We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Central Hillcrest Apartments
Ranked #99 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Norah Head, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Booked and paid for a deluxe double room apartment and it turned out to be nothing like what's was shown on the web site, the verandah measured 90cm wide you could not sit out there comfortably, the bathroom is very dated, house keeping came at 4pm and all they did was refresh the towels and empty the bin, they did not wash up the crockery, clean the ash tray, vacuum the floor, make the bed, or clean the bathroom, didn't even replenish the tea, coffee and sugar, all we got was a double bed a table and 2 plastic chairs, nothing to sit on to watch the tv. Mind you the view of Brisbane City was great and the building is situated 5 min from southbank parklands and ferry to City but everything else was very disappointing and ruined our holiday to Queensland, be careful the pictures on the web are not what you are going to get when booking on line. We do not recommend this property to holiday goers, steer clear there is much nicer places close by.

Room Tip: Don't ask for a deluxe double because you won't get one even though you paid and booked for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sorro63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph B, Manager at Central Hillcrest Apartments, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Hi Sorro63,

Thank you for taking the time to review Central Hillcrest Apartments. I’m terribly sorry to read our Hotel was not up to your expectations.

Would you mind emailing me directly on admin@centralgroup.com.au to discuss this in further detail?

Just to clarify however, the daily service during stays includes a towel change, bin empty, a bed make (although there are factors preventing this from happening each time eg, suitcase on bed etc) and a tea/coffee replenishment. Given all of this didn't happen during your stay, I will make sure our housekeeping team are reminded of what is required.

The Hotel Deluxe rooms do come with a smaller balcony; the one and two bedrooms come with larger balconies.

Isn't the view amazing! It’s especially beautiful at night.

Again, I’m disappointed your stay with us wasn't as per your expectations and I do hope we can resolve this issue for you. Thank you for your comments; every bit of feedback helps us to improve.

I look forward to hearing from you via email.

Kind regards
Joseph Bowie
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    43
    30
    10
    3
See reviews for
26
32
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greenmount
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

we stayed in the penthouse for a night to celebrate a birthday. It was amazing! So spacious and had spectacular views. You could tell the room was older but kitchen and bathrooms, along with the furnishings, have been updated to keep it looking fresh. highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tledarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph B, General Manager at Central Hillcrest Apartments, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for your recent feed back on the Penthouse. We have not had this apartment for long, but the feed back we have been getting about the views has been excellent. Her at Central Hillcrest we look forward to your next booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I selected this property because it was close to the mater hospital. I have found That it is an easy walk to the city, and south bank. It also has train, bus and ferry services close at hand. Plus free wifi.
The self contained Rooms were clean,staff helpful plus a restruant for breakfast and dinner.

I would recommend it and stay here again.

Room Tip: Apartments to the back are noisier because of the mater helipad. ( twice in 4 days at night). Apar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph B, General Manager at Central Hillcrest Apartments, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thank you for your recent stay here at Central Hillcrest Apartments.
Thank you for the comments on our rooms and how close we are to transport, with the rooms on the back of the building there is noise from the hospital helipad, but they do not come every day.
We here at Central Hillcrest look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Immediate reaction was WOW, very spacious with great river views. One bed apartment No 603.
Minor irritations, such as Bedroom lamp faulty. Exchanged very quickly, but should have been picked up by Housekeeping.
Disappointed to have 2 single beds, rather than a King/Queen, but I should have checked my reservation and confirmed this. I just took it for granted.
No temperature control for aircon was surprising, it was either on or off.
Free WiFi was very slow. Free secure parking a bonus.
At the right price, I woulld stay again.

Room Tip: High Floors overlooking River have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnWAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph B, General Manager at Central Hillcrest Apartments, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at Central Hillcrest Apartments. We appreciate all feedback, both positive and negative so that we can ensure that all our guests enjoy their stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future if your travels bring you back to Brisbane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed here three nights and we were really impressed. Greeting by young lady on front desk was great. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Room was wonderful. I had requested nice view for photography and they certainly came through. The Hotel over all was very well presented. Breakfast at the restaurant was included in our room price and was certainly satisfactory.
The chef on the first night was lovely and very helpful. Food was great
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kochie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph B, General Manager at Central Hillcrest Apartments, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Central Hillcrest. We appreciate all feedback, both positive and negative as we are able to access what is required to make our guests stay more comfortable and enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

If one is looking for a good location to adjacent hospitals, then this is certainly convenient. When we first checked in the apartment we were given was extremely gloomy and dated. We immediately asked for another and were moved. The lower floor allowed easy access but was noisy due to the proximity of busy Vulture St. Housekeeping is minimal for a long stay; therefore, you will have to request extra services at extra charges. The property was recommended to us due to its location to the entertainment available on the nearby river front. The staff was cordial, the apartment large, and the restaurant mediocre. If we go to Brisbane in the future, we will select a hotel in the city center and simply walk to the river entertainment.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fraschillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

The room was alright, quite spacious. Though was expecting an ensuite as stayed in a 2 bedroom unit. The location was poor. Couldn't find any nice places eat or bottleo's in short walking distance. The towels were dirty not pleasant. Positive notes. The view was awesome from the 7th floor & the beds were the most comfortable of anywhere I have stayed. Made for a good nights sleep & overlook some of the bad points.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cle089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph B, Manager at Central Hillcrest Apartments, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay here at Central Hillcrest Apartments. We are always looking for feed back to help improve our standards we offer to hotel guest. All beds in the hotel were changed over in the past year & half. We at Central look forward to your next booking with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
The Sebel South Brisbane
The Sebel South Brisbane
#100 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#17 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.6 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#107 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wellington Apartment Hotel
Wellington Apartment Hotel
#70 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Diana
Best Western Plus Hotel Diana
#30 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hillcrest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hillcrest Apartments

Property: Central Hillcrest Apartments
Address: Hillcrest Central Apartments 311 Vulture St, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#80 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Hillcrest Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the exciting Southbank precinct and a stones throw from public transport, Central Hillcrest Apartments offers stunning views of the Brisbane River and city skyline out towards the Story Bridge and is just a short walk from the Gabba, the CBD, a range of restaurants, the Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre, entertainment, shopping, the Mater Private Hospital, Mater Hospital and the new Lady Cilento Children's Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Hillcrest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Central Apartment Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing