We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top notch!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quay West Suites Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quay West Suites Brisbane
Ranked #62 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Top notch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

The highs:
great location-close to both free city loop bus stop & regular bus stop across from botanical gardens
excellent staff-props to Cameron for helping us make reservations for tours
very nice decor throughout
pool- it rocks, a bit small but classy and stays in the sun til late afternoon
rooms-incredible balcony that has access from living area & the bedroom,views to die for
laundry in suites-with the high humidity you sweat I did wash almost everyday
Lows:
No wi-fi in suites
Definitely on the $$$ end
Personal experience: tried to iron a pair of my husbands trousers, only to discover there was some kind of grease on the iron. Took to manager, they sent out to dry cleaners nice, but because of the grease the pants were steam burnt. I ask them to dispose of them since they were not presentable. It would have been nice for management to offer some kind of gesture.
Overall- I would definitely consider this hotel if I come back to Brisbane

Room Tip: Higher floor, view of the gardens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheUtahMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat F, General Manager at Quay West Suites Brisbane, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Warm greetings from Brisbane, Australia!

Thank you for your balanced review of Quay West Brisbane - I will be sure to pass on your praise to Cameron and his team for their warm service. Our unique recreation facilities are a property highlight which I am pleased you were able to enjoy, though I do note your comments regarding a mis-hap with the iron - I am sorry this impacted your stay with us and that we were unable to offer a resolution at the time. I agree that we should have extended some additional courtesy and, if this was not the case, would be pleased to address this directly offline. Please contact me directly +61 7 3853 6000 or H8783-GM@accor.com to address.

Regards
Mat Finch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    184
    67
    28
    16
See reviews for
134
183
32
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Quay West is well located to both the city centre, South Bank and West End. It has stunning views, warm and welcoming staff and it helped make our time away a breeze. Great to be able to do washing. Loved the pool. Wonderful sleep. Great choice!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the botanical gardens. Great views. We were on the 16th floor so road noise was mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat F, General Manager at Quay West Suites Brisbane, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Hi Susan G,

One of the highest compliments a guest can extend is the reassurance that they will return to the hotel - thank you! We are thrilled that we were able to provide an enjoyable, relaxing stay and look forward to seeing you next time!

Regards
Mat Finch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Beautifully positioned opposite Botanical Gardens, with river views. Away from the hustle and bustle but close to everything. Professional efficient service. Rooms are well appointed. Highly recommended - a place you would come back to!

Room Tip: If there is a concert on at River Stage there maybe some noise inconvenience but it finishes up not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouO74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat F, General Manager at Quay West Suites Brisbane, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear LouO74,

Our location certainly is 'one of a kind' and I am delighted you were able to both appreciate and enjoy the space and tranquility - it definitely makes for a relaxing visit no matter the reason! Thanks for taking the time to write your review, we look forward to seeing you for another visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

This hotel seems to be exclusively composed of suites. Suites have a bedroom, living room, kitchen, bath and laundry machines. Modern comfortable furnishings. Its not a cheap place but the location is excellent. The hotel seems to charge for everything. Wifi is not cheap. A simple breakfast of eggs/toast/coffee runs $20. Locals will direct you to "cafes" for breakfast nearby.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjivsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat F, General Manager at Quay West Suites Brisbane, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Hi Sanjiv,

Greetings from Brisbane! We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and were able to make the most of our apartment-style hotel which certainly provides for additional space and comfort. Whilst the majority of our rates include 'room only' you may wish to choose our River View premium room type on you next stay for extra value as not only do these apartments provide wonderful views from the top floors but the rate also includes complimentary wi-fi and breakfast each morning.

Regards
Mat Finch - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

As a business traveler, I stay at quite a few hotels and I tend to try and spread the love so to speak. However, I am now narrowing down my selection and this one has definitely made the shortlist primarily due to the apartment layout, views and location.

After a easy early check-in, I settled into my room which was well layed out for a 1 bedroom apartment (quite spacious) and has decent internet speeds. The balcony was big and provided great views over the botanical gardens and river. The bathroom was also a good size and had a separate bath and shower (HOORAY!). I also received a welcome bottle of wine which was a nice touch as an Accor member...

The only downside was the centrally controlled air-conditioning. It was quite warm during my stay and the aircon failed to keep things cool. It also made for a somewhat uncomfortable sleep.

The rest of the stay was great. Here is a summary of the hotel points:

Sleep quality: 2.5/5 (All pillows were too big and the air con didn't work the best)
Gym: 4/5 (No free weights! Nice pool area though)
Location: 4.5/5 (FYI - Not that convenient though if arriving by train)
Food: 4/5 (Slightly on the expensive side (as far as hotel prices go) for in-room choices)
Overall welcome-ness: 5/5 (Thank you for finding my glasses and saving them for me)!
Aircon/heating: 2/5
Bathroom: 4.5/5

Room Tip: High floors with botanical garden views and a balcony are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat F, General Manager at Quay West Suites Brisbane, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Hi Chris S,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a balanced review with the online community! We are thrilled to learn that we're now on your shortlist for Brisbane accommodation and will be sure to look at the areas you mention for improvement so as to become your first choice for accommodation next time.

Regards
Mat Finch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyoto, Japan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

These apartments are really good. They are clean and well finished with everything you would need. The hotel staff were very helpful and the location is very convinient for access to all city attractions. A taxi to the central station is around 8-10 dollars or a 10-15 min walk.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat F, General Manager at Quay West Suites Brisbane, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Yorkiee,

Thank you for your kind words following your recent visit to Australia, I am delighted the team were able to make your stay special.

Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here to be close to the city centre for a conference and it was great.
We had a view of the city from our room, were close to Roma at station , The Mall and Southbank so we could leave the car and walk everywhere or catch public transport.
Good position and a nice room with a kitchenette too.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funnydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat F, General Manager at Quay West Suites Brisbane, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Hi funnydude, thanks for your positive comments - we are happy that we were able to meet your needs and look forward to seeing you when you travel next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#25 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#24 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Treasury Hotel & Casino
Treasury Hotel & Casino
#47 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#21 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#14 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quay West Suites Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Brisbane

Property: Quay West Suites Brisbane
Address: 132 Alice St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#27 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#29 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#58 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden-inspired oasis nestled alongside Brisbane’s Botanic Gardens, Quay West Suites is Brisbane’s only 5-star, all-suite hotel offering unrivalled, attentive service and stylish, self-contained apartment accommodation. With all apartments boasting spectacular garden or panoramic city views Quay West is the ideal location to introduce yourself to the ‘river city’.All apartments have been refurbished and combine luxurious hotel comforts with apartment freedom and convenience. Featuring full kitchen and laundry facilities, open-plan living and dining rooms with spacious furnished balconies and completely separate bedrooms with an indulgent bedding package, providing elements of ‘home’ whether for a short or long stay. The signature recreation area, with resort-style pool, sundeck, gymnasium, sauna and outdoor spa, is unsurpassed in a CBD location and compliments the sunny Queensland outdoor lifestyle.With a relaxed, contemporary menu and unique garden outlook, McMahon’s Restaurant and Fraser’s Bar, located adjacent to the lobby on the ground floor, are the ideal place to relax with friends or colleagues and watch the world go by, and are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Quay West Suites Brisbane also offers 24 hour in-suite dining.Please note that Quay West Suites Brisbane is a non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Quay West Suites Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Quay West Hotel Brisbane
Quay West Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing