We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great space and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Albert Hotel
Ranked #15 of 158 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great space and location”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Fantastically large rooms in an unbeatable central location, within easy walking distance of the river, botanic gardens, central station, shopping and dining. The only thing that wasn't a five rating was that some of the bathroom fixtures and the carpets were a little tired, one of which bothered me.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank descant22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Descant
Thank you for pointing out our unbeatable location which is an easy walk to just about everything.
We are planning to refurbish our bathrooms in 2015. Although we regularly maintain the bathrooms, they are showing their age.
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    210
    37
    11
    6
See reviews for
145
211
41
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We booked a suite here for the weekend through their own website and with their description of the suites, On arrival, we found our 5th floor suite very roomy and very clean and very comfortable. We also noticed how quiet the suite was due to double insulated windows being fitted even though we were located virtually in the middle of the city.
The location is excellent, being in close proximity to Southbank and the Myer centre and also to a variety of restaurants, including their own café / restaurant on the ground floor which has great meals and is quite popular.
We will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Appo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Appo
I am pleased you enjoyed your lazy weekend at Royal Albert. It is great being just 120 paces from the epicentre of Brisbane but without any of the city noise.
It sounds like you had a good time at Southbank.
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was my second time staying at The Royal Albert and the only reason I haven't given it a 5 is because of the slowness of the internet (plus having to pay for the service). Not only is the location excellent but all the staff were very friendly and helpful and, as we hired a car this time, parking was an added bonus.

Room Tip: Higher up and away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JanFirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Jan
Thank you for your review. I am always pleased to hear about our friendly and helpful staff. We have expanded our wireless internet coverage during the last month which should improve the speed.
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed in a sub-penthouse suite. It had two main bedrooms, and a little third bedroom with a single bed. It also had two bathrooms. We were on the 7th floor, and there was little to no noise from the city below - even though it was a Friday night. The hotel is of the Victorian era and is furnished and presented as such, but has obviously been well-maintained and modernised (eg kitchen, bathrooms, aircon, appliances, lifts etc). With its location adjacent to the mall it's perfect for seeing the sights of Brisbane, and for us, a short walk to collect our hire car the next day. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mollingaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Molling Around
Thank you for your great review pointing out our ideal location, 120 paces from the epicentre of Brisbane!
We look forward to welcoming you back here soon.
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The apartment was very clean and roomy. The building is historic but well renovated to make it comfortable for guests. The location in Brisbane is fantastic, right near the Myer centre and a block from the mall. We walked to Southbank and the GOMA. Staff are freindly. Would definately stay here again when in Brisbane.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Gidget3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Gidget
Thank you for your great review. I am pleased you enjoyed our spacious rooms in our heritage listed building. (We celebrated our centenary last year.) It is a great walk to Southbank and GOMA this time of year.
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

It is a very welcoming place, the employee are very helpful. Nice location in the center of Brisbane. The parking is a real added value. We were jut here for one night in transition. I will not hesitate to come back. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Great service, great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank CWanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear C Wanner
As a Boutique Hotel in Brisbane we do endeavour to be a welcoming place and I am pleased to hear you found our staff to be very helpful. It is great to hear that our valet parking service is real added value as it has remain unchanged at $22 per night for many years.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bribie Island, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We have been booking in to The Royal Albert for a number of years to attend ANZAC day commemorations but have just realized that we had never written a review.

The apartments come in Studio and one and two bedroom configurations. All units come with Hotplate, microwave, electric jug, toaster, crockery and utensils. There is also a washing machine, dryer and ironing board with iron. They also come with the usual pay and free to air TV and I pod dock.

The units are spacious, well maintained and have a luxury feel about them. The beds are comfortable and extra blankets and pillows are ready in a cupboard.

The decor is late Victorian with a bath with shower over and shower curtain, which brings my only criticism of the place. As an older person I would like to have a safety rail to hold while getting in and out of the bath.

Over all we rate the place very highly and will always stay for our ANZAC Day and whenever we need to be in the city overnight. The staff are very helpful, friendly and willing to go out of their way to organize something special.

I would recommend the hotel to any couple or family who need to overnight or stay for an extended period.

The name is officially "The Royal Albert Apartments"

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LapunMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear LapunMan
Thank you for a great review from such a seasoned reviewer!
We always look forward to seeing the “Diggers” stay with us each ANZAC day and are honoured to welcome you back.
Although we are a Boutique Hotel, we agree the rooms are very spacious and we aim to keep the maintenance up to a high standard.
We are currently planning to refurbish the bathrooms and the Deluxe Hotel rooms will feature walk in showers. The rooms with a bath will have a safety rail as per your suggestion.
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.4 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.1 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 158 in Brisbane
2,279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#12 of 158 in Brisbane
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 158 in Brisbane
2,227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#19 of 158 in Brisbane
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albert Hotel

Property: Royal Albert Hotel
Address: 167 Albert St | (cnr Elizabeth St), Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#12 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#15 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#16 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the double doors of Royal Albert sweep open, you realise this is no ordinary hotel. Gone is the hustle and bustle of city life. Gone are the fumes and noise of city traffic. Inside there is tranquillity. Inside there is space and old world charm. Inside there is a friendly greeting. Royal Albert Hotel - the heart and soul of Brisbane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albert Brisbane
Hotel Royal Albert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing