We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty, comfort, location. Royal Albert has it all!”
Review of Royal Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Albert Hotel
Ranked #11 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Beautiful authentic restored building. Comfortable large rooms. Wonderfully obliging staff and a position that any accommodation provider would envy. And even though we were in a very busy part of town there was no traffic noise at all.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Liz
Thank you for your top review. As well as our great location, we believe that an increasing number of discerning travellers look for heritage boutique hotels. When we refurbished a couple of years ago, we chose furniture of a classic elegance and an innovative modern design to be true to Royal Albert’s 100 year heritage.
As our rooms are double glazed, we have the vibrant city life without the noise and fumes.
Peter Tyrer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

460 - 466 of 630 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

Royal Albert is an excellent place to stay and enjoy what Brisbane has to offer. We have stayed here many times and are never disappointed. It is so close to everything in the City and the Cafe - Restaurant at their front door is excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GregoryBBundaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Gregory
Thank you for your great review. I am pleased that we have been able to consistently meet (or exceed) your expectations.
Peter Tyrer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This gem of a hotel is situated in a fantastic spot for shopping, dining, sightseeing or just relaxing. The rooms are huge, comfortable and well equipped. It is diagonally across from The Myer Centre and a hop step and jump from Queen Street. The staff are wonderful. It is the perfect place to stay whilst in Brisbane.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Nancy
Thank you for your top review. We agree our location is just 120 paces from the epicentre (Albert & Queen) of Brisbane, and it is always great to hear glowing reports about our staff which I will be sure to pass on.
Peter Tyrer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Royal Albert hotel is perfectly placed in the middle of the city without being annoyed by the city noise. The rooms are large and well furnished and the noise of the city does not intrude. Walking distance to South Bank and all the the city offers including the QPac theatre and Museum. Great for families or couples.

Room Tip: Pay for the best room you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueKazandMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Blue Kaz and Megan
Yes we are in the middle of it all and it sounds like you did some great exploring.
Peter Tyrer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Close to shops transport and restraunts the royal Albert will defiantly be our choice of accommodation for our next stay over in Brisbane located in the center of Brisbane the location could not be better. Five stars all the way

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Flaton
Thank you for your great review. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you head South.
Peter Tyrer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I know Bne very well but hadn't seen or heard of this gem before that is hidden behind cafés and just opposite the taxi rank in Albert St. Incredibly close to everything, extremely helpful staff who arranged for the parking of our car on site over night ($22). We had 2 bed apartment probably more suited for couple and small adult / child ( as single bed seemed small ) but very spacious. Double glazed windows with block out curtains if you wish to have darkness, extra pillows, nice towels etc. Only - ve. When entering the apartment, we walked about 2 and a half paces and then there were about 6 steps down to lounge. The steps were so close to the entrance and so unexpected that I almost fell down them when I first entered. A warning before entry might avoid an accident. We were sorry we were only there one night. Definitely will return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Julie
Thank you for the great comments from such a seasoned reviewer. I am pleased you found us. We aim to be a gem but definitely not hidden! (I would be interested to hear how you did find us?) We are pleased with our new sign on the corner of Albert and Elizabeth Streets, and the new banners on the side of the building to celebrate our Centenary last year.
Our rooms on Level 2 are split level with 6 steps down near the entrance. I know that as a policy we advise all guests (young and young at heart) on this level of the steps and apologise if we didn’t on this occasion.
Peter Tyrer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We have been staying in the Royal Albert whenever we are in Brisbane as everything we want is close by. Shopping, restaurants, movies, casino, gardens...... it is just a great location and there is also everything you need in the very spacious rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marion P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Marion
Thank you for your glowing review and we appreciate being your home away from home. As well as being across the road from the mall and the Myer Centre, we are just 120 paces from the epicentre (Albert & Queen) of Brisbane.
Good luck with the cyclone season!
Peter Tyrer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
0.1 mi away
Next Hotel Brisbane
Next Hotel Brisbane
#12 of 168 in Brisbane
3,221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#21 of 168 in Brisbane
2,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 168 in Brisbane
1,129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#16 of 168 in Brisbane
1,057 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albert Hotel

Address: 167 Albert St | (cnr Elizabeth St), Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#11 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#13 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#16 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: £86 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the double doors of Royal Albert sweep open, you realise this is no ordinary hotel. Gone is the hustle and bustle of city life. Gone are the fumes and noise of city traffic. Inside there is tranquillity. Inside there is space and old world charm. Inside there is a friendly greeting. Royal Albert Hotel - the heart and soul of Brisbane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albert Brisbane
Hotel Royal Albert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing