Hotel Brisbane (formerly Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane on George) offers a variety of fully refurbished standard and executive rooms in the heart of Brisbane's CBD (Central Business District). Each of our 99 rooms are equipped with air conditioning, a refrigerator, tea/coffee making facilities, flat-screen TV's, an iPod dock and a work desk. Whether for business or leisure, you will appreciate having the best of Brisbane at your doorstep as we are a short walk from the exciting Treasury Casino, Brisbane City Hall, the Botanic Gardens, Queen Street Mall and Roma Street Parkland. Also, The Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Center, Suncorp Stadium and the Gabba are within easy reach of the hotel. Highlights at this hotel include 24-hour reception, an outdoor swimming pool, a rooftop terrace, small exercise room and secure parking is available at an additional cost. **Refurbishment will be taking place in the restaurant and lobby from Mid December 2016 to April 2017** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Great Southern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisbane Marque Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing