We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quay West Suites Brisbane
Ranked #63 of 158 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Over priced”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed just one night...but not convinced of the value. Rooms were adequate-clean, but not luxurious- and beds OK. At $25 for breakfast buffet, I expected much more than fruit, bread and cheese. Overpriced for what you get here...and advertised as much more.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Picklesinjuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat F, General Manager at Quay West Suites Brisbane, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Picklesinjuice,

I sincerely appreciate you choosing to stay with us recently and regret that your experience did not live up to the high style our guests are accustomed to. I understand that comparison between a traditional hotel fit-out and our unique residential product is difficult, as our large apartments are designed equally to accommodate short and long staying guests in comfort and style whereas hotel rooms are often geared towards a short, luxury experience.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback..
Regards
Mat - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    186
    69
    28
    16
See reviews for
134
186
32
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Great location, opposite the botanic gardens, and only a short walk to the restaurants on the river. The staff were really friendly and well organised, check-in was quick and simple. Our room was very well presented, great facilities in the room and had brilliant view of the garden. All in all had and enjoyable stay, will stay again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat F, General Manager at Quay West Suites Brisbane, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Paulie06,

On behalf of the team at Quay West, we sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your expereince with the online community. We are all delighted that your time away was enjoyable and comfortable; we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed in the pent house for a special night with a little than above average accomodation. What disappointment!

After paying $1300 for 1 night expecting 5 star (as that is what is rated). With cracked windows , tacky lino flooring , a dirty old crusty kettle and little to offer.

Feel very ripped off!!

As soon as i got to the room I wanted to leave. I could not without losing the whole $1330.

Bad start to the night!!!

By the way penthouse means about 6 floors down from the top apartment.

To me it seems like false advertising.

No breakfast , no nothing

Room Tip: Don't do it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leilani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat F, General Manager at Quay West Suites Brisbane, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Leilani S,

I would like to express my sincere apologies for the issues you raise following your reservation of one of our two Penthouse Collection apartments. I understand that you were in communication with my management team during your stay and I am disappointed that we were not able to resolve these issues while you were with us. I would certainly value the opportunity to discuss how we can further recover and would be pleased for you to contact me personally to assist.

Warm regards
Mat Finch - Hotel Manager
+61 7 3853 6000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed two nights Sunday and Mon May 2014.

Nice location opposite Botanic Gardens in Alice St. About a 5 min walk up to Queens St Mall.

Suite was nice with a big deck over looking the gardens. Furnishings carpet etc were in good order inc the kitchenette. However the bathroom was a disappointment. Not clean with hair in the tub and mould in the shower. The vanity was knocked around with paint chips and worn off from the woodwork. The toilet seat was a good 10 years overdue for replacement was discoloured and very scuzzy and unsanitary. see photos.

The staff were good and over all was a pleasant stay but definitely no where near 5 star. Glad I wasn't paying the going rates.

Room Tip: Breaky not cheap. $35/night v parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gas000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat F, General Manager at Quay West Suites Brisbane, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hi Gas000,

Thank you very much for your balanced review which, for the most part, highlights our uniquely spacious apartments and enviable views over Brisbane and the Botanic Gardens. I have discussed the condition of the bathroom with our technical team and will ensure that they track down the apartment to remedy these issues for future geusts. I sincerely hope this did not impact your level of comfort.

Regards
Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Given the $450 rate per night the service was terrible. had to ask for my bags to be unloaded from my car.

It seemed to be a problem when I asked for my married name to be registered on the room as well as this was the name my clients would ask for.

My meal was not cooked. The lamb was overdone on the outside and raw in the centre. I then had to argue with the room service girl about the charge.

I have stayed at this hotel twice a year for business for the last 12 years. I'm. Not sure I will stay again. The cost is data too high and the service just not at all up to par for this type of charge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat F, General Manager at Quay West Suites Brisbane, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Caroline,

From the outset, please allow me to apologise for our rare lapse in excellence during your recent visit. We sincerely appreciate the long-standing relationship you have enjoyed with Quay West over the past 12 years and are committed to resolving the issues you raise. I would welcome the opoprtunity to discuss your stay in detail as well as extend a return visit to ensure we are afforded the opportunity to continue our association.

Regards
Mat - Hotel Manager
+61 7 3853 6000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited quay west after choosing a secret hotel deal on wotif. I was very excited as it promised great views and luxury accommodation. The desk staff were lovely but we were only put on floor 3. The room was nice but not as nice as we expected for a 5 star apartment hotel. The room did not even have a champagne glass. We booked this at least 2 months earlier but were told when I questioned it the next morning that they were full and if I want a high floor in future to ring rather than put it as a request. Not sure if we would stay again as for similar price range stamford hotel has beautiful river views from all its rooms rather than looking at trees in a park. Wotif expectation was definitely not met.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank hungtydiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat F, General Manager at Quay West Suites Brisbane, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear hungtydiner,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your stay with us. Pleasingly, our Reception team continue to provide lovely service however I apologise that we were not able to accommodate an upgrade from the garden view apartment booked to a river view apartment on this occasion.

Regards
Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
196 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We are in the middle of a four day stay in a one bedroom garden view apartment. It has been a great experience, Mat and Amy has made us feel very welcome. The check in was friendly and efficient. Amy quickly arranged for an Apple Airport Express so that we could access wi-fi in our room. Thank you.

The room is large, clean and well equipped with everything we expected. The kitchen and laundry were in good condition, the bed was comfy and there was plenty of storage for our clothing. The bathroom was a bit small, but the toiletries were very nice.

The view over the gardens was worth the extra $. We very much enjoyed sitting on the verandah with an afternoon drink. The view as the sunset bathed the sandstone escarpment across the river in a golden light was glorious. The gardens are a lovely sight complete with pond and fountain.

A five minute walk took us Albert Street and lots of great eating options, including Peony. A bit further up is a Coles in Queen Street Mall. A Woolworths is in Edward Street. Friendship Bridge is a five minute walk, from there Southbank is at hand. The City Hopper ferry stops at Eagle Street Jetty, 10 minutes away.

Highly recommended. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat F, General Manager at Quay West Suites Brisbane, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Wolin,

It certainly sounds like you are enjoying your experience so far and have been able to make the most of the fantastic central location of Quay West - Brisbane has such a diverse range of activities all within easy distance! If there is anything further we can do to ensure the remainder of your stay is magical please do contact me directly.

Regards, Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#26 of 158 in Brisbane
1,150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#24 of 158 in Brisbane
2,347 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#22 of 158 in Brisbane
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 158 in Brisbane
2,228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#12 of 158 in Brisbane
870 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treasury Hotel & Casino
Treasury Hotel & Casino
#48 of 158 in Brisbane
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quay West Suites Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Brisbane

Property: Quay West Suites Brisbane
Address: 132 Alice St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#27 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#29 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#58 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden-inspired oasis nestled alongside Brisbane’s Botanic Gardens, Quay West Suites is Brisbane’s only 5-star, all-suite hotel offering unrivalled, attentive service and stylish, self-contained apartment accommodation. With all apartments boasting spectacular garden or panoramic city views Quay West is the ideal location to introduce yourself to the ‘river city’.All apartments have been refurbished and combine luxurious hotel comforts with apartment freedom and convenience. Featuring full kitchen and laundry facilities, open-plan living and dining rooms with spacious furnished balconies and completely separate bedrooms with an indulgent bedding package, providing elements of ‘home’ whether for a short or long stay. The signature recreation area, with resort-style pool, sundeck, gymnasium, sauna and outdoor spa, is unsurpassed in a CBD location and compliments the sunny Queensland outdoor lifestyle.With a relaxed, contemporary menu and unique garden outlook, McMahon’s Restaurant and Fraser’s Bar, located adjacent to the lobby on the ground floor, are the ideal place to relax with friends or colleagues and watch the world go by, and are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Quay West Suites Brisbane also offers 24 hour in-suite dining.Please note that Quay West Suites Brisbane is a non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quay West Suites Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Quay West Hotel Brisbane
Quay West Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing