We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lacking any personality” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel
Ranked #79 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lacking any personality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed overnight at the Rothbury, so my review is really a snapshot. I was placed in a ground floor room that had no window, and smelt stale. Breakfast consisted on a basket in the fridge, cereal and two slices of stale bread wrapped in plastic wrap. Forgot my toothbrush and asked if they had one for me, and was charged $4.95 next morning without notice. Won't be going there again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Planetravella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCP_Group, Public Relations Manager at ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your one night stay at Rothbury Hotel. We encourage all guests at the time of their stay to report any issues immediately to Reception so they can be rectified immediately.

Our breakfast is a complimentary offering to guests and we encourage those who may wish for something more substantial to visit one of the many surrounding cafes and restaurants near the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    62
    17
    9
    8
See reviews for
22
49
19
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We booked a 2 queen bedroom, 2 ensuite apartment. We were given an apartment on the 5th floor. Room was a good size, beds were comfortable. Breakfast basket with bread, cereal, juice drinks, milk, etc was in the fridge. Our stay was a positive one, staff were friendly. The negatives were the phone hanging off the wall in the living area, internet connection didn't work initially, however, this was rectified. The hair dryer in the main bedroom was broken.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank soonami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCP_Group, Public Relations Manager at ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
We are happy to hear your enjoyed your recent stay with us at Rothbury Hotel and appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback.

We encourage all guests to report any issues with their accommodation and room facilities at the time of their stay so our staff can work to rectify these immediately. Your comments regarding the phone and hair dryer have been passed to Management for further investigation.

We hope to see you again one day soon at Rothbury Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

we arrived in Brisbane for 1 night before leaving to Singapore.
the hotel located really centre ( 1 min walk from the central station).
the staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and well furnished.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy_Berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCP_Group, Public Relations Manager at ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your one night stay with us and thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

We hope to see you again soon at Rothbury Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We have just spent two nights at the Rothbury for a business trip in the city. We found that it was definitely a solid heritage style hotel with old world charm and all the amenities that we needed were very handy just 2 blocks away for any meal etc. Very clean,though the shower can do with an update.

The breakfast basket was basic with cereal and toast and juice but enough for us both.

All in all we were happy with our stay. The hotel staff were friendly and the Hotel room was comfortable with good beds and pillows and everything we needed. It was quiet and good for wheelchair access.Though the big doors at the front could be adjusted so that they can stay open in the future.

The only thing we would change is the company the hotel uses to order a meal in. We would not use Pizza capers again as after waiting over an hour for our meal,it was very small(enough for a snack.Though we asked for a large Pizza. Plus it along with the cabonara was cold. My husband being a diabetic,needed a better quality meal.

Yes we would stay at Rothbury again as it has a home atmosphere and is so close to everything we needed for our trip
.
Thank you for your service.
.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor ,close to the back and it was great for privacy,low noise level and sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCP_Group, Public Relations Manager at ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for providing these comments on your stay at Rothbury, we are glad you enjoyed our Hotel and amenities and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Great room and very friendly staff with newly refurbished room. My friend and I stayed for one night on a girls night and were very impressed, great location, central to everything. Great price. Will stay again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fidiamonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCP_Group, Public Relations Manager at ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you for providing comments on your recent stay with us at Rothbury, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed you stay and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

I took my hubby here for a last minute surprise, the hotel is so handy to every city location/ venue , we went to the cricket at the GABBA with ease as there is a bus top and train station within metres of the front door .After we went to the Casino and within a 10 minute walk we were back at the hotel. The room we stayed in and been recently refurbished yet it sill had its heritage charm. Beds were sooooo comfy and great for a sleep in, the breakfast basket and newspaper, super handy so I didn't have to go anywhere for a late breakfast.
The front desk staff were very helpful and I will be definitely using this hotel again.

Room Tip: the 2 bedroom apartments would be great for familes, the 1 bed apartment great for couples :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRS_PARKER_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCP_Group, Public Relations Manager at ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback on your recent stay with us, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time at Rothbury and enjoyed all the amenities surrounding the hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again next time you stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulon, France
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

We booked one night at this hotel. Very well situated in Brisbane centre city. When we arrived, we saw on the street that they offered a good bargain for the rooms. The reception manager didn't want to give us this price (129 $) because we booked in advance. So, for the same room, we had to pay more than 182 $ which we found not commercial at all ! Breakfast if very small, just a little basket found in the fridge with a small box of cereal, a small pack of milk, coffee in the room. No restaurant, help yourself and don't be hungry....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCP_Group, Public Relations Manager at ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your review and feedback on your stay with us.

The room you booked and room that was available for a lower rate may have been a differing room as we have a variety including budget and standard accommodation. The rate you were charged was the available rate at the time of your booking and Management cannot refund guests the difference between what they paid for accommodation and specials that are running on any particular day.

Rothbury offers guests a complimentary ‘light’ breakfast basket during their stay and we encourage guests who wish for a more substantial meal to visit one of the many surrounding cafes and restaurants.

Kind Regards,

Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#18 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#10 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square
0.1 mi away
Oaks Lexicon Apartments
Oaks Lexicon Apartments
#59 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#9 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel

Property: ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel
Address: 301 Ann St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Rothbury Heritage Apartment Hotel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#70 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brisbane's leading Boutique Heritage Apartment Hotel, featuring the best of European Art Deco, style and warmth. ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel has 60 luxury self catering apartments with palatial proportions. The apartments combine the comfort, style and the grandeur of a bygone era with modern personal and business facilities and current technologies. ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel also offers guests the opportunity to unwind in our roof top garden setting where you can relax and enjoy your BBQ meal surrounded by city lights or under the stars. A spa and sauna are also available. Come and Experience ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel, where we take your business ..... personally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothbury On Ann Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing