We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Sebel Quay West Brisbane
Ranked #62 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A bit disappointed”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited quay west after choosing a secret hotel deal on wotif. I was very excited as it promised great views and luxury accommodation. The desk staff were lovely but we were only put on floor 3. The room was nice but not as nice as we expected for a 5 star apartment hotel. The room did not even have a champagne glass. We booked this at least 2 months earlier but were told when I questioned it the next morning that they were full and if I want a high floor in future to ring rather than put it as a request. Not sure if we would stay again as for similar price range stamford hotel has beautiful river views from all its rooms rather than looking at trees in a park. Wotif expectation was definitely not met.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank hungtydiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat F, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Brisbane, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear hungtydiner,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your stay with us. Pleasingly, our Reception team continue to provide lovely service however I apologise that we were not able to accommodate an upgrade from the garden view apartment booked to a river view apartment on this occasion.

Regards
Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    193
    70
    29
    16
See reviews for
136
191
32
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We are in the middle of a four day stay in a one bedroom garden view apartment. It has been a great experience, Mat and Amy has made us feel very welcome. The check in was friendly and efficient. Amy quickly arranged for an Apple Airport Express so that we could access wi-fi in our room. Thank you.

The room is large, clean and well equipped with everything we expected. The kitchen and laundry were in good condition, the bed was comfy and there was plenty of storage for our clothing. The bathroom was a bit small, but the toiletries were very nice.

The view over the gardens was worth the extra $. We very much enjoyed sitting on the verandah with an afternoon drink. The view as the sunset bathed the sandstone escarpment across the river in a golden light was glorious. The gardens are a lovely sight complete with pond and fountain.

A five minute walk took us Albert Street and lots of great eating options, including Peony. A bit further up is a Coles in Queen Street Mall. A Woolworths is in Edward Street. Friendship Bridge is a five minute walk, from there Southbank is at hand. The City Hopper ferry stops at Eagle Street Jetty, 10 minutes away.

Highly recommended. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat F, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Brisbane, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Wolin,

It certainly sounds like you are enjoying your experience so far and have been able to make the most of the fantastic central location of Quay West - Brisbane has such a diverse range of activities all within easy distance! If there is anything further we can do to ensure the remainder of your stay is magical please do contact me directly.

Regards, Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay, pool is amazing, its the small things that count the staff are so friendly. Nice views from the balcony, the restaurant is good too. It really needs free wifi these days though, and beds are very comfortable but kings would be good.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank LA1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat F, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Brisbane, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear LA1275,

We are most grateful for the 'perfect' rating - our service team are certainly talented at anticipating the 'small things' that contribute to making a stay magical. I am sure they will be delighted to learn that this is recognised. Next time you travel, our Premium River View apartments may be an ideal choice for you as these all include free wi-fi in the room rate.

Thanks again for recognising our service team!

Regards, Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Australia
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

As a nice birthday present my wife had booked us into a one bedroom apartment for 3 nights. Quay West won my vote when I saw the note on the apartments desk stating "In honour of the fallen, a donation on your behalf has been made to the ANZAC Commemoration Committee." & enclosed was a small commemorative button for me. Nice one Max Finch, Manager. As well as it being my birthday and remembering the ANZACs, I was also celebrating the service of my Son and Grandson who are both members of the Australian Army :) The apartment (6th floor) had a large balcony overlooking the Botanical Gardens and faced south so no harsh glare from the sun. A separate lounge room with fairly plain but adequate furniture. 42" TV and dining table and chairs. Small well equipped (for 2 persons) kitchen, a small laundry with washing m/c, drier, tub and ironing board and iron. Bathroom had full sized bath, separate shower, good towels. Bedroom has a decent QS bed (I would have preferred KS), plenty of storage, 32" TV and also access to the balcony. Bedroom furniture same as lounge room in style, colour etc. Apartment was clean, well laid out, well lit and A/C worked fine, adjustable and not noisy. Alice street outside had very heavy traffic at times but double glazing worked well and barely no noise intrusion into apartment. Small problem with electric kettle promptly attended to. Gym well equipped and a very nice pool and separate spa. Didn't have my car so can't comment re parking. It's only a 10 minute stroll to Queen Street and QPC, Museum & Art Gallery etc. Conveniently located. Check in/out smoothly and pleasantly done. I rate the apartment 4 stars. Grab a 'special' via booking agents or hotel direct and you wont regret it :)

Room Tip: Floors 5 and above give nice view of Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat F, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Brisbane, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Terry M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. I am delighted to learn that our small gesture in remembrance of those who served was so well received.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Regards, Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Good location overlooking the botanic gardens & within easy walking reach of the river promenade and the south bank development. We had a very nice suite but despite several requests to sort out our inability to connect to the hotel wifi in the room this was not resolved during our stay meaning that we had to sit in the lobby to get emails - not good I'm afraid!
Although this is a nice place to stay it was a bit too quiet for our liking - most times it was like the Marie Celeste in the lobby/bar area. So if you like peace & quiet it will be ideal.

Room Tip: Try & get a room close to the hotel wifi hub!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat F, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Brisbane, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear PWutt,

We are grateful for you taking the time to share your recent experience, notwithstanding the wifi challenges you encountered. I am sorry that our team were unable to satisfactorily remedy the internet issue for you and hope this did not impact the overall enjoyment of your time with us.

Regards
Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Another property that seems to be in need of a makeover to justify the price. I visit here a bit and have watched a gradual deterioration in the rooms and decor; it's not a killer but I do see it. It wont stop me visiting again though as I like the location, park and river views are great

Room Tip: Pay for the premium room and get the good rooms with a view, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REK59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat F, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Brisbane, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear REK59,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on our hotel, it is always insightful to gain input from a regular visitor. We couldn't agree more regarding the amazing views from our premium rooms however we remain committed to ensuring our rooms and facilities are maintained to the highest quality. If there are any specific areas you would like to make mention of I would value the chance to catch up when you visit next.

Regards
Mat Finch - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed the weekend and really liked this hotel, well located and the staff were very nice and gave us some good tips. We were running late for a wedding and they saved our bacon, the next morning we appreciated how quiet this hotel was.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat F, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Brisbane, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear John F,

Thank you for your kind words following your recent stay with us. The team at Quay West Brisbane are committed to providing a warm, welcoming experience and it pleases us to know that we continue to impress in this area.

Regards
Mat Finch - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#28 of 159 in Brisbane
1,186 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#30 of 159 in Brisbane
994 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treasury Hotel & Casino
Treasury Hotel & Casino
#48 of 159 in Brisbane
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#14 of 159 in Brisbane
996 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#24 of 159 in Brisbane
2,693 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#54 of 159 in Brisbane
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Quay West Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Quay West Brisbane

Property: The Sebel Quay West Brisbane
Address: 132 Alice St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#27 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#29 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#58 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sebel Quay West Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden-inspired oasis nestled alongside Brisbane’s Botanic Gardens, Quay West Suites is Brisbane’s only 5-star, all-suite hotel offering unrivalled, attentive service and stylish, self-contained apartment accommodation. With all apartments boasting spectacular garden or panoramic city views Quay West is the ideal location to introduce yourself to the ‘river city’.All apartments have been refurbished and combine luxurious hotel comforts with apartment freedom and convenience. Featuring full kitchen and laundry facilities, open-plan living and dining rooms with spacious furnished balconies and completely separate bedrooms with an indulgent bedding package, providing elements of ‘home’ whether for a short or long stay. The signature recreation area, with resort-style pool, sundeck, gymnasium, sauna and outdoor spa, is unsurpassed in a CBD location and compliments the sunny Queensland outdoor lifestyle.With a relaxed, contemporary menu and unique garden outlook, McMahon’s Restaurant and Fraser’s Bar, located adjacent to the lobby on the ground floor, are the ideal place to relax with friends or colleagues and watch the world go by, and are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Quay West Suites Brisbane also offers 24 hour in-suite dining.Please note that Quay West Suites Brisbane is a non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Sebel Quay West Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Quay West Hotel Brisbane
Quay West Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing