We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic building, fantastic service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Treasury Hotel & Casino
Ranked #49 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Historic building, fantastic service”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Third stay at the Treasury Hotel. It's located across the road and a small park from the casino and it oozes historic charm. The rooms are furnished with marble bathrooms and are large with all the mod cons. I can't really fault the hotel and have always had a great nights sleep in their wonderful beds. This type of place calls out for butlers and cigars, and it really is a nice place to stay. Very centrally located in Brisbane, next to the mall and river, and with a stones throw of pretty much the entire CBD.

Room Tip: I like the top floor overlooking the quadrangle courtyard. Away from the traffic noise and glare of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cam_sydney4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    202
    71
    35
    23
See reviews for
64
306
41
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I wanted a special hotel to spend my 50th birthday evening at while on my dream vacation to Australia. I chose the Treasury because of the reviews and photos, location and a splurge on a luxury hotel. There was no doorman or bellman to greet me at the door so I dragged my luggage inside myself, turned to the left and saw the front desk down the hall where everyone was having a chat fest. Strange not to have the front desk eyeing the front door-security reasons. Anyway, everyone was very nice, held my luggage while I went on with my day. Upon returning, I get my room key and I think I got one of the smallest rooms they have. It was nice but right in front of the elevator, and the door opened right into the room, no little entrance/vestibule at all. Nice marble bathroom, soaking tub, but be careful of the shower since it is elevated about 4 inches, I would say be cautious stepping down from there after a shower and wet feet. The bed was heavenly and the room was very clean and elegant looking in the furnishings and draperies. I had dinner at the casino Kitchen restaurant and the food was very good and priced reasonably well. The service was just ok.
I do have to mention Coop from concierge-I asked him for suggestions for a good steak dinner and he went above and beyond to try and find me a nice restaurant within walking distance. He is an asset to the hotel!
Good points is the hotel is lovely architecturally, lovely old historic building. The bed was awesome and I slept great. Location is great, walked to the river for my cruise and to Queen St mall.
I did not feel safe here however. As a woman traveling alone, to not have someone watching the front door was a little unnerving, esp when the elevators are right in front of the entrance and there are no security measures on the elevator (touch room key to make lift operate). Of all the hotels I stayed at in Australia, this is the only one I felt the need to place a chair in front of the door before I went to sleep. As for the price, yikes. I don't feel it's worth the price. I am glad I stayed here, I would always wonder about the hotel if I hadn't but I wouldn't stay here if I am in Brisbane again.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JessieNoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Firstly, let me say that this is a magnificent hotel and where (mostly) you are treated like royalty. We have stayed several times and it has always been wonderful.
However, this time we stayed here twice in April. The first time was at a very good rate and we stayed one night. The next time we wanted to book for 4 nights, however the only room available was $500 per night. Our booking was done in a hurry due to an urgent call to Brisbane for family health problems, so we booked anyway.
When checking in the hotel also took a $500 bond (in case we ran away with the room or something). A bit rich I think, especially when we were paying so much per night.
Our other gripe was room service. We phoned 15 minutes before the cut off time of 10pm for pizza. We waited on line all that time for them to answer, and when someone did answer it was 2 minutes past 10. Too late, we couldn't have pizza. If they had answered straight away we could have had our pizza.
Fortunately we came to our senses and moved out the next day to somewhere cheaper. I must say they were very good and did not charge us any cancellation fee.
-We would stay again, but certainly not for $500 per night - and we would probably go out for food rather than rely on room service.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wicked00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Stayed here a few times and this is definitely the best stay I have had a in Brisbane. The rooms are huge with very high ceilings and the interior décor is fantastic. Service is very good through out.

Location is good..walking distance to Queen street mall(under 3 minutes), Southbank (10 minutes.. can be seen from the hotel), CBD (5 minutes). The hotel is part of a casino but the casino is in a different building.

Overall stay was very good ad I will definitely stay at this property whenever possible.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MJ707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Hubby and I have just spent 2 nights and I cannot recommend them highly enough. The rooms were very clean and maintained. The bed is always a concern for us but not here. We both could not get over how comfortable they were. The rooms are extremely quiet and if needed can be made to be very dark even in the middle of the day. Great for those naps in the day. Would stay again in an instant.

Room Tip: Any are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kazbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Went up to brisbane from the coast. Thought we would have a gamble and I lost my money but my husband won $700 and that was great. The building was very beautiful and was in a great spot but omg parking in Brisbane city was very expensive :(

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcy2654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatton, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2013

i stayed two nights with my partner here in April 2013, the service was very friendly and the rooms were beautifully presented. If we could have fitted the bed out the window, we would have, the best night sleep i have had in a long time.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a getaway.
The hotel is close to shops, which are just a quick walk up the road.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.0 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#51 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
0.4 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#25 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#11 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,273 reviews
0.1 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#13 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treasury Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasury Hotel & Casino

Property: Treasury Hotel & Casino
Address: 130 William Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4001, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#34 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#46 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Treasury Hotel & Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the majestic grandeur of Treasury Casino & Hotel. Housed in two of Australia’s grandest heritage buildings, this space has been transformed to create a hotel experience of world class standard which is unlike any other. Situated in the city’s commercial and retail heart the Hotel is a mere 25 minutes drive from Brisbane’s domestic and international airports. Treasury Casino & Hotel offers 128 lavishly appointed rooms including king, twin and suites, most of which boast magnificent 18 foot high ceilings. Rich in history and first class hospitality, experience the perfect blend of contemporary comfort and old world charm at Treasury Casino & Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Treasury Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasury Hotel Brisbane
Treasury Hotel And Casino
Conrad Brisbane
Brisbane Conrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing