We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Mercure Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Brisbane
Ranked #58 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed 9 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Karyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

623 - 629 of 1,735 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

I just had a short 1 day stay in this hotel on a Friday night. Check in was prompt and efficient and I liked their open plan reception desk. Very much more personal.

Location is on the corner of Ann and North Quay and on the riverside and only a block away from George Street. The location is good and an easy 5 minute walk to the Queen Street Mall. There are several pubs and dining choices nearby. If arriving by train Roma St Station is also
about a 5 minute walk away.

The lobby was completely refurbished last month and looks great. The rooms also looked like they were refurbished not so long ago so quite modern and "retro". Rooms are not large but a good sized flat screen tv is provided and the bathroom has modern fittings. Toileteries supplied were very
basic. Façade and Corridors still look quite dated.

Room service pizza was promptly served and was good.

My son, his partner and I had buffet breakfast in this hotel and for $32 I thought the prices were very high for the quite limited choices. On nearby George Street you will find better value breakfast options

Hotel has a pool which we didn't use.

Free wifi isnt provided but there are computers located in the lobby which can be used at no cost for 20 minutes at a time.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tommomelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Needs way more signage and people to help guests. Waiting way too long for someone to help me find where to go for a workshop. No signs saying whivh level you are on so I ended up spending 15 mins traipsing around the place. Finally skmeone was free. He treated me like crap. Very condescending and rude. Wont ever be staying here cause of this. Food was average barely enough to feed everyone in my group and coffee boiler wasnt working in the morning.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank angy27986 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D'orne F, Manager at Mercure Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Meh

I am so sorry about your most recent experience here at the Mercure Hotel. I appologise for the staff that did not treat you as they should have and want to reasure you that we do not condone such service. I also wanted to let you know that we have taken steps to rectify the issue you raised about the location of our funtion rooms and how dificult it can be to navigate your way around the Hotel. We are in the process of having additional signage made up that will point our conference guests in the right direction.

I hope we get a chance to show you how you should be treated as a guest at the Mercure Brisbane in the future.

Kind regards

Laurence Nathan
HOD Mercure Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

First visit. So close to the Mall and all the shopping.
We were on the 12th floor, the room was super clean very impressed.
The room was compact but had everything in it you could want. Airconditioning was good and the KG bar downstairs very nice.
Excellent value for money. I booked direct with the hotel and got as good a deal as I could find anywhere. Checkin was a bit busy but I suppose cant be helped at peak times.
Will definitely use again.

Room Tip: Ask to be well away from the lift areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrewww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed here for 1 night while on business. Obviously the hotel has undergone a refurb - which was very tasteful, but parts of the hotel still smelt tired (my room opened onto the ugly fire stairs). I found the room just a tad small, and the lighting not great - it needs to be a little more powerful.

I ordered room service, and thought the food was really great. Original, not just the club sandwich on the menu! When I noticed the glass of wine I'd ordered with my room service was off, they were prompt to change it, and very apologetic. (Better check my bill - I wonder if they thought good customer service would be to waiver that?).
The location is lovely, right on the river, with great access to the beautiful river paths. I could not fault my river view.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Yvette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D'orne F, Manager at Mercure Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Yvette L

It was a pleasure for me to read your review about the Hotel. I was realy happy that you noticed our recent refurb and that we met your expectations regarding the room service food and that you enjoyed the river view.

On another note I wasn't so happy to read about the areas we did not meet your expectations and these are the areas we need to focus on to ensure all our guests are happy.

I appreciate the time you have taken to post a review and hopefully the next time you stay with us we can meet all of your needs.

Kind regards

Laurence Nathan
HOD Mercure Brisbane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Location was excellent - very handy to both Central and Roma Street stations, Queen Street Mall and South Bank. Pleasant walk to riverside, botanical gardens and Roma St Parklands. Lovely room with very comfortable bedding and modern fit out and tasteful furnishings - fabulous river view! New foyer is fabulous - quality free self service coffee, magazines/papers and I-pads for use. Staff provided good service. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: River side higher floors fabulous view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nelcums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Hotel is close to the river and close to the Queen St mall. We were lucky to be upgraded to a river view room, from the bed we could see the Brisbane wheel by day, and spectacular by night. We walked one block to the free river ferry for a lovey 90 min return trip by sunset. Our room was roomy, very clean and quiet. Renovations were almost finished but the reception staff made sure they did their best so guests had minimum disruption. The entry is on a one way road but we found it OK with the help of our GPS. Car parking underneath was convenient. Our meal in the Quay restaurant was lovely.

Room Tip: River view rooms have lovely view, higher floors best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Brisbane King George Square
0.1 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#62 of 168 in Brisbane
1,585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Next Hotel Brisbane
Next Hotel Brisbane
#13 of 168 in Brisbane
3,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
0.4 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#32 of 168 in Brisbane
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Brisbane

Address: 85 - 87 North Quay, Brisbane, Queensland 4003, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#53 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#54 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: £64 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Brisbane 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Brisbane River is Mercure Brisbane.The hotel offers 194 guests guest rooms and suites, 11 conferenceand meeting rooms, a restaurant, bar, pool, and sauna. For business,conference, and leisure guests, this Brisbane city hotel is just stepsfrom the Queen Street Mall, Southbank cultural precinct, the BrisbaneConvention and Exhibition Centre, and public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, ACCOR, Prestigia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Mercure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing