We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Sebel Quay West Brisbane
Ranked #64 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed 24 February 2010

We spent 5 nights here as part of a month long tour of Australia, arriving the day after Brisbane had experienced a major thunderstorm and flash flooding. We had booked a two bedroom suite in order to get the all round view of the city and Botanic Gardens. The location is amazing with easy access to the key areas of the city.

On arrival I discovered that I couldn't access the internet and, having contacted reception, had a series of very helpful staff visit the room to check it out. It transpired that lightening had affected their system and I was offered a data stick as a temporary means of connection, which I thought was impressive. As it turned out they had it fixed within 2-3 hours and this wasn't needed, but there was a phone call made by the manager later that evening to ensure everything was ok.

We had an inclusive breakfast package. The restaurant staff were friendly and efficient and the food excellent.

They have a wonderful pool, jacuzzi and adequate gym which I've used before and is very pleasant. One rather bizarre quirk is that they have an in-room safe that requires a key that they charge for - very strange!

All in all it was an enjoyable few days helped by an efficient hotel staff and comfortable room.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Empireboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
There are newer reviews for The Sebel Quay West Brisbane
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2010

Stayed for 4 nights and absoutley can't fault Quay West. The rooms are superb, not brand new but contemporary and well serviced. The pool and gym are good to either cool down or work up a sweat. The service was great, from check in to check out, all smiles and helpfulness. Wired internet was fast and not overly expensive (£5 a day).
The location can't be beaten, close enough to the CBD to walk to the shops and restaurants, but with views and noises of the gardens and river you feel miles from the city and only a short walk to the ferry and you are on the South Bank.
All this for less than £100 a night through Hotelclub. Made a business trip feel like a holiday!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim1m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor we really expected the apartment to be old and the bathrooms disgusting. It was neither. The apartment was great for us with a 4 month old and a 3 year old in tow. The views were amazing and the location fabulous with the park across the road for 3yo energy release and a decent walk to southbank or Queen St Mall. We stayed for a week and found the room service a life saver as both kids crashed after our big days out in the sun sightseeing. I had one of the best room service meals I've ever eaten - try the rack of lamb with ratatouile tartlet. I ordered it multiple times...

It is an aging 5 star hotel, but certainly stayed in worse that were also 5 star. The bathrooms are on the small size, but this is so much less important than living space. The pool area was great. The staff were brilliant and very helpful.

The only downside for us was that there were no childrens channels on the foxtel package the hotel has. We ended up buying movies for the preschooler to watch.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozzyturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2010

This hotel shows plenty of promise with a sparklng foyer and attentive staff, but the rooms are quite tired with worn fittings like carpets and furniture. With the potential to really deliver quality suite-style accommodation in a central location, this hotel needs a thorough make-over before it really can make the grade. The rooms are clean and well presented but really just need an upgrade to bring them up to standard. It will probably suit many looking for reasonable accommodation at a relatively budget price, but my colleague and I thought at the end of the day - it's pretty tired.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seaview088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

Stayed 1 night in Brisbane (for a wedding) and we are so pleased we chose to stay here. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful. It was a pleasant walk into the main part of the city and very nice next to the gardens. The pool area was lovely. Will stay longer next time.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Funky_Fifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

We spent three weeks traveling New Zealand and Australia, and this was the nicest hotel we stayed in. It had the most comfortable bed I experienced on the trip. The size of our suite was wonderful - two bedroom/two bath and a sleeper sofa for the fifth person with a wrap around balcony. Full kitchen, washer and dryer, and a view of the Botanical Gardens which made the whole package wonderful. The view of the river wrapping around the park was spectacular from the 16th floor and that alone made it worth it. The hot tub was the best we had experienced on the whole trip - very large, HOT and clean. The pool was great - if I could re-create it in my back yard I would. Exercise room was adequate and sauna needed to be warmed up for 30 minutes prior to use, but was good if you remembered to start it before hitting the pool. Friendly staff - great location right across from the botanical gardens. Check out the fruit bats in the park at dusk - quite an experience if you've never seen them before.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blanca36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2010

A spacy appartment with a fantastic view all round Brisbane via balconies (we were lucky to see a fantastic thunder and lightening display). Rooms are of a descent size with comfortabel beds. Kitchen and laundry facilities in appartment are more than adequate. Helpful reception, great pool, fitness centre can be improved on.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moerbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#31 of 168 in Brisbane
1,199 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#30 of 168 in Brisbane
1,008 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#17 of 168 in Brisbane
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#56 of 168 in Brisbane
708 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treasury Hotel & Casino
Treasury Hotel & Casino
#51 of 168 in Brisbane
689 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#25 of 168 in Brisbane
2,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Quay West Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Quay West Brisbane

Address: 132 Alice St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#28 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#30 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#58 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: £117 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sebel Quay West Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden-inspired oasis nestled alongside Brisbane’s Botanic Gardens, Quay West Suites is Brisbane’s only 5-star, all-suite hotel offering unrivalled, attentive service and stylish, self-contained apartment accommodation. With all apartments boasting spectacular garden or panoramic city views Quay West is the ideal location to introduce yourself to the ‘river city’.All apartments have been refurbished and combine luxurious hotel comforts with apartment freedom and convenience. Featuring full kitchen and laundry facilities, open-plan living and dining rooms with spacious furnished balconies and completely separate bedrooms with an indulgent bedding package, providing elements of ‘home’ whether for a short or long stay. The signature recreation area, with resort-style pool, sundeck, gymnasium, sauna and outdoor spa, is unsurpassed in a CBD location and compliments the sunny Queensland outdoor lifestyle.With a relaxed, contemporary menu and unique garden outlook, McMahon’s Restaurant and Fraser’s Bar, located adjacent to the lobby on the ground floor, are the ideal place to relax with friends or colleagues and watch the world go by, and are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Quay West Suites Brisbane also offers 24 hour in-suite dining.Please note that Quay West Suites Brisbane is a non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sebel Quay West Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Quay West Hotel Brisbane
Quay West Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing