We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value apartment hotel in central Brisbane”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel
Ranked #81 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I stayed in a 1 bedroom Deluxe Apartment for 2 nights in August 2012. The Rothbury is barely a 5 minute walk from the railway station so it was quick and easy to get there from the airport by train. I was visiting Brisbane for a friend’s wedding and the hotel turned out to be straight across the road from All Saints’ Church. This saved any hassles with taxis on the day of the wedding.

I got a friendly welcome from the front desk and wished I was staying longer when I saw the size of the apartment – sofa, dining table, desk, kitchen with fridge. I thought the breakfast left in the fridge each day was perfectly sufficient and being able to make the tea and toast in my room was far preferable to having to get dressed and go down to a hotel dining room. The Central location made it easy to get to the shops and bars in the city.

The only thing that would have made my stay better was wi-fi, and I did see a sign that it was coming soon. There was free wired internet but that meant digging out the laptop rather than just using the smartphone. It was fast enough the one time I did plug in.

I’d certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmesse2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2012

We had a girls night out planned for our christmas party and chose to stay at the beautiful and charming Rothbury as the location was just perfect for us. We found the staff to be very helpful and polite.
When entering the hotel it is like stepping back in time, the gorgeous stair case and the timber lifts are stunning. Our two bedroom apartment was spacious and clean and fitted with everything we needed.
We enjoyed sitting up on the roof top terrace and having a few drinks while admiring the few of the city.
The breakfast provided was well appreciated the next morning after a night out in the city.
We would gladly recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

The Rothbury Heritage Apartment Hotel is truly a rose among thorns. This beautiful Art Deco boutique hotel is close to all amenities and public transport. It is walking distance to the CBD and the restaurant precincts of Southbank and West End yet still retains it's old world charm. When you are staying at The Rothbury you can truly relax and enjoy! The staff are friendly, the rooms are clean and very spacious, and all your needs are accommodated. I have stayed at The Rothbury several times and I would never consider staying anywhere else in Brisbane! It's perfect for a long weekend stay or mid-week city break and I really like that the rooms have their own kitchens and washing machines. I would recommend The Rothbury to anyone planning on staying in Brisbane.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We sated at the Rothbruy for two nights, not only that we were greeted like move stars' thay up graded our room just because it was available! Clean fresh sheets and so comfortable the service was 5 stars with all the staff all way and not just when you get there to pick up your keys, fantastic value my best stay in brisvagas thank you Rothruy.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Stayed at the Rothbury Hotel last Friday, Saturday Sunday night with friends & family as we where all in town for a wedding. The reception at the hotel was very smooth, the rooms we had were fresh and clean, very comfortable and service was great. would recommend the Rothbury if staying in Brisbane, great value for money!!!!

Room Tip: two bedroom family suit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobby b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

What can I say about this place!! it was really bad. It took 15 mins to park our car, the driveway was very narrow and the carpark so small and if that wasn"t bad enough they charged $22 for the priviledge. Finally we checked in and headed to our room where we were hit by the most horrible musky smell. The decor in the apartment was outdated and the furniture really worn. They didn't seen to have spent any money on maintenance or upkeep but the worse part of this stay was when I was awoken at midnight by the strong musky smell in the apartment. I started having trouble breathing, i tried to get some fresh air in the room but i couldn't open the windows. I would not stay in this place again even if it was for free, it was that bad.

Dont Stay There!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shelly2126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

This hotel has a large sign outside saying it was voted the best 4 star hotel in Brisbane.
Having stayed there, I can't see how. A 4 star hotel may not be luxurious but one would expect a level of quality across all aspects. I think it is a reasonable 3 star hotel.

My room and the furniture in it were a little "tired" and the fitout is clearly flat box. Everything was there but didn't really hit the mark. For instance, the cutlery provided was clearly old and from many different sets. Similarly with the mugs. The "complimentary breakfast" is a packet of cereal, a small carton of milk, a small bottle of juice and 2 slices of bread in cling wrap, left in your room refrigerator.

It works but one might expect more. I have stayed in a number of apartment hotels in Brisbane and this one does not measure up to the others.

The hotel is well placed if one needs to be close to the train, at Central station but otherwise is some blocks away from shops and the CBD and it is an uphill climb to the hotel from those points.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BTDMSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Brisbane Central
0.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square
0.4 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#11 of 169 in Brisbane
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#14 of 169 in Brisbane
1,178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Art Series - The Johnson
Art Series - The Johnson
#13 of 169 in Brisbane
498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel

Address: 301 Ann St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Rothbury Heritage Apartment Hotel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#69 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: £66 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brisbane's leading Boutique Heritage Apartment Hotel, featuring the best of European Art Deco, style and warmth. ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel has 60 luxury self catering apartments with palatial proportions. The apartments combine the comfort, style and the grandeur of a bygone era with modern personal and business facilities and current technologies. ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel also offers guests the opportunity to unwind in our roof top garden setting where you can relax and enjoy your BBQ meal surrounded by city lights or under the stars. A spa and sauna are also available. Come and Experience ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel, where we take your business ..... personally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothbury On Ann Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing