We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for Southbank and City”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mercure Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Brisbane
Ranked #51 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Billinudgel, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great for Southbank and City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights whilst attending a conference at the Convention Centre. Nice recently refurbished room, easy walk over the bridge to South Bank. Highly recommend the Steamboat Expresso next door for a quick healthy breakfast, good coffee and excellent fresh juiced smoothies.
Hotel also only a short walk from Queen Street Mall also, so all in all a great place to stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Brisbane, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear lain R

We appreciate your great feedback following your recent stay with us. I am pleased our location across from Southbank made it easy for you to get to your Conference at the Convention Centre. We are fortunate that we are also located so close to the CBD and Queen Street Mall and we thank you for pointing that out to our Trip Advisor readers.

We hope to see you here again soon!

Kind regards
The Mercure Brisbane Team
Melissa Longhurst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    723
    396
    100
    48
See reviews for
346
578
157
450
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

This is the hotel we stay at for work and it's in a great location. Walking distance to Southbank and into the city. The service is great, the room service is delivered in a timley manner and the staff are all lovely. The rooms are all beautiful since renovations. Great to experience Brisbane!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Brisbane, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Jake472

We appreciate you taking the time to post such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. It is always pleasing to receive such positive feedback about newly refurbished Hotel, from our business travellers.

Our room service team will be delighted to read your comments on their service, as will all our staff.

Thank you again for posting a review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards
The Mercure Brisbane Team
Melissa Longhurst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Handy to sights. Good view over the river (think we had room 1012). Quiet. Close to Roma St station for our train trip north. Comfortable mattress on large bed. Helpful staff. Would definitely stay there again if we are in Brisbane in the future.

Room Tip: on a higher floor with view over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trishanddoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Brisbane, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear TrishandDoug

Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review of your recent stay with us.

We are pleased you found the Hotel central to the Roma Street Station and loved your view of the Brisbane River from your room. I know that all staff will be happy to read your kind words regarding their helpful service.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards
The Mercure Brisbane Team
Melissa Longhurst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasse, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

due to the name or label Mercure and regarding the price , I was waiting for better.

or examples :
-no free internet in the room (despite booking the more expensive one)
-no bath int the batroom, just a shower
-isolation was not good (wind through the window, noise, sometine odours through ventilation
- brekfast quitee expensive for the services (it was better in the city with less price jut close to the hotel)

nonetheless, the people were nice, and the hotel is locted just close to southbank (with a city room view on the 3rd level I finlly had a river and southbank view... that was nice).
Room are beautifull and well amenaged (2 place bedroom, sofa, small desk, mini bar -expensive as everywhere- ) showerroom, You can fund all you need to iron your closes (I was for ma ob so it was nice).

Due to price and services I can't recommand t without some reserve...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curculio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Brisbane, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Curculio

Thankyou for reviewing our Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed the view from your room overlooking the spectacular Brisbane River and across to Southbank. I am happy you found the furnishings to be beautiful & comfortable.

I was disappointed to read that your stay was overshadowed by the fact we did not provide you with a room that had a bath, please feel free to ask when you next stay with us so we can put you in a room with a bath. Although we do charge for Wi-Fi which is run by an external company we do offer FREE WIFI in our Lobby and apologise if you were not advised of this.

We hope that you to choose to stay with us again when you are next in Brisbane.

Kind regards
The Mercure Brisbane Team
Melissa Longhurst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

While the room was nice and there are plenty of power points, that's about the end of my positive comments.
Right from check in where it was their biggest check in with everyone from my conference booking in but they only had one person on reception. Check in took half an hour!!
From there, the food and beverage attendants were less than pleasant. Buffet of coffee urns and when asked if an empty one would be replaced I was brushed off and told that there is no new coffee in the most rudest way. Then when asking the bell man for assistance, his immediate response was as if I had interrupted him on the toilet.
I am not impressed with the service at this hotel and I am sure you can find a room that's just as nice but with employees who are happy to be there. I am bitterly disappointed and will be making a recommendation to my conference coordinators to have the conference elsewhere next year!

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Nina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Brisbane, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Nina W

We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on Trip Advisor. Please accept my sincere apologies for the poor quality of service you experienced whilst at the hotel. This is certainly not the experience we would like our guests to have and I thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. I can assure you that your feedback has been shared with our front-line & outlet team members and our service standards and expectations have been communicated to all.

If you would like to further discuss the details of your previous stay, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. We hope the experience will not alter your confidence in the Mercure Brisbane, and that you will provide us with the opportunity to welcome you again.

Kind regards
THe Mercure Brisbane Team
Melissa Longhurst
H1750-sb05@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Brisbane King George Square
0.1 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#58 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pullman Brisbane King George Square
0.3 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#52 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.2 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#17 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Brisbane

Property: Mercure Brisbane
Address: 85 - 87 North Quay, Brisbane, Queensland 4003, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#48 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#52 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Brisbane 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Brisbane River is Mercure Brisbane.The hotel offers 194 guests guest rooms and suites, 11 conferenceand meeting rooms, a restaurant, bar, pool, and sauna. For business,conference, and leisure guests, this Brisbane city hotel is just stepsfrom the Queen Street Mall, Southbank cultural precinct, the BrisbaneConvention and Exhibition Centre, and public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Mercure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing