We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms, nice staff, but with some unexpected disappointments” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novotel Brisbane
Ranked #36 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, nice staff, but with some unexpected disappointments”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

We've stayed in this hotel over two nights during our honeymoon. I am a platinum member of the Accor loyalty programme A-club and so we got ourselves an upgrade to a premier room, which was really nice. Our view from the top floor -14 - was slightly obstructed, but the room was amazing nevertheless.

The staff is very nice, as could be also expected in a 4 star hotel.

The location has an upside - it is very central, 15 mins walk from all important PoI's in Brisbane CBD. On the flip side though, access to this hotel on foot is very inconvenient. One has to cross roads and avoid traffic without pedestrian crossing being available when returning from the centre.

Parking in the hotel is an issue. The hotel "negotiated" rate us $28 per day, so we were looking at paying $56 just for the parking!

We were going to pay for our stay with my Accor A-club vouchers. Accor's reward programme is already probably the least value programme on the market. To make the already bad situation worse, Accor stopped provisioning vouchers in AUD a couple weeks ago, and so I had to print them in USD. And this is where things went terribly wrong. The central rate on the day of 0.96AUD/1USD was translated by the hotel to a rip off 0.86AUD/1USD!!! Suddenly I was way short of credit and had to pay the difference, whereas the vouchers should have entitled me to extra credit!

I am giving this hotel 3 stars out of 5 for location and parking. The loyalty programme isn't the hotel's fault, but worth mentioning in case you were considering joining the much advertised A-club in every Accor hotel!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danfarkas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Novotel-Brisbane, General Manager at Novotel Brisbane, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Dear Danfarkas,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. Great to read that you enjoyed our rooms and quality of service from our staff. Our pedestrian access is a bit odd down to the right of the hotel, which is simply the way Brisbane sprawled. However, there is a suitable crossing twenty metres to the left of the hotel, which will get you to any destination in the CBD. Our parking is organised directly below the hotel in a public but secure carpark. Instead of paynig the near $100 per day, we subsidise this cost to a guest flat rate of $28 per day, which is very competitive with the local market.
I have passed on your feedback about A-Club and thank you once again for providing this.

I wish you a pleasant travelling future!

Warm regards,
Ben Patten
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    887
    1,185
    297
    88
    51
See reviews for
563
836
269
669
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

We booked this hotel (2 Rooms) over the web and having stayed in other Novatels were expecting it to be pretty good for the last night of our business trip. Well,...I was blown away at the awesome service we recieved from the Reception on check in, we then dined in the restaraunt and our waitress was extremely helpful with the menu choices and drinks. The meal was fantastic, the seafood tower phenominal, and desserts to die for!
when we got back to the room i rang to book a wake up call and without any prompting or hesitation the extremely efficient receptionist asked if i would like the 2nd room to get the same wake up call. I have NEVER struck hotel staff as good as this.
I would have loved to stay on longer, and will DEFINATELY return. well done Novatel Brisbane.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Room was clean, service was good. Received complimentary upgrade upon request. Hotel was well within walking distance to Clubs and Restaurants in CDB and Fortitude Valley.
Would recommend a stay here

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Great hotel. Rooms spotless - lovely decor. Nice and quiet even though within easy walking distance to CBD and main shopping area. Staff very helpful. Couldn't fault dinner or breakfast. We are looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twojays_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

We spent the weekend in Brisbane and Novotel Brisbane is an excellent hotel to stay. The price is good and the hotel is very close to the centre. Excellent service, rooms are clean. We used the parking facilities, but the hotel is also close to the Central Station....we had a super weekend and highly recommend Novotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

From the time we arrived after a14hr flight, we were treated efficiently and friendly. Emma at reception was wonderful, what an asset she is. Made sure we could get into one of our rooms early, much appreciated. Rooms beautifully clean and modern decor. Every staff member was friendly, Hollie at the bar looked after our cocktails and again a wonderful member of the staff. Definetly recomend The Novotel Creek St to anyone staying in Brisbane. Well done on management for their choice of staff members, what a great Team!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Good city hotel. Clean fresh room and the artwork was actually pleasant to look at ,not the usual dull painting. Also better lighting than most hotels.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverThyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.4 mi away
Pullman Brisbane King George Square
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#26 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#21 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
0.5 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#55 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#9 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Brisbane

Property: Novotel Brisbane
Address: 200 Creek St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Brisbane
#21 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#24 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#29 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Brisbane 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Brisbane offers a preferred location within the city's business and shopping precincts. Novotel Brisbane boasts 296 well appointed guest rooms, a restaurant, lobby bar, cafe, outdoor pool, sauna, gymnasium, undercover parking, iMac computer station, in-room yoga channel and extensive conference facilities for up to 350 delegates. The professional, efficient staff and Novotel Brisbane's prime location make it the perfect choice while staying in Brisbane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Novotel Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Novotel
Accor Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing