We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”
Review of Royal Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Albert Hotel
Ranked #9 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This hotel is a great find - located in the centre of the Brisbane CBD and offers apartments and rooms. Rooms are quiet with double glazing. Very short walking distance to shops and business areas. No in-house restaurant but the Cafe outside the main entrance has excellent food and is open from 630am until late at night. Concierge 24hours per day with good security. Car parking is great and they retrieve your car on request. Secure car parking at cost of $22 per night but well worth it.

I will be staying here from now on. Good rates for 3 nights stay as well.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the higher floors if you want less noise from the street although it is all fairly quie...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear Jenny
I am delighted you found us!
We are ideally situated for shopping, business and dining. Yet once you pass through our lead light entrance doors you find peace and tranquillity and old world charm.
Peter Tyrer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (625)
There are newer reviews for Royal Albert Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

453 - 459 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

Weather I am traveling with my partner or family I find the Royal Albert to cover all of our needs from very helpful staff to extremely comfortable rooms. You are practically in the mall and you have a large range of cafes, restaurants and shops within walking distance.
I stay at the Royal Albert when I am in Brisbane or returning from overseas because of its location, level of privacy and it is extremely comfortable.

Room Tip: I prefer the 1 bedroom suite as I wake up early and can spend time in the lounge room drinking coffe...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PLD60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear PLD
Thank you for your great review. We do have a fantastic location across the road from the mall, Myer centre and Wintergarden! I am pleased you found our rooms comfortable and spacious, and our staff do endeavour be as helpful as possible.
Peter Tyrer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Beautiful authentic restored building. Comfortable large rooms. Wonderfully obliging staff and a position that any accommodation provider would envy. And even though we were in a very busy part of town there was no traffic noise at all.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Liz
Thank you for your top review. As well as our great location, we believe that an increasing number of discerning travellers look for heritage boutique hotels. When we refurbished a couple of years ago, we chose furniture of a classic elegance and an innovative modern design to be true to Royal Albert’s 100 year heritage.
As our rooms are double glazed, we have the vibrant city life without the noise and fumes.
Peter Tyrer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Royal Albert is an excellent place to stay and enjoy what Brisbane has to offer. We have stayed here many times and are never disappointed. It is so close to everything in the City and the Cafe - Restaurant at their front door is excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GregoryBBundaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Gregory
Thank you for your great review. I am pleased that we have been able to consistently meet (or exceed) your expectations.
Peter Tyrer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This gem of a hotel is situated in a fantastic spot for shopping, dining, sightseeing or just relaxing. The rooms are huge, comfortable and well equipped. It is diagonally across from The Myer Centre and a hop step and jump from Queen Street. The staff are wonderful. It is the perfect place to stay whilst in Brisbane.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Nancy
Thank you for your top review. We agree our location is just 120 paces from the epicentre (Albert & Queen) of Brisbane, and it is always great to hear glowing reports about our staff which I will be sure to pass on.
Peter Tyrer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Royal Albert hotel is perfectly placed in the middle of the city without being annoyed by the city noise. The rooms are large and well furnished and the noise of the city does not intrude. Walking distance to South Bank and all the the city offers including the QPac theatre and Museum. Great for families or couples.

Room Tip: Pay for the best room you can afford.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueKazandMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Blue Kaz and Megan
Yes we are in the middle of it all and it sounds like you did some great exploring.
Peter Tyrer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Close to shops transport and restraunts the royal Albert will defiantly be our choice of accommodation for our next stay over in Brisbane located in the center of Brisbane the location could not be better. Five stars all the way

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Flaton
Thank you for your great review. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you head South.
Peter Tyrer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
0.1 mi away
Next Hotel Brisbane
Next Hotel Brisbane
#14 of 168 in Brisbane
3,067 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#22 of 168 in Brisbane
2,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#17 of 168 in Brisbane
1,030 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
0.7 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 168 in Brisbane
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albert Hotel

Address: 167 Albert St | (cnr Elizabeth St), Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#10 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#13 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#16 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: £86 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the double doors of Royal Albert sweep open, you realise this is no ordinary hotel. Gone is the hustle and bustle of city life. Gone are the fumes and noise of city traffic. Inside there is tranquillity. Inside there is space and old world charm. Inside there is a friendly greeting. Royal Albert Hotel - the heart and soul of Brisbane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albert Brisbane
Hotel Royal Albert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing