We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice apartment hotel in Brisbane”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel
Ranked #81 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice apartment hotel in Brisbane”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

The Rothbury is a nice apartment hotel in an excellent part of Brisbane. I had a one bedroom apartment which consisted of a good sized lounge-kitchen, bedroom and bathroom/laundry. The main room had windows on two sides of the room which gave a good level of light and a view, albeit not exciting of Ann St toward the railway.

If you have read my other posts you would be aware I have a thing about hotels still using CRT TV's, not the Rothbury with a full digital service as well as the typical sky and fox channels, perfect for an evening after work.

For a night good, for a week great - everything you need.

For a unique morning experience, try the cafe under the Peoples Palace (two blocks along Ann St on Edward). Good coffee at the front, Tattoo Parlor where you would expect a couple of chairs.... (and yes the coffee is good, and tattoos don't seem to be required).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hop3fullyL0st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    62
    17
    10
    8
See reviews for
23
50
19
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

My husband and I stayed overnight at the Rothbury on Ann and I will never stay anywhere else in Brisbane again, it's perfect! Fantastic staff (thanks Michelle and Courtney), perfect location (right opposite central station) and smack bang in the middle of the city making it easy to get around on foot. The room was a good size with a kitchenette, washer/dryer and separate lounge area to the bedroom and car parking was available. The bed was comfortable There is also a rooftop area where we had our morning coffee and complimentary breakfast basket in the sunshine and warmed up.
WELL DONE ROTHBURY, KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cherloveschampies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

I have stayed here three times lately for business. The staff were very friendly and helpful. General maintenance could be improved. In one of the units I stayed in the paint was peeling from the bathroom ceiling, in another the cover for the transformer for the modem had fallen off (exposing electrical wires) and in another unit the hot plate wasn't working and the TV aerial plug was faulty. On my last stay (4 nights) the washing machine powder was not replaced at all - only a little thing but felt 'mean' given I was paying the single night rate (x4!)

In each of the one bedroom apartments I stayed in the sofa bed was very uncomfortable to sit on. The cushions sank very low and the metal bar of the foldaway bed pressed into the back of my legs.

The deluxe apartments are very spacious and the one bedroom ones are sufficient for reasonable comfort. The foyer areas, staircase and lifts are just beautiful. The supplied breakfast basket is a nice touch.

The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrex16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

This small heritage hotel is a wonderful place to stay when in Brisbane City. Close to transport - Central Station & the bus network. I have stayed in the Rothbury twice now for business trips to Brisbane, both times the rooms were fantastic. I had a small unit type, with cooking facilities, a separate bedroom, separate bathroom and a lounge. Free wi-fi, breakfast and local newspaper. Very clean, friendly reception, great manager. Very quiet and I had quality sleeps in a very comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Both rooms were very good, 1st floor & 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

I stayed at the Rothbury heritage apartment hotel for an overnight business stay. I must say that although my room was not as spacious as a 1 bedroom and did not have fantastic views it was perfect for an overnight stay. I really needed the internet and the staff were so helpful and set up wifi in the room beside me so i could check my emails and do some work. The price was reasonable under $150 for Brisbane and was within company budget so worked out well. The breakfast was a great little touch, delivered to my room the night before so i could have it when i woke up. The room was clean and the bed so comfortable - i found out that they were only new beds a great night sleep.

Tip if you are staying more than one night - book a 1 Bedroom much more spacious.

Room Tip: choose 1 Bedroom much more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott1974_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
368 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

The billing says, "the best 4-star hotel in Brisbane"... I find that hard to believe, especially having stayed in far better ones in that city.

It is pleasant enough - and old style building with very large guest accommodation. It is close to the train station, useful if one is coming in from the airport. The staff are very friendly - which, in my case, they needed to be as my booking had been mixed up with another...

The room air conditioning is deafening and impossible to run off - so very annoying. The room service offerings are basic at best and it is not the most salubrious end of town if you are looking for a good restaurant - and the complimentary breakfast basket is really not worth the bother.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

I travel to Brisbane for business quite regularly and have stayed in quite a few hotels around the city area. This hotel was a lovely surprise and the staff were very friendly and helpful. They helped me with faxing and printing to get my work done before meetings. Nothing was ever too much trouble. I stayed in a room at the front of the building and didn't hear any traffic noise at all - the windows had double glazing. The room was spacious and clean. The housekeepers were lovely and considerate when servicing my room around me whilst I worked. I will definitely be back to this hotel as I feel very much at home there.

Room Tip: - Excellent location! - Clean, spacious rooms. - Friendly, helpful staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnStreet, General Manager at ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and are very excited to hear you had a good stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#16 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square
0.4 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#14 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Oaks Lexicon Apartments
Oaks Lexicon Apartments
#56 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel

Property: ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel
Address: 301 Ann St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Rothbury Heritage Apartment Hotel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#71 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brisbane's leading Boutique Heritage Apartment Hotel, featuring the best of European Art Deco, style and warmth. ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel has 60 luxury self catering apartments with palatial proportions. The apartments combine the comfort, style and the grandeur of a bygone era with modern personal and business facilities and current technologies. ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel also offers guests the opportunity to unwind in our roof top garden setting where you can relax and enjoy your BBQ meal surrounded by city lights or under the stars. A spa and sauna are also available. Come and Experience ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel, where we take your business ..... personally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothbury On Ann Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing