We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room for good value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Great Southern Hotel
Ranked #79 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I can't say this was the best place I have stayed at in Brisbane, because it's not, it's not even the cheapest but it's in a good location and you get what you pay for.

There were a few issues with my room: Wobbly desk and energy saver bulbs which weren't even of the same colour (three warm and one white), just two of the minor issues I experienced however overall, it was a lovely room.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,091 - 1,097 of 1,460 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I had an impromptu stay, booked on line got a great deal. 200 mtrs from casino, right round corner from pancake manor, walking distance to queen street mall. Close to tasty restaurants and bars. Will Definately be back. a short stroll over the bridge to southbank

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kmbailey265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Very nice hotel. Room was clean and well maintained and contained all amenities.. Staff were friendly and helpful. Great location. Stayed at hotel as participating in the City2South fun run and hotel was 2 blocks from the start line. Also close to Casino, Queen Street Mall and Southbank. Very good breakfast at Straits Cafe at the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

i would not stay there again..bad servive rooms dirty..the hotel has only keys for room doors no swipe keys..just a dirty looking hotel..may b close to city but the hotel lacks in every thing it needs to b closed down

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Hotel is ok. The rooms are clean and spacious. Location good 5 min walk to city, casino, Eagle Street pier and right opposite Southbank. The only problem is parking, not many places and very small, but there is ten dollar a day over the weekend round the corner.

Room Tip: We were on the 11th floor facing river, quiet enough. Other rooms showers noisy !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teagy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were visiting Brisbane for the Caravan and Camping show. This hotel is centrally located and perfect for our needs. Also located near good shopping and entertainment precinct. It took us only 5 minutes to get to the show grounds.

Room Tip: Our room on the 13th floor had a very noisy fan or aircon outlet in the bathroom that interrupted o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wally55Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Location was very good. Close to the Queen St Mall, South Bank and the Casino.
The price of the room was very reasonable, we just used it overnight. On arrival our check in was a breeze the staff were very friendly and helpful nothing was to much for them. I loved the idea that check out was 11am. The room was comfortable and very clean, the bathroom room had excellent lighting it looked as if it had a makeover . The only thing wrong was the air conditioner was a little noisy so we turned it off. Lucky it was not hot. Did report it to the staff on check out. they were very apologetic.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Marygold4566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.4 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#60 of 169 in Brisbane
1,599 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#54 of 169 in Brisbane
891 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oakwood Hotel & Apartments Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
0.9 mi away
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
#33 of 169 in Brisbane
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Southern Hotel

Address: 103 George Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4001, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane on George)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#69 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: £48 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Southern Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Southern Hotel Brisbane (formerly Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane on George) offers a variety of fully refurbished standard and executive rooms in the heart of Brisbane's CBD (Central Business District). Each of our 99 rooms are equipped with air conditioning, a refrigerator, tea/coffee making facilities, flat-screen TV's, an iPod dock and a work desk. Whether for business or leisure, you will appreciate having the best of Brisbane at your doorstep as we are a short walk from the exciting Treasury Casino, Brisbane City Hall, the Botanic Gardens, Queen Street Mall and Roma Street Parkland. Also, The Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Center, Suncorp Stadium and the Gabba are within easy reach of the hotel. Highlights at this hotel include 24-hour reception, an outdoor swimming pool, a rooftop terrace, small exercise room and secure parking is available at an additional cost. **Refurbishment will be taking place in the restaurant and lobby from Mid December 2016 to April 2017** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Great Southern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisbane Marque Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing