We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful historic accommodation that's also comfortable in the heart of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Treasury Hotel & Casino
Ranked #48 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic accommodation that's also comfortable in the heart of the city”
Reviewed 12 June 2010

We stayed at the Brisbane treasury hotel in room 216 (Deluxe King room) for 2 nights mid-week.
The room was lovely, with high ceilings, a lot of light and lovely furnishings in keeping with the period of the building.
The room had a good sized entry hall that housed the cupboard, mini-bar and provided some luggage storage.
There was a large flat screen tv, lots of seating options including lounge chairs and a sofa, a round desk (which could also be used as a small dining table as it had 2 chairs).
The bed was comfortable with good quality linen.
An iPod docking station / alarm clock was also provided which was a nice touch.
The windows had both curtains and horizontal blinds which were great to block out the light early in the morning.
The room was fairly quiet, with some noise heard from the street early in the morning.
Our room looked out towards the south / east, on to a courtyard shared between neighbouring buildings. There was no real view, as such.
The bathroom was spacious, with a lovely deep bath, separate shower and ample hot water. Toiletries provided were fine. Ample good quality towels were provided.
Both air-conditioning and a ceiling fan were available in the room.
There was a turn down service (not requested, just part of the service).

Our only real problem with the room was that due to the layout and architectural feature columns there was only space for a bedside table (and light) on one side of the bed. This proved to be a bit of a nuisance. We improvised by using a chair as a bedside table but this didn't help with the lack of bedside light.

We visited the cosy in-house bar, Ryan's, on the ground floor, a few times for pre-dinner drinks and also for lunch. The food was very nice and not overly expensive.
There is another venue, Lab, also on the ground floor which offers breakfasts in the mornings, as well as running as a restaurant and bar later on.

Check-in and check-out were very efficient although no real information or assistance was provided at check-in.

The area the hotel is situated in is quite central, about 5 minutes walk to the start of the mall and to the Brisbane river. There is a ferry stop close by and the free around city bus runs past the hotel.

We've stayed in a few different hotels in Brisbane over the past few years and think that this hotel was the nicest. We plan to return.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon Potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    202
    71
    35
    23
See reviews for
64
306
41
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Aus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2010

Stayed in a Casino Suite and it is simpy luxurious! Fluffy towels, delux toiletries, lounge area, 2 huge LCD TV's.
Bed is devine and after asking was told it's because of the mattress topper called 'The Cloud". These can be purchased from the supplier. I love this hotel.
Can be a little noisy on the week-ends but earplugs do the trick. Staff are friendly and welcoming from the valet car attendant to the housekeeping staff. Booking in and out was effortless.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussie2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankfurt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2010

Except the very high ceiling in the rooms (approx 4m) the hotel is nice but not fantastic.

The breakfast is bad and they charged an extra 9 AUD for a softdrink!

There are certainly bettre business hotels in Brisbane.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skysailor1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2010

I am enjoying my 2nd stay at the Treasury in Brisbane. After many disappointing hotel stays in this City I have finally found my home away from home.
The rooms are lovely and spacious, high ceilings, gorgeous marble bathroom with generously proportioned bathtub, fluffy white towels and plenty of them.
The highlight for me however are the beds, simply put the best hotel beds I have ever experienced. They are better than Westin's heavenly beds & Sheraton's sweet sleeper beds (I'm a gold SPG so that is rather blasphemous!) I mentioned this at check out after my first stay and was told the beds had all been replaced last year during a refurb. The bed linen is 5 star and the pillows are perfect.
The hotel gym has everything you need, good cardio equipoment, free weights and plenty of room for stretching.
Room service was also very good, delivered promptly and still hot!
I have begged our travel co-ordinator at work to only book me into this hotel and would also stay here for personal travel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JpoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
186 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

The Conrad Treasury (now called the Treasury Casino and Hotel) is an iconic 100 some-odd year old hotel with some huge rooms. My deluxe king came with a separate entrance vestibule, 6 metre (18’) ceilings and a long but locked balcony. Rooms have A/C and some have a ceiling fan as well. Mine overlooked Queen’s Park and the casino. Some overlook a courtyard. My floor had a large un-staffed lounge that could be used for a casual meeting. The hotel room has a wall safe but the front desk forgot to give me the key-card. The hairdryer is in the clothes closet along with an iron board and iron, and a couple of robes. The TV is a 42” LCD and the complicated alarm clock is an i-pod docking station. The large bathroom has a long skinny deep tub and a separate large shower. Parking is self park or valet park ($35) next door. There is a gym and sauna but no pool. Internet wired and wireless is in the room ($14.95/hour or $24.95/24 hours) and business centre. Pets are not permitted. The hotel has a half a dozen restaurants and bars. The location is near a river ferry dock or a 15 minute walk to Eagle St Pier. The casino is across the park. The airport is 30 minutes away. I liked the hotel for its huge, rambling high hallways, large rooms and comfortable duvet covered beds. I liked the location. I didn’t like the door bang or water noise that transfers through the old walls, but that would not keep me from returning to this grande dame.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlegreVancouverBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2010

We stayed one night for our anniversary.Excellent choice for us as this style of
hotel really suited our taste.The location is superb,extremely close to everything
that you would want.There is a casino right across the road also.We paid a good
rate through Wotif which included a hot brekky in their restaurant. Did not try other
restaurants though,instead eating at a restaurant in the casino.Pleasant enough
staff at reception and we were quite impressed to see a bottle of bubbly and card
from them,as I had mentioned our anniversary when I'd rung to confirm our booking.
Remember to ask for Casino vouchers when checking in,they neglected to give us
ours until I mentioned it at check out.But a very minor point.All in all very enjoyable

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cherrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2010

Everything you would expect from a first rate 5 star hotel. Rooms with double height ceilings give feeling of grandeur. Most comfortable bed I have ever slept in.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anotherheaven2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.0 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#51 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
0.4 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#24 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#11 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,273 reviews
0.1 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#13 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treasury Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasury Hotel & Casino

Property: Treasury Hotel & Casino
Address: 130 William Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4001, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#34 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#45 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Treasury Hotel & Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the majestic grandeur of Treasury Casino & Hotel. Housed in two of Australia’s grandest heritage buildings, this space has been transformed to create a hotel experience of world class standard which is unlike any other. Situated in the city’s commercial and retail heart the Hotel is a mere 25 minutes drive from Brisbane’s domestic and international airports. Treasury Casino & Hotel offers 128 lavishly appointed rooms including king, twin and suites, most of which boast magnificent 18 foot high ceilings. Rich in history and first class hospitality, experience the perfect blend of contemporary comfort and old world charm at Treasury Casino & Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Treasury Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasury Hotel Brisbane
Treasury Hotel And Casino
Conrad Brisbane
Brisbane Conrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing