We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Royal Albert Gives you the Royal Treatment everytime.”
Review of Royal Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Albert Hotel
Ranked #8 of 170 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We are regular customers of the Royal Albert and just love it. It is easy to get to from the airport by train or private car or even taxi. In the heart of the city so we walk to Southbank for dinner or Eagle Street. Hit the shops in the mall and the surrounding streets with the minimum of fuss except for the ding in the credit card. If you want a central location, huge rooms with move than you need. Comphy beds and clean bathrooms - then the Royal Albert is for you. It is an oldie worldly hotel but we love it and will continue to stay there approximately every three months.

Room Tip: Let them know if you are more than a couple. They will then give you two queen beds or whatever the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kendall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Kendall
Thank you for your fabulous review! I think everyone can associate with a “ding or two in their credit card”!
We certainly recommend our hotel car for trips to and from the airport. At $55 it is only a little ($10) more than a taxi and represents great value considering the comfort and reliability.
Peter Tyrer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

423 - 429 of 643 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

Fantastically large rooms in an unbeatable central location, within easy walking distance of the river, botanic gardens, central station, shopping and dining. The only thing that wasn't a five rating was that some of the bathroom fixtures and the carpets were a little tired, one of which bothered me.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank descant22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Descant
Thank you for pointing out our unbeatable location which is an easy walk to just about everything.
We are planning to refurbish our bathrooms in 2015. Although we regularly maintain the bathrooms, they are showing their age.
Peter Tyrer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We booked a suite here for the weekend through their own website and with their description of the suites, On arrival, we found our 5th floor suite very roomy and very clean and very comfortable. We also noticed how quiet the suite was due to double insulated windows being fitted even though we were located virtually in the middle of the city.
The location is excellent, being in close proximity to Southbank and the Myer centre and also to a variety of restaurants, including their own café / restaurant on the ground floor which has great meals and is quite popular.
We will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Appo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Appo
I am pleased you enjoyed your lazy weekend at Royal Albert. It is great being just 120 paces from the epicentre of Brisbane but without any of the city noise.
It sounds like you had a good time at Southbank.
Peter Tyrer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was my second time staying at The Royal Albert and the only reason I haven't given it a 5 is because of the slowness of the internet (plus having to pay for the service). Not only is the location excellent but all the staff were very friendly and helpful and, as we hired a car this time, parking was an added bonus.

Room Tip: Higher up and away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JanFirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Jan
Thank you for your review. I am always pleased to hear about our friendly and helpful staff. We have expanded our wireless internet coverage during the last month which should improve the speed.
Peter Tyrer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed in a sub-penthouse suite. It had two main bedrooms, and a little third bedroom with a single bed. It also had two bathrooms. We were on the 7th floor, and there was little to no noise from the city below - even though it was a Friday night. The hotel is of the Victorian era and is furnished and presented as such, but has obviously been well-maintained and modernised (eg kitchen, bathrooms, aircon, appliances, lifts etc). With its location adjacent to the mall it's perfect for seeing the sights of Brisbane, and for us, a short walk to collect our hire car the next day. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mollingaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Molling Around
Thank you for your great review pointing out our ideal location, 120 paces from the epicentre of Brisbane!
We look forward to welcoming you back here soon.
Peter Tyrer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The apartment was very clean and roomy. The building is historic but well renovated to make it comfortable for guests. The location in Brisbane is fantastic, right near the Myer centre and a block from the mall. We walked to Southbank and the GOMA. Staff are freindly. Would definately stay here again when in Brisbane.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Gidget3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Gidget
Thank you for your great review. I am pleased you enjoyed our spacious rooms in our heritage listed building. (We celebrated our centenary last year.) It is a great walk to Southbank and GOMA this time of year.
Peter Tyrer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

It is a very welcoming place, the employee are very helpful. Nice location in the center of Brisbane. The parking is a real added value. We were jut here for one night in transition. I will not hesitate to come back. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Great service, great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank CWanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear C Wanner
As a Boutique Hotel in Brisbane we do endeavour to be a welcoming place and I am pleased to hear you found our staff to be very helpful. It is great to hear that our valet parking service is real added value as it has remain unchanged at $22 per night for many years.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Peter Tyrer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 170 in Brisbane
2,520 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#6 of 170 in Brisbane
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#29 of 170 in Brisbane
1,266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Next Hotel Brisbane
Next Hotel Brisbane
#19 of 170 in Brisbane
3,630 reviews
1.5 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 170 in Brisbane
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albert Hotel

Address: 167 Albert St | (cnr Elizabeth St), Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#7 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#10 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#16 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: £75 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the double doors of Royal Albert sweep open, you realise this is no ordinary hotel. Gone is the hustle and bustle of city life. Gone are the fumes and noise of city traffic. Inside there is tranquillity. Inside there is space and old world charm. Inside there is a friendly greeting. Royal Albert Hotel - the heart and soul of Brisbane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albert Brisbane
Hotel Royal Albert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing