We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Sebel Quay West Brisbane
Ranked #62 of 160 Hotels in Brisbane
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 14 November 2009

The apartment we stayed in had an excellent view over the park and was clean. The facilities within the apartment were excellent and had everything we required to be self-sufficient including a full oven, microwave, dishwasher, fridge freezer, washing machine and tumble dryer. The rooms have internet access. The outside pool was small and the gym equipment was very limited comprising of a multi gym, rowing machine, two runners and a broken cycle machine. The apartments have undercover parking.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfboyNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    193
    70
    29
    16
See reviews for
136
191
32
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Disclaimer - On arrival (after midnight) we were upgraded to the Executive Suite on the top floor of this beautiful hotel. As such this review can not be applied to the normal rooms/suites in this hotel.

The hotel is perfectly located for a young family, close to the city but not too close to be noisy, across the road from the botanic gardens and also a short walk to a ferry terminal for a two minute trip across the river to South Bank (a wonderful place for young children as well as great food). A great location if driving to the Gold Coast (and it's theme parks), simply drive out of the hotel, turn left at the end of the road and keep driving for 40-60 minutes. Getting back to the hotel from the Gold Coast is almost as easy, quick exit from the motorway, drive around the block and back into the hotel.

Staff are very helpful and efficient. Room service staff were very professional when they rang back two minutes after taking our order to tell us that they had just started preparing the meal for a large function and would actually be about 45 minutes until our order was ready, rather than letting us wait.

On another occasion we required a cleaner to clean up some spilt red wine, he was very helpful, professional and politely asked me to stay out of the way so that I would not cut my bare feet on the broken glass, a very nice touch.

The room was exceptional. Spacious, clean and comfortable. Bathrooms were well appointed and large, oversized bath in the main bathroom as well as a separate shower. Linen was clean and comfortable.

One complaint was the cobwebs and cigarette butts left on the balcony.

Altogether a wonderful experience for my family and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Brisbane.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We spent 3 nights in a one-bedroom apartment at the Quay West suites over a recent long weekend. The best feature of the Quay West Suites is undoubtedly the location, right opposite the picturesque Botanic Gardens and within walking distance to almost all of the main attractions in Brisbane (CBD, South Bank, Eagle St. Pier etc). We had a room overlooking the park with a very large balcony, which was great for sitting out in during the evening. I tend to agree with some of the reviewers regarding the apartments...While overall they are very comfortable and well-sized, they could use a facelift (newer furniture and appliances etc) if the Quay West is to live up to its 5-star billing. This is really the only (slight) negative and the rest of the facilities in the building are very well maintained. The staff are also very efficient, extremely helpful and most importantly, pleasant! Overall, a most enjoyable stay and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Metaxas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

We booked two 2 bedroom 'suites' for family and friends visiting Brisbane for my son's
wedding. Booking was through a UK agent and brochures showed a modern classy
Hotel.
We were devastated at the run-down, tired and frankly dirty accomodation.
We immediately asked whether better rooms were available and complained that
the rooms were not 5star, the duty manager could not have been less helpful but
admitted that rooms were dated but that the position and view made up for these
problems.........I don't think so!
Having read previous reviews we expected better.
In brief the housekeeping was non-existent, the kitchens were very knocked about,
the bathrooms were grubby,bathroom 2 is a joke and the furniture is shabby.
Carpets were stained. During our 5 night stay the sheets were not changed the carpet
was not vacuumed .
Considering that this was a special occasion the Quay West experience was a major
let down. Oh and they charge for the safe and for parking.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Goodfellowsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

My partner and I booked Quay West last minute for RiverFire this year, and we were not disappointed. As far as accommodation goes the rooms are spacious (we had a one bedroom apartment), clean, modern and in a great location. These are fully equiped apartments and as such the 5 star rating is reflective of 5 star apartments not a 5 star hotel! We were impressed with the accommodation and would definitely stay here again and recommemnd it to friends. We had a fantastic view of RiverFire and the botanical gardens. The staff were accommodating and friendly. Overall, we thought that Quay West Brisbane was good value with great accommodation in an excellent location.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AussieTravelBug1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

This was our first time to Brisbane and wanted nic views of Kangaroo Point and the hotel had that. The 5 star rating does not represent the quality of the hotel. I would say 4 stars. Friendly enough staff. For the price we paid it was value for money. Fairly comfortable rooms. Needs updating though. Breakfast at the hotel is ok but I have had better. This would be a good hotel for busniess travellers and for brief stays. If you want high quality you could find something better though.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brr_ice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maroochydore, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

We recently stayed 1 night in a one bedroom apartment at the Quay West Suites, Brisbane. We were in apartment 404 and paid $226 including full buffet and cooked breakfast and car parking. The room had a lounge with 32 inch LCD TV and another smaller LCD TV in the bedroom. There was a King size bed here. My 7 year old son used the sofa bed which was comfortable & queen size I believe. House keeping happily made this up when we were ready. The kitchen was great with microwave and dishwasher. Only instant coffee and tea is provided (and a small milk) so I would bring your own coffee grounds as there was a Bodum to make 'real' Both the bedroom and lounge had a large balcony which overlooked the Botanical gardens. A laundry had a sink, washing machine and dryer, plus a small amount of laundry liquid was provided. Check out was 11am and we requested more time and the front desk kindly obliged. The apartments were clean and comfortable however there was some traffic noise which awoke me in the night. Perhaps request a higher floor. When you park your car, you are able to use any space which does not say "Private' on it. We asked the hotel to recommend a family friendly restaurant. Picassos at 46 Edward Street was overpriced, they didn't offer a child menu, so we had to pay $20 for a kid's pasta which was mostly wasted! Do NOT eat there. (See my restaurant review). Our frugal meal was over $100 for 3 pastas, a garlic bread and a bottle of white wine!! Queen St Mall is an easy walking distance from the apartments. I would definitely stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Ossitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#27 of 160 in Brisbane
1,189 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#31 of 160 in Brisbane
998 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#16 of 160 in Brisbane
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Treasury Hotel & Casino
Treasury Hotel & Casino
#49 of 160 in Brisbane
681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#54 of 160 in Brisbane
691 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#25 of 160 in Brisbane
2,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Quay West Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Quay West Brisbane

Property: The Sebel Quay West Brisbane
Address: 132 Alice St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#27 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#29 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#58 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sebel Quay West Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden-inspired oasis nestled alongside Brisbane’s Botanic Gardens, Quay West Suites is Brisbane’s only 5-star, all-suite hotel offering unrivalled, attentive service and stylish, self-contained apartment accommodation. With all apartments boasting spectacular garden or panoramic city views Quay West is the ideal location to introduce yourself to the ‘river city’.All apartments have been refurbished and combine luxurious hotel comforts with apartment freedom and convenience. Featuring full kitchen and laundry facilities, open-plan living and dining rooms with spacious furnished balconies and completely separate bedrooms with an indulgent bedding package, providing elements of ‘home’ whether for a short or long stay. The signature recreation area, with resort-style pool, sundeck, gymnasium, sauna and outdoor spa, is unsurpassed in a CBD location and compliments the sunny Queensland outdoor lifestyle.With a relaxed, contemporary menu and unique garden outlook, McMahon’s Restaurant and Fraser’s Bar, located adjacent to the lobby on the ground floor, are the ideal place to relax with friends or colleagues and watch the world go by, and are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Quay West Suites Brisbane also offers 24 hour in-suite dining.Please note that Quay West Suites Brisbane is a non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Sebel Quay West Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Quay West Hotel Brisbane
Quay West Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing