We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Great Southern Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Oaks Felix(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
US$127
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Sebel Brisbane(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Oaks Charlotte Towers(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
US$140
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
US$154
US$149
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$114
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Point Brisbane Hotel(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$121
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ovolo Inchcolm(Brisbane)
US$289
US$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Aabon Apartments & Motel(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
US$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,503)
Filter reviews
1,503 results
Traveller rating
300
615
338
142
108
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
615
338
142
108
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgeorge streetsouth banktreasury casinoqueen st mallexcellent locationbotanic gardenscentral locationthe rivercar parkingwould stay againshort strollcomfy bedper daygreat roombrisbane cityacross the roadrendezvous
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,134 - 1,139 of 1,503 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Hotel is ok. The rooms are clean and spacious. Location good 5 min walk to city, casino, Eagle Street pier and right opposite Southbank. The only problem is parking, not many places and very small, but there is ten dollar a day over the weekend round the corner.

Room Tip: We were on the 11th floor facing river, quiet enough. Other rooms showers noisy !
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teagy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were visiting Brisbane for the Caravan and Camping show. This hotel is centrally located and perfect for our needs. Also located near good shopping and entertainment precinct. It took us only 5 minutes to get to the show grounds.

Room Tip: Our room on the 13th floor had a very noisy fan or aircon outlet in the bathroom that interrupted our sleep.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wally55Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Location was very good. Close to the Queen St Mall, South Bank and the Casino.
The price of the room was very reasonable, we just used it overnight. On arrival our check in was a breeze the staff were very friendly and helpful nothing was to much for them. I loved the idea that check out was 11am. The room was comfortable and very clean, the bathroom room had excellent lighting it looked as if it had a makeover . The only thing wrong was the air conditioner was a little noisy so we turned it off. Lucky it was not hot. Did report it to the staff on check out. they were very apologetic.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Marygold4566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Good position, reception efficient and friendly. Room very good and was value for the money. Would have stayed again on my return to Brisbane but cost had jumped 90+ dollars so went elsewhere. Shame as I liked the accommodation.rental cars Budget/Avis. Saves dollars to get here rather than airport.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waikatosflyingkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our latest stay in Brisbane was the third at this hotel so it's time we shared our impressions. Living in a regional city, we travel to Brisbane frequently, mostly to attend theatre performances or have our European car serviced or just to go shopping. This is where this hotel comes into its own. Its central location makes it a short walk to just about anything you might need in Brisbane, eg, 10 minutes to QPAC and South Bank; 5 minutes to Queen St Mall; 10 minutes to Eagle St Pier dining precinct; opposite the casino and so on.
The hotel itself is getting on a bit in years but I believe it is better than its three-star rating. The rooms are always very clean and if you're lucky enough to get a front room up high, the views across the Brisbane River to South Bank and Mt Cootha are pretty good. The only negative is the restricted on-site parking. We haven't missed out on a spot yet but on our most recent stay just managed to get the last one after a bit of tight manoeuvring.
Overall, however, we are happy to make this our base when in Brisbane and would recommend it to anyone looking for reasonably priced accommodation in a great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room 10th floor or better at the front of the building for the best views
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ernie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews